Category Current COE Price ($) Quota Bids Received

A CAR (1600CC & BELOW) & TAXI 52,809 619 1,058

B CAR (ABOVE 1600CC) 73,890 350 635

C GOODS VEHICLE & BUS 49,801 162 307

D MOTORCYCLE 1,802 412 512

E OPEN 73,801 312 425

Source: Land Transport Authority

End liao up up up...

wah, if your prediction is correct, then jialat for me liao. I booked the car at $65,000 coe. last bidding $67,000 already unsuccessful.

Did you get through yours? By the way which car did you book?

since June last year, the Cat A COE has been mostly above $50K or juz a little below that....is 50K the new bar? hmm..... <_<

we have to accept that a normal 1.6L car will be around $100k region n a normal 2L car will be around $140k and above

COE will not be low at least for the next 2 years :)

[drivingcar]

Another $90 million for the govt!!

Huat Ah

And just a thought for you...

Pretend you are buying a brand new 2.4 litre car with an OMVof $29,000

Your tax load over a 10 year lifespan is $121,300

Huat Ah

300%?

[dead]

Edited by Mllcg

Huat Ah

You got the idea right, man. Even tho sg income tax rate appears low, if u own a car, u r effectively taxed more thru the car ownership....so the actual income tax rate is easily 10% or more.

The car alone is 12% if you are earning $100k

Then you have GST

Petrol for the car is taxed at over 50%

HUAT AH!!

No wonder the SG gubermint so bery bery lich

Income tax is compulsory, buying a car is not. If you choose to pay 10% tax, don't blame the gahmen. Also, someone who earns $500k taxable income will pay less tax on the car in terms of percentage of salary if he buys the same car as someone who earns $100k taxable income.

The car alone is 12% if you are earning $100k

Then you have GST

Petrol for the car is taxed at over 50%

HUAT AH!!

No wonder the SG gubermint so bery bery lich

how did u arrive at 12%?

[drivingcar]