Watches

Davidklt

i feel the new gen of ROOs look better than their predecessors.

no numerals, only markers.

AP ROO

wow swee :wub::wub:

but i dont have budget [bigcry]

i feel the new gen of ROOs look better than their predecessors.

no numerals, only markers.

AP ROO

Yup numerals on the already cramped watch face is not so nice

rolex watches best verify at RSC (S$107) mon to fri only (10~645pm) take 1/2 day at least

alternatively go to other reliable watch shops (i can think of JW - $100 for 15min job)

both issue receipt put "servicing"

better to read up at sg-roc for more info

1/2 day? I went 3times before, all less then 1 hr leh. latest being in 2010 (when it was still $75) ...

Maybe now with fee increase, they examine in greater detail (that explains the 1/2 day) and make it's worthwhile the hike ?

1/2 day? I went 3times before, all less then 1 hr leh. latest being in 2010 (when it was still $75) ...

Maybe now with fee increase, they examine in greater detail (that explains the 1/2 day) and make it's worthwhile the hike ?

not sure about examining in greater detail. i called RSC and told me if give them in morning 10am, might only take in later afternoon, if give in afternoon, might be next working day (all depending on crowds)

but heard they give leather pouch for every servicing (including this S$107 "service")

if less than 1 hr still ok to go, can walk around shopping and go back to collect your watch. but 1/2 day... <_<

Basically RSC doesng hv time to do such verification as it doesnt add much value to their Revenues and also encorage people to trade old Rolex while they want to sell new.

However, I feel that they should capitalise on this and hv a section purely on certification.

Imagine, $107 every 15mins, one hour $430.

Surely cant lose.

In terms of value add, it keeps Rolex owners new and old, happy and that will translate to more brand equity and future sales.

We can never deny that one reason why new Rolex prices hold is becos the demand of the preown market is huge.

Rolex should reward its customers especially people like me who usually buy new Rolexes and kena chop.

Next time i dont buy new already.

not sure about examining in greater detail. i called RSC and told me if give them in morning 10am, might only take in later afternoon, if give in afternoon, might be next working day (all depending on crowds)

but heard they give leather pouch for every servicing (including this S$107 "service")

if less than 1 hr still ok to go, can walk around shopping and go back to collect your watch. but 1/2 day... <_<

For all the 3 occasions, I waited there (admire the watches on display, pick up some catalog/price list to drool, sit around ... see the technicans in action) ... settle in 1 hr ...

And yes they will give a Rolex green pouch with a cleaning clothe ... at least something in return :D

maybe they are "big" corporation, harder to change their system.

i too find that "verification" service can get good $ too if they can turn around faster.

I verified mine at JW, very quick and service oriented despite a crowd there.

The guy (i believe is John himself) took less than 15mins can came back and said it's authentic, checked movement accuracy and water resistance test.

After that, he asked me to try on. Need to remove links cos small wrist

waited another few quick minutes, adjusted again and needed to remove 1 more link

returned all 3links

very good service [thumbsup]

paid S$100 nett and only receipt showing "serviced" and no pouch

it's a recommended place to do verification if buyer/seller do not wanna wait too long to make the deal there.

Edited by Sunny

i too find that "verification" service can get good $ too if they can turn around faster.

The guy (i believe is John himself) took less than 15mins can came back and said it's authentic, checked movement accuracy and water resistance test.

After that tried on, need to remove links cos small wrist

waited another few quick minutes, adjusted again and needed to remove 1 more link

it's a recommended place to do verification if buyer/seller do not wanna wait too long to make the deal there.

i am clueless about the verification process. my impression is to verify whether a watch is authentic, first they need to check the serial number. then open up the watch to check the movement. need to strip the movement to ensure every part is genuine.

authentication in less than 15 mins.. i have my doubts leh. how to check movement accuracy in 15 mins?

still feel authentication at RSC is the safest bet.

i am clueless about the verification process. my impression is to verify whether a watch is authentic, first they need to check the serial number. then open up the watch to check the movement. need to strip the movement to ensure every part is genuine.

authentication in less than 15 mins.. i have my doubts leh. how to check movement accuracy in 15 mins?

still feel authentication at RSC is the safest bet.

personally i too feel authentication at RSC is best.

but i had few restrictions

a) seller needs me to pay first before pass me the watch to verify (logical)

b) RSC takes "1/2day"

c) do not open on sat, as i can deal only on sat or after working hours (again RSC is out)

the seller waited for JW/me. 15mins of chit chatting also

about the accuracy check, i think there is a test instrument for it. but i hv no clue [lipsrsealed]

but stripping the watch? i dont think RSC does that unless need to do real servicing/overhaul thingy

Edited by Sunny

personally i too feel authentication at RSC is best.

but i had few restrictions

a) seller needs me to pay first before pass me the watch to verify (logical)

b) RSC takes "1/2day"

c) do not open on sat, as i can deal only on sat or after working hours (again RSC is out)

the seller waited for JW/me. 15mins of chit chatting also

about the accuracy check, i think there is a test instrument for it. but i hv no clue [lipsrsealed]

but stripping the watch? i dont think RSC does that unless need to do real servicing/overhaul thingy

wah if RSC don't even strip the watch.. then.. [lipsrsealed]

They do open up the back casing ... they take out the bracelet too ... I saw they even took a pic of the watch, which i wonder what for :blink:

strip watch later hard time assemble back [lipsrsealed] open casing see enuf liao

different from stripping a gal hor. after "ahem", gal wears clothes herself [lipsrsealed]

They do open up the back casing ... they take out the bracelet too ... I saw they even took a pic of the watch, which i wonder what for :blink:

hmm do they keep the pic for future reference (in case any dispute?)

After that, he asked me to try on. Need to remove links cos small wrist

returned all 3links

such a simple job and get $100 in 15 mins, who would be crazy not to do.....

$100 is too much to pay, i think JW head got big a few years ago, until now very swollen.

Richemont lor. They stopped verifying Pams liao.

Never dealt with JW before, but my friend's Breitling was overhauled by them. It was fubar when he skidded his motorbike, and the watch came back almost flawless. Great workmanship.

if not wrong before they were charging like $50+

$100 is definitely [knife] but bo pian LPPL