Causeway Tolls could be raised up to 5 times!

Darthrevan

If they wanna increase, pls increase both side. If not all sporean chiong second link for cheap petrol, groceries, food, car wash etc, jam up the whole place and will affect other road users

Like our 2 Casino effective rule & regulation, both Singapore & Malaysia Governments should implementing pay S$100 dollar for a single entry into either country will be the best option.

I had vow not to enter Singapore casino well ahead before it opens because if I'm not welcome, why should I go [confused]

People will get used to the price increase and move on.

singaporean/PR who bought a house or have a family there will behave what you mention.(kpkb but still go in and out)

singaporean/PR who go JB for holiday or shopping will think twice and reduce the trip by 70%-80%

malaysians who hate singaporeans who go there for expense and spolit the market rate will be happy.

malaysian who open shop and chop for singaporean will be worry.

goverment who tax alot on JB industries will be worry.

JB police who take kopi money will be worry and figure out another to take from local.

my prediction that they will increase bit by bit to see the response but not 5 times at 1 try.

I would say to increase the toll x5 during peak hours... look at the no. of malaysian cars on our congested road now... we are paying higher COE due to congestion but there are more malaysian cars contributing to the congestion which do not do us justice... [bounce2][bounce2][bounce2]

Justice for our 2 world class Casinos endorsed by LKY, transport minister is now laughing for a good piece of excuse to revise ERP again if you dare to complain [dead]

indeed..there used to be less truly asian cars in sg before the casinos were completed

We're driving out to sg. every morning in rains or shine, wife asked me, how comes with S$20 per entry fee and yet MY/Cars are still coming in like swams of bees, I explained in half dead voice........Darling do you know they put HUNDREDS & THOUSANDS onto the Casino table without blinking their eyes ?

very simple......no need to talk so much here and there......MY side increase SING also increase same amt......enough liao.

is there any website we can air our views to the MY govt on their stupidity and let them "hear" our opinion???????

Edited by Kungfu

with the new opening of the direct link highway to Iskandar Custom, the hike in toll likely to be the cost that put to the road user.

also, hear that the highway will be link directly to way in Tebrau area before you can make a u-turn back to City Sq area, and the toll fee could be like RM9.

If this is true, it will really put a burden to those who travel daily to Sg to work...

and to pump in Msia will be not that economical too...

If Malaysia increases toll charges for motorists using the Causeway, Singapore is likely to follow suit.

This is due to a longstanding policy of matching whatever rates Malaysia sets, said the Land Transport Authority (LTA).

I wonder if the policy would work the other way round... If Singapore increase toll charges then Malaysia will also match the rates due to the longstanding policy. If this is done, Sg gov can by itself deter a lot of motorist who shops and spends in Malaysia thereby improving its own economy.

very simple......no need to talk so much here and there......MY side increase SING also increase same amt......enough liao.

is there any website we can air our views to the MY govt on their stupidity and let them "hear" our opinion???????

wat for? better to see them making an arse of themselves as before, very entertaining.

with the new opening of the direct link highway to Iskandar Custom, the hike in toll likely to be the cost that put to the road user.

also, hear that the highway will be link directly to way in Tebrau area before you can make a u-turn back to City Sq area, and the toll fee could be like RM9.

If this is true, it will really put a burden to those who travel daily to Sg to work...

and to pump in Msia will be not that economical too...

During that time most petrol stations pah bhang.

Well private transport is going to become a real luxury good at the rate we are going. It can't be helped, Singapore is rich and COE has to be allocated by auctions, not via luckydraws. I should still be able to afford to drive but not sure about it in 10-20 years. 15% growth and the middle class cannot afford to own a car, that would be a very sad day.

I will probably get used to it but I must also acknowledge that my quality of life and some part of my family life will deteriorate, well, just have to work even harder to stay in the game. It is the only game in town.

Back to topic, toll should be high enough to deter petrol day trippers and nothing more, otherwise only govts on both sides get rich (or is it the well connected guy at other side?).

its sad.... money talks and thats the hard truth.

They treats us as ATM, knowing we are trapped in a little red spot and will willing to pay a price to break out of our constraints. darn it.

just like COE, after a while all get used to it.

even if per trip RM10, ppl will definitely still go in for cheap seafood and pampers. just 1 round of good seafood can recoup back rm10 easily.. no big deal seriously

Edited by Tom_kkh