Drive until Fuel Gauge at E

Phluvcat

I have this habit of topping up only after the gauge reach E, stretching the frequency of going to kiosk.

Is this a desirable thing to do? Heard that it might adversely affect the fuel pump.

Anyone here does this since day one of owning the car and face no problem or the other way round?

Need advise.

Regards.

As long u know when is the last drop it should be fine..usually for my case is 80km the max after the indicator light up..different car have different reading..

I have this habit of topping up only after the gauge reach E, stretching the frequency of going to kiosk.

Is this a desirable thing to do? Heard that it might adversely affect the fuel pump.

Anyone here does this since day one of owning the car and face no problem or the other way round?

Need advise.

Regards.

once my car stalled on me cos i forgot when it ate "lunch" ..

:ph34r: ever since that day, the car was never the same.. my 1st COE car..

fren advice is to refuel not near E.. bad for the fuel pump.. will overheat..

But for my newer car now, i also drive till E then refuel..

I guess old habits die hard..

As long u know when is the last drop it should be fine..usually for my case is 80km the max after the indicator light up..different car have different reading..

my car no gauge light but I know the range I can go before top up, just having the thought if this is consistently practiced, it may corrode the fuel pump (this is what I hear lah).

Urs is a digital bar type ?

Ever since I had my car stalled on the road, I've never tried to drive until E.

Prior to that, I ever tried blinking indicator (digital meter on Vios) and could still drive all the way from Changi Airport back to Jurong West petrol kiosk. That's about 40km.

Maybe car old liao, FC increased so my estimation failed and I got stuck in the middle of a journey.

Lesson learned, I won't drive until E anymore. :D

I also wait till the gauge reach E then refill petrol. Usually its when the warning light comes out blinking than I go for refill.

Will it damage the fuel pump? I also don't know leh....

Need advise.

Regards.

So lucky, twice I was just across the road when the car stalled. Continue as electric hybrid U-turned into petrol station to top up. [laugh] No more such practice. [:p]

Once I Canada, went up the mountains near E.

Parked on slope facing uphill...

Hours later, came back, car cannot start... Realised that fuel not enough.... Cannot push, because of snow (& not even manpower)....

Pour diesel into the car.... Car started.... Went to workshop to flush out the diesel mix, cost me USD 300 for a 30 mins job....

Edited by Vhtfhwlego

never heard it will corrode the fuel pump but heard no good for totally empty as air bubble will enter the pipe and pump. also, for some car, heard the ECU might go hey-wire and need a reset

Need advise.

Regards.

I ever drive until the Fuel tank empty and the car jerked and stopped.

The best thing is it stopped at the Seafood Restaurant that I'm supposed to meet my friends for Dinner.

We went to the nearby Petrol station and bought a Funnel and a Container and filled my tank with some petrol...

I am not sure if pump would get affected as after the light comes up (at least a single or two bars of petrol inside at this point), it should have about 5-8 litres depending upon the car model and also I suppose the pump is below the tank having enough to flood the lines.

I have always filled up after the light flashes in all my cars except when ESSO announces the draw for 1 year free petrol on every 40$. I never won that also. I have always filled up within 10-15 kms after the light appears.

I ever drive until the Fuel tank empty and the car jerked and stopped.

The best thing is it stopped at the Seafood Restaurant that I'm supposed to meet my friends for Dinner.

We went to the nearby Petrol station and bought a Funnel and a Container and filled my tank with some petrol...

You bery lucky, I hardly got chance to reach E not even half tank cos need 3/4 tank to enter Malaysia daily.haha [grin]

Normally when the warning light first lit, it can still go for as far as 50-80 km. This is what I did often. Unless you have the habit to reset every time you full your tank.