How much does a 370Z cost??? Global comparison.

Mockngbrd

lol.

he basically saying,

if can afford hdb and take MRT means affordable le.

After reading, I think I understand what Roadrunner trying to say, but I still cannot agree the ridiculously affordable part.

I my opinion, must see as a whole package, & including housing & healthcare. Also not just current, but rainy days & retirement. You may be living an 'affordable life', if any member of your family fall sick (touch wood), will it wide out your savings & money. I know of people who live humble lives, but one sickness from a family member, whole extended family went bankrupt.

What % of Singaporeans can live a decent life after retirement, still able to do some travelling (if heath permitted) & enjoy the nicer things in life?

Of course, if you have investment, have filial & decently to do children that take care of you, or rent out your house, or something along the line, then you can have income flow every month. But by that scenario, every country can be affordable, as the same logical can be apply to other country. So its not a good representation.

Not saying Sinagapore is not affordable, but certainly not RIDICULOUSLY affordable no matter how I spin it. But its purely my view.

All Countries are different so cannot simplay compare, but its a big misconception that alot of people here think than the tax money people pay oversea is like flush to the toilet like in Singapore. This is one of the thing PAP done well, make people think we are good as we pay 'low' tax.

You pay low in Singapore, but you get nothing much in return as well. The really advantages of the 'low' tax in Singapore is you have more disposable income to enjoy yourself when you are young & working, & should you wanted to invest (& hopefully your investment bring dividend).

You have to look at the overall package, like welfare, education, subsidue, heathcare, & retirement package.

No saying outer countries or Sinagpore are better, but you cannot just look at the % of tax people pay as a guide for comparision. The Nordic Countries are known to have very high taxes, but they are also always among the top tiers in quality of living.

Well said Bro [:)]

if sg car is sold at usa price, sg road will turn into bangkok or jakarta ... double confirmed!!!

You all really should understand coe prices and govt released quota are 2 seperate things.

Well said Bro [:)]

Thanks, I am not trying to say our system is bad, but there is still is a lot of misinformation about taxes & benefits in other countries. I was born & breed in Singapore (& serve NS, & done so far 7 cycles, including 20 days sauna in Thailand), & brought up like any other kids that we are the best, best Airport, best harbor, best whatever, education is the best, housing is the best, & our government is the best, our CPF system is the best. Haha.

When I told everyone I will be going to Germany for permanent work, the favorite question, after " will you get Angmoh GF/wife?!", is "but isn't the tax very high".

Obviously some of the money will goes to some things like support for the unemployed, the church (which I decline to give, optional), rebuilding East Germany. But also the money goes to the elderly, retired, I think it is fair, as they did their part, & its only fair when we provided for them when they are old, in time when I retired, the younger generation will provide for me.

Also, healthcare is universal, so no worry of huge hospital bills or goes bankrupted when one of the family member is sick. In additional, if you wanted to have even more money for retirement, the company also provide a package, where you pay some sum every month (like life insurance), for sure it will not give returns like if you play stock market, but its stable & much better return than the CPF, & for simple employee that do not wanted to spend their social time thinking of investment, its a good plan.

Of course, you can choose to buy comprehensive heath insurance (but make sure everyone in your extended family have as well), life insurance, investment in Singapore. That's why its not that Singapore is not good, but when you put the amount of money together (for the various investment, insurance), & huge housing bill, you cannot 100% say it will be lower than what you will pay for as taxes in other countries, for similar returns. But of course, in Singapore you have a choice how you do with your money.

So you cannot say which is better, it depends on alot of factors & individual, & how they work their money. IMO, for a simple pleasant who is not investment savy, or can control his saving per month, he may prefer to pay a premium per month, & the administration took care of everything. He still have a relative safety net if someone happen touchwood) or worry about no money after retirement.

For someone who are good at growing money, he may prefer 'DIY' 'low tax' Singapore system, & he have more control of his money.

Edited by Kiadaw

Cannot compare expenses and say cheap, without considering real income what.

I think except for the top cream layer, everyone else's disposable income has not kept pace with price increases. I feel poorer than I was years ago, and that is not because I visit casino (haven't) or I spend much more (in fact I spend less in absolute terms now).

Poor Ferrari carrying a 250 pounder!!!! [:p]

Don't say until like that. My poor 911 carries my 300 lbs. [:/]

No, I'm not kidding. [;)]

Imported cars also got high taxes,but no COE.

And no artificial lifespan.

If factor in Singapore 10 year lifespan, it seems even more expensive than the 187K price tag would suggest.

Edited by Topspin