Stiener 1st Gear January 24, 2012 Share January 24, 2012 (edited) My car got hit by taxi at on fri.. bk bumper badly damaged, back door also badly damaged. Lucky still can drive. Initially the cabbie asked me go his workshop asked me to help, saying that the workshop is cheap, good and fast. I went there take alook n decided that i have no confident that quality wil be good. Taxi driver say i ddnt help him by using his workshop n due to accident he has to report his accident.. i told cabbie im not the one hitting him.. he caused my car damage n it is only right that my car is repaired nicely since his workshop is only cheap fast good n quality cannot be ensured. Morever i dun know him so i dun trust him so will not use his workshop. I told him the best i can do is not pretending to have injury n fake injury claims. He LL suck thumb. .. well initially i feel sorry for hin that he will lose his deposit w taxi company, but think of it this way, if i hit him instead, he is gonna claim me loss of use, injury etc which is gonna be 10x worse. Taxi drivers rent the vehicles from the operators, we buy and pay instalment. In the event in total loss, who stand to lose more. I always feel that because they don't own the vehicle, some may not take ownership and take it for granted. I also do not discount the fact that it is their rice bowl but this may not be only job available to them. Edited January 24, 2012 by Stiener ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike80 Neutral Newbie January 24, 2012 Share January 24, 2012 Totally agrees with all you guys..I almost got into an accident with a taxi an hour ago..Because the taxi is behind the bus in the 3rd lane and want to speed up and overtake it..He knew that the space is quite tight for him to squeeze into the 2nd lane which is the lane that i am in and he DIE DIE want to squeeze me out of the lane and the best thing is he did not signal!! If there is ample space, i will allow him to cut into my lane..But he is just side by side beside me so how to change lane?? He cut back into his lane when i horned him and glared at him.. The area that we are driving is quite congested and he should have anticipate it by changing lane earlier and not using the lane where all the heavy vehicles are using...If someone wants to cut into my lane, go ahead..If there is enough space, i will even facilitate your maneuvering by slowing down..But this, i think it is too much! i would called it road bullying!! This caused another to car to horn me back as i almost collide into it because i wanted to avoid the taxi beside me..I understand that taxi drivers earned a living but the way some of them drive, i think it is time to do something about it..i am not saying all taxi drivers are reckless..There are also some who are rather nice and makes the journey in his/her taxi a pleasant one..I rather have 1 safe taxi driver than 10 reckless taxi drivers!! I am going to invest in a car camera and sent all this reckless driving video to TP and the taxi companies! I am even prepared to go to court as a witness if there is a need to.. If they lose their job, so be it..I hope by doing this, i can make the roads a safer place for all of us motorists on the road and also to let the taxi companies think about it and educate their reckless drivers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Takumi21 2nd Gear January 24, 2012 Share January 24, 2012 met a taxi who brake/slow down when no car in front of him today.. zzzzzzzz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stiener 1st Gear January 25, 2012 Share January 25, 2012 Totally agrees with all you guys..I almost got into an accident with a taxi an hour ago..Because the taxi is behind the bus in the 3rd lane and want to speed up and overtake it..He knew that the space is quite tight for him to squeeze into the 2nd lane which is the lane that i am in and he DIE DIE want to squeeze me out of the lane and the best thing is he did not signal!! If there is ample space, i will allow him to cut into my lane..But he is just side by side beside me so how to change lane?? He cut back into his lane when i horned him and glared at him.. The area that we are driving is quite congested and he should have anticipate it by changing lane earlier and not using the lane where all the heavy vehicles are using...If someone wants to cut into my lane, go ahead..If there is enough space, i will even facilitate your maneuvering by slowing down..But this, i think it is too much! i would called it road bullying!! This caused another to car to horn me back as i almost collide into it because i wanted to avoid the taxi beside me..I understand that taxi drivers earned a living but the way some of them drive, i think it is time to do something about it..i am not saying all taxi drivers are reckless..There are also some who are rather nice and makes the journey in his/her taxi a pleasant one..I rather have 1 safe taxi driver than 10 reckless taxi drivers!! I am going to invest in a car camera and sent all this reckless driving video to TP and the taxi companies! I am even prepared to go to court as a witness if there is a need to.. If they lose their job, so be it..I hope by doing this, i can make the roads a safer place for all of us motorists on the road and also to let the taxi companies think about it and educate their reckless drivers! Sounds like the scene I saw along AYE towards Tuas near exit to Clementi Ave 6. There was this Merc at lane 2 and I was just behind it. On lane 3 there were 2 cars which was quite closed. The Merc was trying to change to exit ave 6. As it was in line with the 2nd car, there is no way that he can speed up, overtake the first car and exit at the same time. The only way to me was to slow down and go behind the 2nd car since I was at least 2 car lengths behind. But instead of doing either way, the Merc cut in and was almost forcing the car out of it's lane and into the next. Both cars were 50-50 in the lane. Can tell that the Merc is not gonna give up after 3-5 sec. In the end the car gave way and after the Merc passes then it moved back to it's original lane. I now dream of buying a Merc since it has the right of way and privilege on the road. ;) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shuibing85 Neutral Newbie February 24, 2012 Share February 24, 2012 singapore 1st dangerous driver is taxi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MadDog70 2nd Gear February 24, 2012 Share February 24, 2012 (edited) You call that nearly ah, so far away. Seriously, please send this to the taxi company to inform them of reckless driver. Btw, which recorder you use, very clear lei. Edited February 24, 2012 by MadDog70 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bioinformatics 3rd Gear February 24, 2012 Share February 24, 2012 singapore 1st dangerous driver is taxi And the gov wanted to increase further the age of taxi driver? Would you broad a taxi if see a 70++ years old man driving? i feel pity for them... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear February 25, 2012 Share February 25, 2012 singapore 1st dangerous driver is taxi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear February 25, 2012 Share February 25, 2012 And the gov wanted to increase further the age of taxi driver? Would you broad a taxi if see a 70++ years old man driving? i feel pity for them... That's b'cos gahmen don't want to feed them, so they gotta work for their daily bread. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic February 25, 2012 Share February 25, 2012 Mixed feelings towards them lah - they are suffering in terms of rising costs and long working hours but these conditions turn some of them into dangerous, devil-may-care drivers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mnphosis 1st Gear February 25, 2012 Share February 25, 2012 I understand that taxi drivers earned a living but the way some of them drive, i think it is time to do something about it..i am not saying all taxi drivers are reckless.. bro, which one of us here drive on the road often for fun or because we got nothing better to do? almost all also for work in one way or another. what makes their work more impt than our work? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nodtviedt 2nd Gear February 25, 2012 Share February 25, 2012 bro, which one of us here drive on the road often for fun or because we got nothing better to do? almost all also for work in one way or another. what makes their work more impt than our work? Actually there are people who do that... imho, they pose more threats than taxis. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear February 25, 2012 Share February 25, 2012 Did I see SHC219B? I understand that its not easy for them to earn a living. But the lives of other road users are precious too... Moreover, the taxi is hired...the passenger is paying for him to take the shortest route but not an illegal shortcut. I believe many/most of us take a cab whe in a hurry. Otherwise, direct him to Police Station and report his illegal/disorderly driving, plus do not pay him for endangering our lives. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear February 25, 2012 Share February 25, 2012 My car got hit by taxi at on fri.. bk bumper badly damaged, back door also badly damaged. Lucky still can drive. Initially the cabbie asked me go his workshop asked me to help, saying that the workshop is cheap, good and fast. I went there take alook n decided that i have no confident that quality wil be good. Taxi driver say i ddnt help him by using his workshop n due to accident he has to report his accident.. i told cabbie im not the one hitting him.. he caused my car damage n it is only right that my car is repaired nicely since his workshop is only cheap fast good n quality cannot be ensured. Morever i dun know him so i dun trust him so will not use his workshop. I told him the best i can do is not pretending to have injury n fake injury claims. He LL suck thumb. .. well initially i feel sorry for hin that he will lose his deposit w taxi company, but think of it this way, if i hit him instead, he is gonna claim me loss of use, injury etc which is gonna be 10x worse. Well done. Mental maturity demonstrated. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear February 25, 2012 Share February 25, 2012 met a taxi who brake/slow down when no car in front of him today.. zzzzzzzz So lucky, you did not report he rear-end your car then zzzz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear February 25, 2012 Share February 25, 2012 Sounds like the scene I saw along AYE towards Tuas near exit to Clementi Ave 6. There was this Merc at lane 2 and I was just behind it. On lane 3 there were 2 cars which was quite closed. The Merc was trying to change to exit ave 6. As it was in line with the 2nd car, there is no way that he can speed up, overtake the first car and exit at the same time. The only way to me was to slow down and go behind the 2nd car since I was at least 2 car lengths behind. But instead of doing either way, the Merc cut in and was almost forcing the car out of it's lane and into the next. Both cars were 50-50 in the lane. Can tell that the Merc is not gonna give up after 3-5 sec. In the end the car gave way and after the Merc passes then it moved back to it's original lane. I now dream of buying a Merc since it has the right of way and privilege on the road. ;) and Lexus can hit tree trunk? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear February 25, 2012 Share February 25, 2012 And the gov wanted to increase further the age of taxi driver? Would you broad a taxi if see a 70++ years old man driving? i feel pity for them... Lip service, how many can live that long? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 25, 2012 Share February 25, 2012 bro, which one of us here drive on the road often for fun or because we got nothing better to do? almost all also for work in one way or another. what makes their work more impt than our work? I dun drive to work. I only drive outside of work It is not whose work is more important but just that it is their work that make them more reckless. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...