Neutralsg 5th Gear December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 STOMPer Elicia sent in this video of a cabby who was ranting angrily at a customer, because he did not have change for the customer's $50 note. Says the STOMPer: "An angry taxi driver. "He was raving on and on about his lack of change for a $50 note. "Perhaps he should consider another profession - as a kopi boy where he gets coins for kopi and doesn't need change, pun intended." http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sg..._he_doesnt.html ------------------------------------------------------------------------ Watch the video. what would you do if you are the passenger? Quote: A soft answer turns away wrath: but grievous words stir up anger. If only everyone practices courtesy and understanding, such situation need not arise. I wonder if such incidents occur in places like Japan since it is said that Japanese taxi drivers are one of the most courteous and professional taxi drivers in the world. Perhaps, their passengers too? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 my previous job my company gave me a cabcharge card... i take taxis minimum twice a day, 5times a week.. for a few years... there are a fair share of really nice taxi drivers... just like there are as many really fcuked up ones... just that the bad ones get much more noticed... and yes, transcab usually take in the rejects from comfort n smrt etc.... Such is a balanced view I would say. Have a nice day! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kinte Neutral Newbie December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 Some of the cabs in US has a sign on them "This cab only have 10 dollars change". anyway if a taxi driver has no change for 50 dollars, it's his problem really. He could have told the passenger when they board the cab that he has no changes for 50 dollars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 When NTUC cashiers start business, they would have prepared lots of loose change. I change $1k note with them also they have enough lol. But sometimes i can understand Taxi drivers dont want to carry large amounts of money cause they can get robbed easily. Sometimes also sway one, 2-3 passengers need change for $50/$100 then they will run out. But this is still no excuse to raise voice at customers. You are still in the service line. While this may be possible, this incident may not have been stomped had the taxi driver practiced courtesy instead of expressing his displeasure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kinte Neutral Newbie December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 There is ATM all over Singapore. No excuse. Taxi is a service line...service line means they provide a service. Making sure they have enough change is part of the service as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 Some of the cabs in US has a sign on them "This cab only have 10 dollars change". anyway if a taxi driver has no change for 50 dollars, it's his problem really. He could have told the passenger when they board the cab that he has no changes for 50 dollars. Perhaps, all taxis should display a signage on their windows to remind passengers to check with the driver if they intend to pay with $50.00 and larger notes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 The taxi driver could just drive to the petrol station to withdraw several $10 dollar notes from the ATM machine, to make sure he has the necessary changes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 Sorry to interrupt here.. But doesn't cab also accepts NETs payment...? Saves the hassle of big notes.. Unsure if all taxis has such facility but comfort taxis do facilitate cashless transactions. I think they even accept EZlink cards. I also understand they can have mixed payment mode i.e. part cashless and part cash if one has insufficient balance for either cashless and/or insufficient cash. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 yo.... how's everything?? So so... Hoh seh boh? Never see you since the last lunch right before CNY this year... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rosschang 1st Gear December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 unacceptable la. do business, must have enuf change. plus like many had said, draw from ATM is 50 bucks, draw from CITIBANK ATM is 100 bucks... dun like, put sign on door that says "no small change, dun take my cab" la... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 The taxi driver could just drive to the petrol station to withdraw several $10 dollar notes from the ATM machine, to make sure he has the necessary changes. If their bank balance is jilo, how to withdraw even $10 let alone several. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 Unsure if all taxis has such facility but comfort taxis do facilitate cashless transactions. I think they even accept EZlink cards. I also understand they can have mixed payment mode i.e. part cashless and part cash if one has insufficient balance for either cashless and/or insufficient cash. Actually it's getting more complicated to be a cab driver... With the new messy charges, the myriad of stuff to log on and payment methods... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 unacceptable la. do business, must have enuf change. plus like many had said, draw from ATM is 50 bucks, draw from CITIBANK ATM is 100 bucks... dun like, put sign on door that says "no small change, dun take my cab" la... Like! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 The taxi driver could just drive to the petrol station to withdraw several $10 dollar notes from the ATM machine, to make sure he has the necessary changes. Sometimes also cannot blame those taxi driver, cause they might have problems having so many small change on hand. Even big supermarket also dont have $50 note change! The other day went to NTUC, bought things around $8 plus, just happened that my wallet only have $50 note, the cashier told me she dont have small change! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 Actually it's getting more complicated to be a cab driver... With the new messy charges, the myriad of stuff to log on and payment methods... I think many new drivers who are young, better educated and IT savvy would have no problem unlike the veterans who are less educated and IT savvy To make matters worse, they need to know shortest / fastest route etc.., and with the ever changing roads and landscape in Singapore. Haiz. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 I think many new drivers who are young, better educated and IT savvy would have no problem unlike the veterans who are less educated and IT savvy To make matters worse, they need to know shortest / fastest route etc.., and with the ever changing roads and landscape in Singapore. Haiz. Yup... And have to deal with different groups of people... Really not easy... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 A cab driver once told me why they dun like to carry so many small change is becoz they worry of robbery esp those doing night shift. Very risky to carry so much change. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kinte Neutral Newbie December 19, 2011 Share December 19, 2011 A cab driver once told me why they dun like to carry so many small change is becoz they worry of robbery esp those doing night shift. Very risky to carry so much change. It's occuptional risk that goes with the job. No excuse really. Can a King Crab fisherman say they dont want to go out to sea when it's stormy? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...