Rncw 5th Gear February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 recently i passed through an ERP with insufficient funds, they can detect your cash card and remaining balance. appealed and only need to pay 2.50 coz its really an HONEST mistake....this guy i think not so honest.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear February 28, 2012 Author Share February 28, 2012 there was once I went in to inspect IU as cannot read..then in the process they found out that there was one incident of no card detected a few months back.. that lady also puzzled why I never received anything. In the end waived it due IU spoil. Also kena before and went to the inspection centre to check my IU. Turned out that my old trusty cash card had warped and thus the system could not read the value inside. So the tech there gave me a slip to be sent to LTA to waive off the admin fee & asked me go change my cash card to a new one with the sun logo. Ended up knowing something extra as well: our IU has a warranty of 5 years and after that if it malfunctioned the car owner has to get it repaired or replaced at their own cost. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yardo Clutched February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 He shld hv jus appeal it to LTA instead of blowing it up... unless LTA bochap him, which is unlikely...they r usually quite a friendly bunch of ppl...the security guards at the gate was very nice n good memory with faces too... Hai lor, recently I just wrote in to LTA and claimed that my cashcard was faulty and they agreed to waive the imposed penalty of $10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyhawk 1st Gear February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 I have also been whacked with this. NO CARD - $70 No funds - $11 (or whatever) wife once forgot to insert cash card. fine was only 10$. but this was maybe 2 years ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 cannot be la just recently only. went to this hotel for function, got complimentary parking so act smart, take out Cashcard, just by a bit, so that it wouldn't get deducted at the hotel exit gantry. inserted hotel complimentary Forget to re-insert back cashcard into IU, then turn out hotel, immediately ERP BEEEEEEEP. nabeh. penny wise.. really. and its less than 2 mths ago AXS payment reciept still in my wallet la. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ooosh 1st Gear February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 This chap must have forgotten to make payment and the second letter came to be a fine of 70. Happened to me once. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 I have also been whacked with this. NO CARD - $70 No funds - $11 (or whatever) i kena without cash card, also $10 penalty no card and no cash is the same thing wat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asd78 Clutched February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 I have kena a few times when my card was loose and can't be detected. Never paid any penalty before except for the erp payment. Just write in to tell them that card is in there but iu unit was faulty and offer to pay the erp amt due to them and they will just ask you to pay the amt owed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 I have also been whacked with this. NO CARD - $70 No funds - $11 (or whatever) when is that? I kana twice during November last year. also S$10 per time. both time went for servicing and forgot to insert the card (card in my pocket) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JackRabbit 3rd Gear February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 I have also been whacked with this. NO CARD - $70 No funds - $11 (or whatever) no leh... usually I leave my cash card inside the IU. But recently took out to top up the card, and forgot to reinsert back into the IU. I went thru ERP gantries on 2 different days.. and only realised I had forgotten to insert the card after hearing the beeps. But the bill from LTA only $10 + the missing ERP fee for each occasion. Perhaps this guy failed to pay the initial fine and it compounded to $70? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 compound S$70. that what im thinking too. 1st letter either didnt recieve or didnt pay. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nf0rc3r 1st Gear February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 I had forgotten to insert card before and the fine was only $10.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 I have also been whacked with this. NO CARD - $70 No funds - $11 (or whatever) not true....couple of occasions whereby i forgot to put in the cashcard, the fine was only 10 bucks or so Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 Guess it's faulty IU unit or no IU. In this instance, LTA will send invitation for your vehicle to go for "checkup". Choose to ignore it means "plead guilty" and pay up compound fine of $70. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 Also kena before and went to the inspection centre to check my IU. Turned out that my old trusty cash card had warped and thus the system could not read the value inside. So the tech there gave me a slip to be sent to LTA to waive off the admin fee & asked me go change my cash card to a new one with the sun logo. Ended up knowing something extra as well: our IU has a warranty of 5 years and after that if it malfunctioned the car owner has to get it repaired or replaced at their own cost. yup..so better spoil it before reaching 5 years Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 not true....couple of occasions whereby i forgot to put in the cashcard, the fine was only 10 bucks or so True - if not true then how come I got $70 love letter for no card? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 Hmmm...According to LTA website...funny funny - I might have to go ask for my money back, I confirmed got $70 fine - and not because of late payment either.... Motorists who pass through an operational ERP gantry without a properly-inserted CashCard in the IU, or one with insufficient monetary value in the CashCard to pay the ERP charges, will receive a letter within a few days of the violation requesting them to pay the outstanding ERP charge plus an administrative fee of $10, within two weeks from the date of the letter. The administrative fee is reduced to $8 if payment is made electronically via the following channels: LTA's One.Motoring website AXS stations Self-service Automated Machines (SAMs) at post offices vPost Automated teller machines Telephone and internet banking services If you are a SingTel mobile phone subscriber, you may wish to know that SingTel has a service called Easi-ERP which enables you to pay your outstanding ERP charges via your mobile phone bill at a reduced administrative fee of $4 per transaction (in addition to the outstanding ERP charges). Please note that this applies only for violations occurring after you have subscribed to the service. To use the service, please dial *377 and follow the instructions that will be sent back to you via SMS. A one-time $1 subscription fee is levied by SingTel. Alternatively, payment for ERP violations can be made at Post Offices islandwide. Please bring the payment letter along when doing so. You may also come by the LTA office at 10 Sin Ming Drive, Singapore 575701 or mail us a cheque at Singapore Post Centre Post Office, P.O. Box 491, Singapore 914017 quoting the vehicle number and notice number on the reverse of the cheque. Click here to view frequently-asked questions on ERP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JackRabbit 3rd Gear February 28, 2012 Share February 28, 2012 Hmmm...According to LTA website...funny funny - I might have to go ask for my money back, I confirmed got $70 fine - and not because of late payment either.... Yep.. go tell them "Tuck Yew, understand! Gimme back my money!" ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...