Illegal Parking Trend

Stiener

Would you take a risk to park where you shouldn't?  

117 members have voted

1. 1. Would you take a risk to park where you shouldn't?

• Yes
    • No
    • Scan for signs of parking warden activities before deciding
    • Depend on other drivers parking in the area
    • Others
  2. 2. If you see a summon, who would you blame?

• Its not my day
    • People who call the enforcement team
    • The enforcement officer for being too 'On the ball'
    • Others
  3. 3. When you are guilty of illegal parking, do you criticise those who did the same and has caused inconveniences to you?

• Yes
    • No
    • I reserve my comment
    • Others

Illegal parking is a nuisance, especially on narrow or busy roads, some even went to the extend of double-parking to wait for an illegal parking slot, which to me is totally unacceptable no matter under what circumstances. No amount of parking fines seem to resolve this ongoing problem.

Maybe LTA/HDB/URA should consider installing surveillance cameras on some of the hot spots and/or allow members of public to snap and submit photos as evidence.

If all else fails, we should start an Illegal-Parking Day where everybody start parking illegally on all the HDB carparks and streets to generate awareness of the nuisance and inconvenience caused. Hopefully those regular illegal parkers will wake up!

Very good idea!! [thumbsup]

Also, for special days when HDB open carparks are expected to be filled (eg CNY visitors etc), why not allow parking in void decks??..... its a waste of space if void decks are empty and carparks are full.... [:p]

The law has never offered any form of protection for car owners if people puncture tires, scratch and or dent doors, whether illegally parked or otherwise.

sure or not, you tried, or kena, before? :o

Edited by KARTer

For the new year, I think lets start asking drivers about how they feel about illegal parking (Season Parking / Zig Zag lines / continous single white line, did not put enough parking coupons etc).

If you think that this is a lame question, take the poll with the answer from your heart (don't need to worry, your nickname will not be reflected in the choices that you have made). In order to see the real picture (also note the possibility of sampling error), please do not approach the poll via a politically correct midset.

You will be surprise with the results of this poll. If it is one in a million, it is just a trouble maker. If this is a trend, it is a social problem. Either, the offenders are wrong or the governing authorities have set the gound rules that are wrong and against the will of the general car owners / drivers.

In this, I would just say a little bit of illegal parking is fine if the said motorists had taken into consideration not to inconvenience other road users like making sure he is not causing obstruction and increases blind spot especially entrance/exit of arterial roads etc :angry: . This is what I can call for tolerance when their illegal parking does not cause more problems.... <_<

Is this a survey? I need to get paid to provide my answer :D :D

Thank you for your contribution. I am unable to pay you as I do not get any funding for this.

I think TS is rather outdated & out of touch. Nowadays if you illegal park you will have a slim chance of getting away with it. In the past it's not much of a problem. Now ppl & authorities are armed with cameras.

Maybe for some areas, but not all. Supposingly that ppl realized the chances of getting is slim, what motivates drivers to take their chances. Refer to the votes so far (provided ppl are voting from their heart), a number of drivers will still take the risk. This will include the borderline drivers. There must be a motivation that outweigh the penalty.

The law should not protect illegally parked cars ie if others see it and puncture its tyres, or scratch its doors etc, too bad.... why its illegality parked in the first place and shows no respect of the law (no parking)?.... :D

That is considered as taking matters into your own hands. Also considered as disregard for law.

I strongly advocate wheel clamp. Its pointless to fine them as Spore car owner too rich and they just cant be bother with small fine. Wheel clamp it & the owner have to report to authorities HQ the next day during office hours to paid hefty fines & deduction of Demerit points. I suggest 10pts is good indicator for punishment of Bor chap attitude.

This will be the topic for the next survey. Is the fine system working. How much is enough if it is not. What other penalties can be imposed to deter ppl from taking the risk.

I think TS is rather outdated & out of touch. Nowadays if you illegal park you will have a slim chance of getting away with it. In the past it's not much of a problem. Now ppl & authorities are armed with cameras.

Sure or not. You go and see outside the Punggol Sheng Siong (beside Treelodge @Punggol) and also outside the row of shophouses next to the Kopitiam opposite Compass Point. Filter lane also park, people hack care.

Yes, this is exactly what I advocate strongly to come down hard on these kind of indiscriminate illegal parking, simply "bochap" to cause inconvenience to others. [rifle]

There are 2 types of illegal parking.

1) Parking in a designated parking lot without or with insufficient coupon.

2) Parking outside a designated parking lot. This can be further categorized into:

a) Without causing danger, obstruction or inconvenience to other users.

b) Causing danger, obstruction or inconvenience to other users (and that includes pedestrians).

It is the hard enforcement of the 1st type that result in the 2nd type of illegal parking ie. park in front of coffeeshop at least can see.

For the 2nd type, it is a fine line between (a) and (b) and sometimes very subjective and debatable so I am not going to attempt to define it here.

I am very disappointed with people who thinks 2(b) is ok and would do so blatantly and without due consideration or regards to other users. I'm sure you know who you are.

The question is how to get our law enforcers to re-prioritize and focus on the right area instead of penalizing those who mis-calculated and short of one 50c coupon, which is the lesser of the 2 evils.

That is considered as taking matters into your own hands. Also considered as disregard for law.

Ahh... those who disrespect the law by parking illegally deserves the same [:)]

park legally and everything will be fine, no scratch/puncture

when the law is inadequat / poorly enforced, something else can take its place to produce the same inconvenience (as in this case).

2) Parking outside a designated parking lot. This can be further categorized into:

b) Causing danger, obstruction or inconvenience to other users (and that includes pedestrians).

It is the hard enforcement of the 1st type that result in the 2nd type of illegal parking ie. park in front of coffeeshop at least can see.

For the 2nd type, it is a fine line between (a) and (b) and sometimes very subjective and debatable so I am not going to attempt to define it here.

I am very disappointed with people who thinks 2(b) is ok and would do so blatantly and without due consideration or regards to other users. I'm sure you know who you are.

The question is how to get our law enforcers to re-prioritize and focus on the right area instead of penalizing those who mis-calculated and short of one 50c coupon, which is the lesser of the 2 evils.

Maybe to extend the grace period to 15mins?.... and keep the current fine for the first 30mins of over-parking but double it beyond that to make allowance for 'underestimating' coupons needed (via longer grace period) but prevent abuse of the G period (via doubled fine)?

Nowadays electronic parking has also overcome the problem of wrong estimations.

Edited by KARTer

Maybe to extend the grace period to 15mins?.... and keep the current fine for the first 30mins of over-parking but double it beyond that to make allowance for 'underestimating' coupons needed (via longer grace period) but prevent abuse of the G period (via doubled fine)?

Grace period is both impractical and hard to execute. Imagine the parking warden must come and note down all vehicles in the CP, then wait 15 mins before issuing tickets.

I'm more calling for them to be more lax to those parking in proper designated lots and focus their attention more towards those parking along the roadsides and driveways.

I've seen parking wardens dutifully issuing tickets inside MSCP and then turning a blind eye to those parking along the driveways maybe for fear of being approached *facepalm*

Can't really blame cos it's all human nature though..

Thank you for providing the definition.

Grace period is both impractical and hard to execute. Imagine the parking warden must come and note down all vehicles in the CP, then wait 15 mins before issuing tickets.

I'm more calling for them to be more lax to those parking in proper designated lots and focus their attention more towards those parking along the roadsides and driveways.

I've seen parking wardens dutifully issuing tickets inside MSCP and then turning a blind eye to those parking along the driveways maybe for fear of being approached *facepalm*

Can't really blame cos it's all human nature though..

I also feel that aunties should be more lenient towards those overparked in proper lots except when the carpark is full and others are waiting for empty lots. [[:)]

Those who parked in such a way that others are obstructed/inconveninced must be fined more!! [mad]

Edited by KARTer

HDB has issue a statement on the number of HDB car parks that has been converted to electronic pricing. More to come and I am looking forward to that. No more worries about poor estimation.

Drove passed Penjuru Road today. There was a jam until the AYE. I was wondering what happened ahead that is causing a jam. Then I realized that there were more container trucks today than usual. The last one was parked alongside the kerb of penjuru and teban garden crescent. A bus and another container cannot pass with the kerb on the right and trucks on the left. Eventually, the bus managed to squeeze through but the other truck had mount it's right wheels onto the kerb in order to pass. Are they have a meeting there I wonder?

Anyway, LTA can only issue summon instead of wheel clamp or tow the truck cos it cannot fit.

Maybe the authorities should start towing vehicles parked illegally away. And redemption of the car would require a new COE. This way, we will have lesser cars on the road.