macrosszero Turbocharged February 5, 2012 Share February 5, 2012 Where can I buy this Yokomo? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 hahaaa.... i did learn about suspension settings thru RC cars.... a miniature copy of real / fullsize car setting chambers, toe-in-out, even the 3rd front wheels adjustment, forgot how to call it liao..... (the vertical turning-axis, adjustments for backward-incline etc), i think anti-rollbar also played But R/C & 1:1 different because they can lock rear diffs while 1:1 have LSD... & R/C car can crash & learn while you have only 1 life in 1:1 car . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 But R/C & 1:1 different because they can lock rear diffs while 1:1 have LSD... & R/C car can crash & learn while you have only 1 life in 1:1 car . OIC..... unless diy and lock the RC car's diff RC has more than 7-lives, and if crash, sometimes use of masking tapes can hold the body panels together and continue whacking Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 Get the ABS tyres better handling that PVCs. more control over it. cannot remember if its the 7200mhz or 8400mhz can give you at least of 15mins play time. need to cool down the motor also if not overheat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTR78 Neutral Newbie February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 Hi For Yokomo drift stuff, you can try http://autodriftrc.com/ The shop is very well stocked and the staff (Mr Sia & his team) is very friendly and approachable. But Yokomo stuff can be very costly, their present top of the line drift chassis (DRB) retails for close to $1K here. AUTODRIFT PTE LTD. Blk 465, Crawford Lane, #01-06, Crawford Court, Singapore 190465. Tel: 65 6299 4795, 65 6299 5695 Fax: 65 6299 4765 Cheers Where can I buy this Yokomo? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTR78 Neutral Newbie February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 Uncle KARTer, Its camber, toe and castor, then kingpin inclination angle There are other suspension stuff one can easily do on RC which are difficult if not impossible on 1:1. Ackerman, roll center, anti-dive, anti-squal. Anti-roll bars also comes in different types, have blade type as well wire (rod) type. I learnt about suspension tuning thru my RC experiments, and racecraft from the RC tracks. Speaking of RC tracks, hows your indoor track coming along? Cheers hahaaa.... i did learn about suspension settings thru RC cars.... a miniature copy of real / fullsize car setting chambers, toe-in-out, even the 3rd front wheels adjustment, forgot how to call it liao..... (the vertical turning-axis, adjustments for backward-incline etc), i think anti-rollbar also played Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 (edited) Uncle KARTer, Its camber, toe and castor, then kingpin inclination angle There are other suspension stuff one can easily do on RC which are difficult if not impossible on 1:1. Ackerman, roll center, anti-dive, anti-squal. Anti-roll bars also comes in different types, have blade type as well wire (rod) type. I learnt about suspension tuning thru my RC experiments, and racecraft from the RC tracks. Speaking of RC tracks, hows your indoor track coming along? Cheers oh yes, its the castor.... wah, so many more settings to play with!! many years ago, i diy with my bro four wheel steer using a gas 1/10 peugeot 205 world rally model. my indoor track: bought pre-cut plywood and trial-laid them on the floor (when wifey went overseas), used marker pen to mark out layout..... not yet glue sandpaper to test-simulate track's grips coz had to quickly 'hide' the plywood (all in 12 pieces of 4x8 !!) before she reached home from airport. that was before CNY, now keep thinking details like joints between plywood, how to make banking etc etc..... you know instead of sticking sand paper as track, any good rough-surface paints i can try out/ spoke to new owners of bottletree rc track (sembawang there), they may do an indoor off road track (ie rain or shine, no problem) for miniZ off road buggies (new trend in jap maybe) you still play RC? Edited February 6, 2012 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenmical Clutched February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 Hahahaha....I tot you finally switched camp at the start of your post. There is indeed on R34 selling in the market now. lol Nice one! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 Hi For Yokomo drift stuff, you can try http://autodriftrc.com/ The shop is very well stocked and the staff (Mr Sia & his team) is very friendly and approachable. But Yokomo stuff can be very costly, their present top of the line drift chassis (DRB) retails for close to $1K here. AUTODRIFT PTE LTD. Blk 465, Crawford Lane, #01-06, Crawford Court, Singapore 190465. Tel: 65 6299 4795, 65 6299 5695 Fax: 65 6299 4765 Cheers do you remember marina south previous rc shop, Ben n Audrey? where is their shop now (last location i knew - arab st, few years ago)? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTR78 Neutral Newbie February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 Yup, I used to buy some stuff from Ben & Audrey as well (HobbyBug). I hear from RCTech that Ben's new shop front is at Turfcity but I am not sure. do you remember marina south previous rc shop, Ben n Audrey? where is their shop now (last location i knew - arab st, few years ago)? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTR78 Neutral Newbie February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 I think sandpaper is a good and cheap way to "pave" the track. The best option will probably be proper skateboard deck grip tape but I have a feeling they will cost too much Joint between the plywood, maybe can use duct tape to joint? Slight traction penalty. Yah I talked to the owner of Raceworks (Bottletree Park) before, really nice chap. I am eyeing someting else MiniZ wise , MiniZ motorcycle, I drove the pre-production bike which was on loan from Toykar, nice challenge to learn to drive. http://www.kyoshoamerica.com/Mini-Z-Moto-Racer-_p_10603.html I usually play MiniZ at Atomic, I have couple of re-released Tamiya off roaders (Avante & Blitzer Beetle) which I built and decorated as "shelf queens". I have a Yokomo 1/10 drift car as well. Cheers oh yes, its the castor.... wah, so many more settings to play with!! many years ago, i diy with my bro four wheel steer using a gas 1/10 peugeot 205 world rally model. my indoor track: bought pre-cut plywood and trial-laid them on the floor (when wifey went overseas), used marker pen to mark out layout..... not yet glue sandpaper to test-simulate track's grips coz had to quickly 'hide' the plywood (all in 12 pieces of 4x8 !!) before she reached home from airport. that was before CNY, now keep thinking details like joints between plywood, how to make banking etc etc..... you know instead of sticking sand paper as track, any good rough-surface paints i can try out/ spoke to new owners of bottletree rc track (sembawang there), they may do an indoor off road track (ie rain or shine, no problem) for miniZ off road buggies (new trend in jap maybe) you still play RC? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic February 6, 2012 Author Share February 6, 2012 (edited) Very easy one la. Nowadays got PVC tires for practice??? What brand u buy? RTR version? Is a Yokomo but not the big one. Bought when in Japan. Not really going into the hobby la, just buy play play only. Also got Ken Nomura to sign my car and my box. But now the batt. charger like faulty, cannot charge up the batt. need to find another charger. might head to the local Yokomo shop to find one day. Edited February 6, 2012 by Mockngbrd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTR78 Neutral Newbie February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 Bro, Just a friendly advise, usually its the batteries that go off first rather than the charger. The chemistry of rechargeable batteries (especially Ni MH) is such that they will loss their capacity over time, this is normal. You can take it down to the shop here to check, Autodrift can be a good start to troubleshoot, bring your gear down to the shop. Sound like you will need to spend on a battery or worse case a battery and a charger. Yokomo Ichiroku-M use an unusual battery for a RC car since it is 1/16 scale. Most RC batteries on the market are for 1/10 cars. Cheers Is a Yokomo but not the big one. Bought when in Japan. Not really going into the hobby la, just buy play play only. Also got Ken Nomura to sign my car and my box. But now the batt. charger like faulty, cannot charge up the batt. need to find another charger. might head to the local Yokomo shop to find one day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sham0192 Neutral Newbie February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 This are my 2 rc drift 1/10 with TA-05 chasis..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 i also got one cheapo cheena one... cos my partner couldn't figure out forward/parallel/reverse parking despite going thru a few driving lessons! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTR78 Neutral Newbie February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 Hey nice track you got there, convinently located outside your apartment I guess? Here's some other RC drift videos and pictures from the SGDrifters. http://sgdrifters.blogspot.com/ Cheers This are my 2 rc drift 1/10 with TA-05 chasis..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 Hey nice track you got there, convinently located outside your apartment I guess? Here's some other RC drift videos and pictures from the SGDrifters. http://sgdrifters.blogspot.com/ Cheers I would not comment on the judging system . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTR78 Neutral Newbie February 6, 2012 Share February 6, 2012 HAHAHA I can read between the lines Anyways, I dun drift RC competitively, feel out of place bullying poly boys nearly half my age[laugh] I used to be a hardcore RC racer (1/10 electric touring) 12 years ago. I stopped racing because it felt stupid getting worked up over toy cars and turned my attention closer to 1:1 motorsports. I still have fun fooling around with toy cars thats why I continue to build them and drive them Cheers I would not comment on the judging system . ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...