ST Forum: Ballot Box Answer To Minister's Salary

Vulcann

Maybe one day Singapore will be seperated into 5 countries. Little India, Chinatown, PinoyLand and BlangaFort. All of us will stay in ERP Village.

Pinoylanders to the east while blanga to the west.

Base on the sheer volume contributed by India & Mainland China, we would to be squeeze out from ERP Village...

As ERP Village located at south, the best way is to head north...

So if that we were to take up the whole of North & South, we would still be the junction that being cross & screwed by others.

Yep another typical don't-know-how-lucky-you-are letter from a foreigner.

Geee why are there an increasing number of such citizen-admonishing letters lately?

Again to folks like them, being a cabinet minister here is a thankless job.

Well for $1.1m, most inlcuding yours truly are willing to accept the "thankless" part.

[laugh] [laugh]

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/...ory_754518.html

Ballot box answer to minister's salary

Published on Jan 12, 2012

THE job of a politician is much more complex than that of a chief executive officer (CEO) of a private company ('Variable component' by Mr Kevin Kwek; Tuesday).

A CEO is motivated purely by profits, even if it means axing jobs. A minister's task is multi-dimensional. He has to keep the economy on a sound footing, create wealth, jobs and infrastructure as well as look to security, to name a few.

If a minister does not perform, vote him out - that is how the question of his salary should be resolved.

I am from India on a long-term visit pass and I clearly see the distinction with which Singapore has been steered by its ministers.

Singaporeans should be proud of the leaders they have had, and have, and reward them well for a job well done.

This will encourage a fresh crop of non-corrupt, young, talented citizens to take up the thankless job of a minister.

Marcel J. Misquith

I believe this one employed by the problematic action people to write such tread. [laugh] If collecting millions for malingering is thankless job, what can be thankful job? [:p]

Edited by Good-Carbuyer

that was why their politician need to serve two terms, one to corrupt as much as possible for themselves and their cronies, second term then start doing work for the people, if still have excess [laugh] [laugh]

from what i know, people in india need to 'pay' to get into the government. the reason is because they can then get more money when they are in office. what i don't understand is if these people are so smart, why can't they resolve their own problem first [:p]

another Ah Neh???

Prease lah. India is the most corrupted country in the world. it's so corrupted that the govt is having big problems in attracting investments into the country. And its so corrupted that the rich ah nehs dont even dare to put $$ into any investments in India.

Go home, solve your own bloody problem first......... Your own country's problems can't even resolve, want to write about us???

Pinoylanders to the east while blanga to the west.

Base on the sheer volume contributed by India & Mainland China, we would to be squeeze out from ERP Village...

As ERP Village located at south, the best way is to head north...

So if that we were to take up the whole of North & South, we would still be the junction that being cross & screwed by others.

Still got Ubin, Kushu, St John's, Coney, Sister's, Sudong, Pawai Islands and other small small rocks (assuming low tide) still left for us citizens mah, right?

Jurong and Tekong Island restricted cannot go while Sentosa cannot even step on it, too expensive liao -very soon they will even charge the air you breath while there....

[laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Edited by Vulcann

Still got Ubin, Kushu, St John's, Coney, Sister's, Sudong, Pawai Islands and other small small rocks (assuming low tide) still left for us citizens mah, right?

Jurong and Tekong Island restricted cannot go while Sentosa cannot even step on it, too expensive liao -very soon they will even charge the air you breath while there....

[laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Can we buy back Christmas island?

another Ah Neh???

Prease lah. India is the most corrupted country in the world. it's so corrupted that the govt is having big problems in attracting investments into the country. And its so corrupted that the rich ah nehs dont even dare to put $$ into any investments in India.

Go home, solve your own bloody problem first......... Your own country's problems can't even resolve, want to write about us???

My friend is sales director of Garment biz (Asia garments) selling infrastructure computing systems.

The most corrupt he says is Ahnehdia. Invoice high high - got it ??

They like to quote the Hen or the 3-meal minister saying they were earning a lot as surgeons prior and a sacrifice for them to join politics.

What about LHL, TCH, KBW, HSK, GY, the BG/MG, etc?

Are they earning many millions prior?

They were all just paper scholars previously for goodness sake!!!!

[rolleyes] [rolleyes]

some r GLC bodohs

Yep another typical don't-know-how-lucky-you-are letter from a foreigner.

Geee why are there an increasing number of such citizen-admonishing letters lately?

Again to folks like them, being a cabinet minister here is a thankless job.

Well for $1.1m, most inlcuding yours truly are willing to accept the "thankless" part.

[laugh] [laugh]

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/...ory_754518.html

Ballot box answer to minister's salary

Published on Jan 12, 2012

THE job of a politician is much more complex than that of a chief executive officer (CEO) of a private company ('Variable component' by Mr Kevin Kwek; Tuesday).

A CEO is motivated purely by profits, even if it means axing jobs. A minister's task is multi-dimensional. He has to keep the economy on a sound footing, create wealth, jobs and infrastructure as well as look to security, to name a few.

If a minister does not perform, vote him out - that is how the question of his salary should be resolved.

I am from India on a long-term visit pass and I clearly see the distinction with which Singapore has been steered by its ministers.

Singaporeans should be proud of the leaders they have had, and have, and reward them well for a job well done.

This will encourage a fresh crop of non-corrupt, young, talented citizens to take up the thankless job of a minister.

Marcel J. Misquith

Thankless job??? This is a fallacy! [thumbsdown]

Corruption does not relate to $$$ ALONE!!! It also has much to do with integrity, virtue and moral principle. Further, no one can be thankful for mediocre performance and zero accountability. Conversely, most if not all WILL BE THANKFUL for good performance and accountability as shown by, and to the 1st generation of Singapore leaders since independence.

Therefore, it is rubbish to say that the job of a minister is a thankless one.

Yep they are exceptional, making sacrifices, taking on "thankless" jobs, so they must have high pay, pension and full medical benefits after they retire.

All the other Tan Ah Mows, Muhameds, Muthus and De Silvas sorry you are just a nobody too bad so go take a number and wait in line.

Next please...

From ST Forum:

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/...ory_756347.html

My Point

Published on Jan 17, 2012

Pension and health care

'We should not concentrate only on how much we pay for an individual to hold higher office.'

DR LEWIS LEE KIM CHUAN: 'It is disappointing that the ministerial pay review limits itself to financial remuneration and is silent on rewarding sacrifice, service and loyalty. I support the inclusion of benefits which support the call to serve. The essence is to openly give benefits that befit the sacrifice and demands of the office, especially after these ministers have retired. Two areas are pension and health-care benefits. Pension is a reflection of loyalty and dedication. It may not be necessarily substantial and can be apportioned to terms of years in office with a minimum number of years for qualification. The pension acknowledges ministers' contribution to the country in their old age. Health-care benefits should be extended to the spouse. We need to take care of people who have taken care of us as citizens. The inclusion of the spouse reflects the contribution of the family. We should not concentrate only on how much we pay for an individual to hold higher office.'

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Job impact criterion

'Adding more distortion to the principle may be penny-wise and pound-foolish.'

MR NG YA KEN: 'While political considerations may have played a prime role in the review of ministerial pay, have we compromised sound principles, one of which is rewarding ministers according to the significant public impact of their jobs? If we use the impact of job criterion, the market value of a finance minister is many times that of a top banker. So if a top banker earns an annual salary of $10 million and a finance minister's job is five times more important, the minister may get only a very small percentage of the market value of his job in the new scheme. Also, if we factor in the inconvenience and the political risk associated with his career, the minister's reward is even smaller. Adding more distortion to the principle of rewarding people according to job impact may be penny-wise and pound-foolish.'

ha ha more public holidayz for us ??? :blink:

U think? Of course not. We'll be forced to work on public holidays to serve the FTs <_< Oops... sorry not, by then we will be the foreigner in this country.

Thankless job??? This is a fallacy! [thumbsdown]

Corruption does not relate to $$$ ALONE!!! It also has much to do with integrity, virtue and moral principle. Further, no one can be thankful for mediocre performance and zero accountability. Conversely, most if not all WILL BE THANKFUL for good performance and accountability as shown by, and to the 1st generation of Singapore leaders since independence.

Therefore, it is rubbish to say that the job of a minister is a thankless one.

Bro Scb11980 in his post #79 in the thread: http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...73628&st=50 was on David Marshall's view on minister's pay way back in 1994.

Great article so re-produced here (see below blue coloured article):

Those ministers, especially those who ride on the coattails of others via the GRC system to enter politics, KPKB say they made sacrifices, that it's a thankless job despite being in the top 0.05% income bracket should read it and take a good hard look at themselves.

If they still do not have even a single shred of shame or guilt I am really [speechless] [speechless]

Subject: David Marshall In 1994 (when PAP ministers started enjoying their high pay schemes):Well said ........

David Marshall.

David Marshall In 1994 (when PAP ministers started enjoying their high pay schemes):

I've got nothing against money. I'd like to have money myself! I'd like to have a house and a garden and dogs and a car and a chauffeur but, look, I've got a flat. I've got a swimming pool attached to the flat. I've not even got a car but I use taxis. I have a dignified way of life without being wealthy.

I don't see the necessity of owning a Mercedes-Benz and a swimming pool and a couple of mistresses. I think we've got our values all wrong.

You know $ 96,000 a month for a Prime Minister and $ 60,000 a month for a minister. What the hell do you do with all that money? You can't eat it! What do you do with it? Your children don't need all that money.

My children have had the best of education. In fact, I'm very proud of them. One of them is a senior registrar to two major hospitals in Oxford . Another of them is a consultant in European law to the Securities and Investment Board in the United Kingdom . They've had their education. There are no complaints.

I never earned $60,000 a month or $90,000 a month. When I was Chief Minister, I earned $8,000 a month.

Look, what is happening today is we are encouraged to and are becoming worshippers of the Golden Calf.

We have lost sight of the joy and excitement of public service, helping our fellow men. The joy and excitement of seeking and understanding the miracle of the living, the duty and the grandeur. We have lost taste for heroic action in the service of our people.

We have become good bourgeois seeking comfort, security. It's like seeking a crystal coffin and being fed by intravenous injections through pipes in the crystal coffin; crystal coffins stuck with certificates of your pragmatic abilities.

It's time we start to clean up Singapore politics and get rid of the greedy self-serving politicians.

Can we buy back Christmas island?

Wait the Aussie govt sneered at us and said, "After paying off your ministers, you still got money to buy our island meh? You think this is a Christmas sale ah? WAKE UP LAH!!!"

[laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Edited by Vulcann

Bro Scb11980 in his post #79 in the thread: http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...73628&st=50 was on David Marshall's view on minister's pay way back in 1994.

Great article so re-produced here (see below blue coloured article):

Those ministers, especially those who ride on the coattails of others via the GRC system to enter politics, KPKB say they made sacrifices, that it's a thankless job despite being in the top 0.05% income bracket should read it and take a good hard look at themselves.

If they still do not have even a single shred of shame or guilt I am really [speechless] [speechless]

Subject: David Marshall In 1994 (when PAP ministers started enjoying their high pay schemes):Well said ........

David Marshall.

David Marshall In 1994 (when PAP ministers started enjoying their high pay schemes):

I've got nothing against money. I'd like to have money myself! I'd like to have a house and a garden and dogs and a car and a chauffeur but, look, I've got a flat. I've got a swimming pool attached to the flat. I've not even got a car but I use taxis. I have a dignified way of life without being wealthy.

I don't see the necessity of owning a Mercedes-Benz and a swimming pool and a couple of mistresses. I think we've got our values all wrong.

You know $ 96,000 a month for a Prime Minister and $ 60,000 a month for a minister. What the hell do you do with all that money? You can't eat it! What do you do with it? Your children don't need all that money.

My children have had the best of education. In fact, I'm very proud of them. One of them is a senior registrar to two major hospitals in Oxford . Another of them is a consultant in European law to the Securities and Investment Board in the United Kingdom . They've had their education. There are no complaints.

I never earned $60,000 a month or $90,000 a month. When I was Chief Minister, I earned $8,000 a month.

Look, what is happening today is we are encouraged to and are becoming worshippers of the Golden Calf.

We have lost sight of the joy and excitement of public service, helping our fellow men. The joy and excitement of seeking and understanding the miracle of the living, the duty and the grandeur. We have lost taste for heroic action in the service of our people.

We have become good bourgeois seeking comfort, security. It's like seeking a crystal coffin and being fed by intravenous injections through pipes in the crystal coffin; crystal coffins stuck with certificates of your pragmatic abilities.

It's time we start to clean up Singapore politics and get rid of the greedy self-serving politicians.

Yeah:) Mr David Marshall was our Chief Minister in the 50s before PAP took over.

I read the article which was published in the S.T., after they interviewed him before his passing about a year later. A great and wonderful man and politician indeed! [thumbsup]

As a result of Mr David Marshall's influence and standing as a very successful defending criminal lawyer, LKY proposed the changed in the earlier judiciary system (based on the British system) and did away with the system by jury.

Mr David Marshall is one politician who will easily be remembered by many older Singaporeans.

Have a nice day and Gong Xi Fa Cai! [wave]

Yeah:) Mr David Marshall was our Chief Minister in the 50s before PAP took over.

I read the article which was published in the S.T., after they interviewed him before his passing about a year later. A great and wonderful man and politician indeed! [thumbsup]

As a result of Mr David Marshall's influence and standing as a very successful defending criminal lawyer, LKY proposed the changed in the earlier judiciary system (based on the British system) and did away with the system by jury.

Mr David Marshall is one politician who will easily be remembered by many older Singaporeans.

Have a nice day and Gong Xi Fa Cai! [wave]

The no-need-so-much-money part really really [thumbsup] admirable, absolutely put those high-pay proponents to shame.

谢谢! 也祝您新年快乐,事事顺利!!! [nod][sunny]