New Subaru XV

Rezorn86

Not riding on ur "misfortune", but ur issue made me think my ride is ok after all, cos occasionally oso hissing, b it early morning or later part of day..

my servicing is due in a month, i'll go ask MI tech service. But before that, maybe we can keep this discussion going to see what we can learn from each other. are you able to share more about your experience on when you started noticing the sound and other symptoms?

my car's about 9 months old with 20,000km. With the windows wound down, I've noticed a hissing sound every time i start the aircon compressor. It lasts only a couple of seconds, is not loud but certainly noticeable. I always hear it when starting the compressor after the car's been parked for several hours, but don't ever notice the sound if the car's been parked for a short while. 

The aircon functions normally to cool the cabin but I don't ever experience this with other car makes. And I don't seem to find much about this sound on a young subaru XV, only on older cars with leaking refrigerants. What i found reported on google is that some people have lived with this sound without a problem for years on other makes (e.g. VW, lexus) and explain the sound as possibly the sound of freon expanding through the expansion valve. In this case, some people also report a soft short hiss coming from the console w your radio off.

my servicing is due in a month, i'll go ask MI tech service. But before that, maybe we can keep this discussion going to see what we can learn from each other. are you able to share more about your experience on when you started noticing the sound and other symptoms?

my car's about 9 months old with 20,000km. With the windows wound down, I've noticed a hissing sound every time i start the aircon compressor. It lasts only a couple of seconds, is not loud but certainly noticeable. I always hear it when starting the compressor after the car's been parked for several hours, but don't ever notice the sound if the car's been parked for a short while.

The aircon functions normally to cool the cabin but I don't ever experience this with other car makes. And I don't seem to find much about this sound on a young subaru XV, only on older cars with leaking refrigerants. What i found reported on google is that some people have lived with this sound without a problem for years on other makes (e.g. VW, lexus) and explain the sound as possibly the sound of freon expanding through the expansion valve. In this case, some people also report a soft short hiss coming from the console w your radio off.

sure will bump this post bro. Ur last para valid. Hissing after turn off ok but not really when just turn on, but even my case is sometimes occur only. Ac still workin wont spare so much time n spend more money to find fault, esp those ask ur change evap coil or comp.

List price is like 104800. Got discount such as trade in, insurance, 2015 stock, Cat A all in i thk abt 5k There are lucky draw up to 1k. There is one orange test drive car with discount of 1k.

Your evaporator change not covered under warranty?

Nope... reading the 5-yr warranty terms carefully; they cover all systems like aircon n ABS only for yhe 1st year... 2nd-3rd year they cover engine n drivetrain (transmission n suspension).. 4th-5th year only covers engine.

Thanks for the information! Seems like not much of an offer in the show. Was @ the showroom last week, also direct 5k off for ex stock..

Anyway r u eyeing the XV as well?

Went to the car show yesterday and sat through almost all the available car models.

I still like XV, but here's a list of features in Competitor's Model (Cat A) stuff that I wish that XV had implemented or available as an option.

1. Panoramic Sunroof - Vitara. 3008

2. Electric Parking Brake - QQ, Vezel...

3. Electric Seats - Q3, Tiguan

4. Rear Passenger Aircon - Vezel

5. LED Headlamps/DRL - Don't wanna rant on this anymore...

And some of the stuff that I liked about the XV, except ride quality since I haven't test drove the rest.

1. Ample Rear Passenger space - I've never sat behind before but my passengers had always complimented on the space and the comfort of the ride. So i went around sitting in the rear and I must say that XV is one up in this area over alot of competitors in the same range.
  2. Center console - I think Subaru has one of the best center console here. Some are montrously large while others are overly simplistic or cheap looking.
  3. Displays (Info) - There is no competition. Audi's & Mercedes' are terribly cheap looking, BMW's X1 is less cheap looking but still stands out too much while others are poorly integrated.

With that said, I'm very pleased with the XV but no car is perfect and the nature of man is to always want more. No matter what we have on hand, the grass is greener on the other side. 

Edited by StanleyTan_157798

Went to the car show yesterday and sat through almost all the available car models.

I still like XV, but here's a list of features in Competitor's Model (Cat A) stuff that I wish that XV had implemented or available as an option.

1. Panoramic Sunroof - Vitara. 3008

2. Electric Parking Brake - QQ, Vezel...

3. Electric Seats - Q3, Tiguan

4. Rear Passenger Aircon - Vezel

5. LED Headlamps/DRL - Don't wanna rant on this anymore...

And some of the stuff that I liked about the XV, except ride quality since I haven't test drove the rest.

• Ample Rear Passenger space - I've never sat behind before but my passengers had always complimented on the space and the comfort of the ride. So i went around sitting in the rear and I must say that XV is one up in this area over alot of competitors in the same range.
  • Center console - I think Subaru has one of the best center console here. Some are montrously large while others are overly simplistic or cheap looking.
  • Displays (Info) - There is no competition. Audi's & Mercedes' are terribly cheap looking, BMW's X1 is less cheap looking but still stands out too much while others are poorly integrated.
With that said, I'm very pleased with the XV but no car is perfect and the nature of man is to always want more. No matter what we have on hand, the grass is greener on the other side.
As a new XV owner (still feeling "honeymoon"), here's my personal considerations. Dun take it seriously...

1. Sunroof - good when brand new. Potentially problematic if mechanism or seal start leaking if you plan to drive 10yrs. Nevertheless I agree it should be available as option. :D

2. Electric parking brake: call me old skool. I take mechanical over electric anytime. One less thing to fail.

3. Electric seats: very useful if multiple drivers. But doesn't affect if you are sole driver most of time. (I am)

4. Rear aircon: I love these. Nuff said.

5. LED DRL: hahaha... We still have halogen!!! But I can leave with it bah.

Personally I was looking at Altis prior to XV as I was driving a Toyota Wish for 3yrs with zero issue except usual wear and tear. However it was an easy decision for me once I noted on the XV active and passive safety features, cruise control, AWD, boxer engine technology. The cabin space is probably most spacious in the compact Crossover class like Vezel or QQ. But we do have a smaller boot, impt consideration if u have baby stuff like pram.

My colleague driving a pre-FL Forester was amazed how much improvement done on the internal instrument displays. It's very informative and useful. Most importantly all stock from Japan.

In summary, nothing beats the drive. In fact it felt better than my BMW E90... :D

Thank for the info too, are they still clearing their 2015 stock? Now already April liao, they still have so many last year stock?

Hope that the price will come down to 92k or below again, as some of the brother here got for their car, keeping my finger cross, have until beginning of next year to change my car.

Nope... reading the 5-yr warranty terms carefully; they cover all systems like aircon n ABS only for yhe 1st year... 2nd-3rd year they cover engine n drivetrain (transmission n suspension).. 4th-5th year only covers engine.

That sucks...

I believe it's common to all brands.. probably to varying degrees of what's covered for how long...

Anyway.. the latest Geneva show has a 2017 new XV concept looking pretty interesting.. might see the light of day by end-2016, hmmmm...