KARTer 2nd Gear December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 Bro, don't forget our target, rather our leader's, is to achieve the Swiss standard of living ya know? Reaching there, are we? i think our leaders are taking a big detour to reach there, but the problem is they are lost halfway thru the detour................. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 (edited) But to be honest, SG land is getting smaller and smaller as more space are being used up, how are we going to accommodate the 5Mil population and another 900,000K FT in such a small country with limited land if the size of ur hole is as big as in the past.. The land of Singapore keep increasing through land reclaimation, and don't forget, older flats build on vast land plots are forced to tear down with more blocks squeezed in and higher up in the sky. If you have noticed also, the height of new flats are lower (about 30 cm) than older flats. So, imagine how much materials they have saved and how many more levels more they have built taking into consideration of urban planning and flight restrictions. Edited December 9, 2011 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 (edited) Since they meet the kPI will they move higher into leadership position? Is this good for the society? are these KPI sustainable? Any recourse? Hmmm....u wan to talk abt KPI...generally it depends on r u a farmer or scholar..if u farmer then u will go all way out to prove ur worth but if u scholar...it would be the midas effect... As for whether is it good for the society..it can only be determined thru GE...will hv to wait for the next few 5 yrs to conclude this but this trend is irreversible... For all corporate world...KPI will only be adjusted under special circumstances...usually KPI is heading north rather than south but it also depends on how u wld like to define KPIs... Spore is run like an inc so KPI wld generally be wealth growing...for the past decade or so..i hv been hearing this over n over again...like a broken recorder... without KPI...then ppl lack in direction..guess sporeans r trained to be goal getters..if u cant get it..u r out of the race..this is reality... Any recourse? Wat recourse do u want? Take out whatever in our coffer, open up and share genuinely w the public? Believe everyone is looking forward to that day.....but dream only lah... Edited December 9, 2011 by Cars08 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 The top brass don't feel and see it why would they do something about it other than lip service. They either drive or get ferry from point to point. Public transport system to them is a blueprint and some huge numbers that is deemed as they have done their job and next to levying more to regulate they do not have any better ideas. They live in big houses and a hdb 3 room flat is at best the size of their maid's room. To them, they only look at the big numbers in hdb 5, 4, 3 rooms they built, why would they bother about how much privacy space you need to play catching when you procreate? You make it mandatory for transport minister, smrt and bus service ceo to travel by public transport during their term you might get better result. You make mnd, hdb and even ura chief stay in new 3room flat during their tenure in office and see what happens to public housing. When the sh!t hits the fence you will see real improvement to the lives of the voters that gave them their million dollar salary. The govt employs a large portion of workforce. Wanna solve transport issue? Change public service office hours to 10am to 7pm and you take out a large portion of commuters out of peak hours. Wanna solve housing issue to make it more affordable and more spacious? Ask SLA to give the land free to hdb, that is afterall left pocket right pocket, and cost of housing drops 30%. Build higher and bigger units with the new budget and you get affordable and bigger size units. They are scholars, don't take them Harvard degrees to see the solutions. But why are they not doing it? Cos housing is tied to cpf, you go figure why they want to drain your cpf via housing. As for peak hour jam, why solve it with a stroke of the pen when you can justify Erp charges that adds to their millio dollar salary. Cheers... Truly Lip Service....... note: not just the chiefs, but those who are involved in decisions making, 2-3 levels below the chiefs, most likely are not living in HDB 3/4 room flats............ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 Hmmm....u wan to talk abt KPI...generally it depends on r u a farmer or scholar..if u farmer then u will go all way out to prove ur worth but if u scholar...it would be the midas effect... As for whether is it good for the society..it can only be determined thru GE...will hv to wait for the next few 5 yrs to conclude this but this trend is irreversible... For all corporate world...KPI will only be adjusted under special circumstances...usually KPI is heading north rather than south but it also depends on how u wld like to define KPIs... Spore is run like an inc so KPI wld generally be wealth growing...for the past decade or so..i hv been hearing this over n over again...like a broken recorder... without KPI...then ppl lack in direction..guess sporeans r trained to be goal getters..if u cant get it..u r out of the race..this is reality... Any recourse? Wat recourse do u want? Take out whatever in our coffer, open up and share genuinely w the public? Believe everyone is looking forward to that day.....but dream only lah... Next GE Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 "...the size of new HDB flats today is still very comfortable" This woman is either living in the woods or delusional... So we are heading the way HK is presently doing now? Whatever happen to the Swiss standard of living our beloved ESM promised during his term as PM? Does Swiss folks live in small little pigeon holes? If our dear govt continue to build smaller and smaller flats, I guess by the time my kids are applying flats with their spouses in the near future, it may cost them each S$1m to buy a new 4-room unit of 50sqm... From ST Forum: http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/...ory_742417.html HDB is right to build smaller flats Published on Dec 8, 2011 I AM dismayed by the reactions criticising shrinking HDB flat sizes ('New flats' by Mr Yip Wai Hong on Nov 15; 'Little space' by Ms Karen Lee, 'S'pore can do better than Hong Kong' by Madam Tham Pui Ying and 'Why smaller isn't the way to go' by Ms Lim Wan Keng; all Nov 29). The small size of current HDB flats is one reason cited by couples for refusing to have more children and for their poor quality of life. Previous generations did not link the size of their flats with having the number of children they wanted. Even living in a one-room HDB flat did not deter couples from having more than three children. It is unfortunate if the size of a flat now determines the size of a family. There is also a sad trend that fewer married couples want to live with their parents. It does not make economic sense to build bigger flats when the family unit is shrinking. Having said that, the size of new HDB flats today is still very comfortable. As Housing Board figures have shown, the floor space per person is higher. HDB flats are also equipped with good sanitation, amenities and infrastructure. When it comes to improving the quality of life, Singaporeans should look into bonding with their families and neighbours, and creating a better living environment. Unless the trend of shrinking family units can be reversed, Singaporeans should not complain about shrinking flat sizes. Koh Siok Hwee (Madam) im really curious to know. how small is a HK flat? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Si4dr 6th Gear December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 The top brass don't feel and see it why would they do something about it other than lip service. They either drive or get ferry from point to point. Public transport system to them is a blueprint and some huge numbers that is deemed as they have done their job and next to levying more to regulate they do not have any better ideas. They live in big houses and a hdb 3 room flat is at best the size of their maid's room. To them, they only look at the big numbers in hdb 5, 4, 3 rooms they built, why would they bother about how much privacy space you need to play catching when you procreate? You make it mandatory for transport minister, smrt and bus service ceo to travel by public transport during their term you might get better result. You make mnd, hdb and even ura chief stay in new 3room flat during their tenure in office and see what happens to public housing. When the sh!t hits the fence you will see real improvement to the lives of the voters that gave them their million dollar salary. The govt employs a large portion of workforce. Wanna solve transport issue? Change public service office hours to 10am to 7pm and you take out a large portion of commuters out of peak hours. Wanna solve housing issue to make it more affordable and more spacious? Ask SLA to give the land free to hdb, that is afterall left pocket right pocket, and cost of housing drops 30%. Build higher and bigger units with the new budget and you get affordable and bigger size units. They are scholars, don't take them Harvard degrees to see the solutions. But why are they not doing it? Cos housing is tied to cpf, you go figure why they want to drain your cpf via housing. As for peak hour jam, why solve it with a stroke of the pen when you can justify Erp charges that adds to their millio dollar salary. Cheers... +1 Top level forget about the basic: 以民为本 they are: 以钱为本 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 im really curious to know. how small is a HK flat? Public housing: Public Rental Housing (called Estates) have flats usually 20-60 sqm, but a small number of flats are even 8 sqm (internal floor area). Home Ownership Scheme (usually called Courts) have flats usually 30-60 sqm but a small number of flats are 19 sqm (saleable floor area). Private Sector Participation Scheme (usually called Garden or Terrace) have flats usually 35-70 sqm (saleable floor area). Tenants Purchase Scheme are usually 20-65 sqm, but a small number of flats are even 8 sqm (which floor area?). Source: http://teoalida.webs.com/hongkong.htm Dunno accurate or nt.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 im really curious to know. how small is a HK flat? 500-700sqf. For those... rental is HK$20-25k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 Don't you read Animal Farm ? We are living it out for any years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 I agree with her view points esp the 1-Room still can have 3 kids. Don't blame the space, its a choice. If you blame everything else for not having babies, its not the environment, its the couple's prioriity and mindset. The thing I don't agree is Age-De-Bee if reduce the size should reduce the PRICE. i'm pretty certain you are single and not married anybody with children will know that children need space to run around and parents need the space for themselves and some alone time without the children running around your children will not want to run in circles and if there isn't enough space for children to run around they'll come disturbing you day and night Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 i dont mind smaller houses. if the price is also "smaller". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 500-700sqf. For those... rental is HK$20-25k. and they really squeeze 3 bedrooms into the 700sqf!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 U voted for TT for president? (See my post on her facebook profile to understand why) I agree with her view points esp the 1-Room still can have 3 kids. Don't blame the space, its a choice. If you blame everything else for not having babies, its not the environment, its the couple's prioriity and mindset. The thing I don't agree is Age-De-Bee if reduce the size should reduce the PRICE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alheych 6th Gear December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 actually, there's truth in what this woman wrote. no point building 1300 sqft 5-room flats for 3-member families if govt see that is going to be the trend. so the way to resolve this issue is to be transparent about HDB profits. nobody wants to be paying more for less when there's no other viable alternative. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XenonWhite 1st Gear December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 "...the size of new HDB flats today is still very comfortable" This woman is either living in the woods or delusional... So we are heading the way HK is presently doing now? Whatever happen to the Swiss standard of living our beloved ESM promised during his term as PM? Does Swiss folks live in small little pigeon holes? If our dear govt continue to build smaller and smaller flats, I guess by the time my kids are applying flats with their spouses in the near future, it may cost them each S$1m to buy a new 4-room unit of 50sqm... From ST Forum: http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/...ory_742417.html HDB is right to build smaller flats Published on Dec 8, 2011 I AM dismayed by the reactions criticising shrinking HDB flat sizes ('New flats' by Mr Yip Wai Hong on Nov 15; 'Little space' by Ms Karen Lee, 'S'pore can do better than Hong Kong' by Madam Tham Pui Ying and 'Why smaller isn't the way to go' by Ms Lim Wan Keng; all Nov 29). The small size of current HDB flats is one reason cited by couples for refusing to have more children and for their poor quality of life. Previous generations did not link the size of their flats with having the number of children they wanted. Even living in a one-room HDB flat did not deter couples from having more than three children. It is unfortunate if the size of a flat now determines the size of a family. There is also a sad trend that fewer married couples want to live with their parents. It does not make economic sense to build bigger flats when the family unit is shrinking. Having said that, the size of new HDB flats today is still very comfortable. As Housing Board figures have shown, the floor space per person is higher. HDB flats are also equipped with good sanitation, amenities and infrastructure. When it comes to improving the quality of life, Singaporeans should look into bonding with their families and neighbours, and creating a better living environment. Unless the trend of shrinking family units can be reversed, Singaporeans should not complain about shrinking flat sizes. Koh Siok Hwee (Madam) For this Mdm Koh Siok Hwee, perhaps she should reveal what kinda of house she's currently living in before she make such comments... Best is for this type of ppl to live the talk rather than talk the c_ck.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TMCTR Neutral Newbie December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 Just went to see my new flat at Kim Tian Green, so bloody small. Even master-bedroom put one queen bed must walk like crab liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 Just went to see my new flat at Kim Tian Green, so bloody small. Even master-bedroom put one queen bed must walk like crab liao.. i pity those with king if u say until like that... got pics? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...