Ad23 Neutral Newbie March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 The CB Road Hogger I met last night in KPE at around 9pm: SGL67*L. Black Vios. Road hog 1st lane. When I signalled left cos I wanted to exit, he sped up thinking I wanted to overtake him. Dumb @rse. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 I do not find you funny, just strange [laugh] Bro, why leh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datura 2nd Gear March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 people pls be more forgiving, there are others who are less skillfull or inexperience while driving, we are yound and inexperience once before,pls be tolerant and no need to curse people. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 add one more...CB OPC road hogger l waiting to meet u in lane one to hog your maserati.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 You don't overtake from the left. Overtaking is done on the right. O'take on right, left is for UndertaKing! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stiener 1st Gear March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 No there are quite a number of cars behind me which all being held up by this selfish bitch. Some have suggested overtaking from the left, first of all Overtaking should be done on the right not LEFT! it's dangerous to overtake from the left too. And if we were to overtake from the left of all this selfish idiots, they will never learnt! They will always think: "oh i am travelling at Speed limit so i am right! Overtake from the left like everyone did to me lor!" We just have to honk or high beam them to "Educate" them that this is NOT right! Driving school don teach you these s h i t. No, you should not overtake from the left as many have pointed out for safety reasons and the code drivers observe. But were you in an emergency or overtaking another vehicle? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stiener 1st Gear March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 Seriously, what are u talking ????? If the altis is not hogging .... there is no need to overtake .... please get your logic in the right sequence. I am sorry that I didn't phrase it well enough that you can get my statement. My statement most certainly did not imply that the altis is not road hogging. Overtaking means you move to the next lane and pass the vehicle previously in front of you and move back into the same lane again with that vehicle now behind you. Hope that this is the correct sequence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear March 1, 2012 Author Share March 1, 2012 No, you should not overtake from the left as many have pointed out for safety reasons and the code drivers observe. But were you in an emergency or overtaking another vehicle? i don quite understand you leh. Does it means if i am not in an emergency means she is not road hogging? All i know is she is on the right most lane with many cars behind her and no car with 1km range in front of her. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stiener 1st Gear March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 I'm not trying to pour oil over the flame about this debate. My understanding about this is very simple. Regardless of speed, one should not be in lane 1 unless it's an emergency or overtaking another vehicle. If all cars are already at speed limit, there is no reason to overtake. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stiener 1st Gear March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 i don quite understand you leh. Does it means if i am not in an emergency means she is not road hogging? All i know is she is on the right most lane with many cars behind her and no car with 1km range in front of her. I think my previous statement is quite clear. She is both hogging the road and should not be in lane 1. Whether she was there or not, no cars are supposed to be in lane 1 unless overtaking or in an emergency. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogueGTR Neutral Newbie March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 . If all cars are already at speed limit, there is no reason to overtake. Bro, statement like above is Contemptable, it's exactly mentality like u'rs hence countless road hoggers Choke the life out of innumerable roads. How fast others wanna drive is their problem & strictly between the 'speeding' driver & the men in blue. Therefore if u observe carefully when driving, it's those Douche / Biatch Hoggers who cause some serious accidents as they force others to tailgate or overtake fm left when leaving a huge gap or simply taking a 'Sunday' drive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stiener 1st Gear March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 Bro, statement like above is Contemptable, it's exactly mentality like u'rs hence countless road hoggers Choke the life out of innumerable roads. How fast others wanna drive is their problem & strictly between the 'speeding' driver & the men in blue. Therefore if u observe carefully when driving, it's those Douche / Biatch Hoggers who cause some serious accidents as they force others to tailgate or overtake fm left when leaving a huge gap or simply taking a 'Sunday' drive I see that you have generalized. I have that mentality but I don't road hog. I rarely go into lane 1. Mostly only lane 3. Honestly...I don't see any exclusiveness in speeding and therefore I can drive in lane 1 since it is between me and the enforcement officer. I have not take sides cos to me...both sides are wrong. It is wrong to road hog or speed or driving in lane 1 when not in an emergency or overtaking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 I think my previous statement is quite clear. She is both hogging the road and should not be in lane 1. Whether she was there or not, no cars are supposed to be in lane 1 unless overtaking or in an emergency. I think you watch too much cartoons .... where all the cars will travel at a constant speed. Cars will even stop to let you filter in the cartoons .... Everyone driving at the speed limit .... possible meh ? how to filter if all travelling at the same speed ? So buses, heavy vehicles are all travelling at the speed limit ? Most expressway are 3 lanes ... lane 3 for slow vehicles, lane 2 for cars and lane 1 for overtaking and emergency... workable ???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 [laugh] Bro, why leh? The fourth paragraph like confessing your car not in order (unable to slow down). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stiener 1st Gear March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 (edited) I think you watch too much cartoons .... where all the cars will travel at a constant speed. Cars will even stop to let you filter in the cartoons .... Everyone driving at the speed limit .... possible meh ? how to filter if all travelling at the same speed ? So buses, heavy vehicles are all travelling at the speed limit ? Most expressway are 3 lanes ... lane 3 for slow vehicles, lane 2 for cars and lane 1 for overtaking and emergency... workable ???? I think you are referring to my post #99. my apologies for failing to elaborate on my point. If all cars are travelling at or below speed limit in lane 2, why is there a need to overtake any vehicles unless there is a need to(I.e. The car in lane 2 is a road hogger driving below speed limit. Yes...having all cars driving at speed limit is ideal and difficult to achieve especially in heavy traffic conditions. Since it is difficult to over take, no one should change to lane 1 cos others will likely follow suit. My points are made citing from final theory handbook 8th edition pt. 215 to 218. Edited March 1, 2012 by Stiener Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Budacco Neutral Newbie March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 yes.. muz follow the law and the rules in basic theory! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 I think you are referring to my post #99. my apologies for failing to elaborate on my point. If all cars are travelling at or below speed limit in lane 2, why is there a need to overtake any vehicles unless there is a need to(I.e. The car in lane 2 is a road hogger driving below speed limit. Yes...having all cars driving at speed limit is ideal and difficult to achieve especially in heavy traffic conditions. Since it is difficult to over take, no one should change to lane 1 cos others will likely follow suit. My points are made citing from final theory handbook 8th edition pt. 215 to 218. 1) It is not practical to leave lane 1 completely empty. Otherwise there can be more unnecessary traffic than there already is because lane 1 enabled many to overtake slower vehicles and free up the roads by arriving their destinations earlier. Going by your statement pertaining to difficulty in overtaking, such situation would not have arisen if the traffic is light or moderate while cars in lane 1 make way for cars intending to overtake them and return to lane 2 to proceed with their journey. As regards whether others will follow suit, your deduction is too presumptuous. Needless to say, if it is difficult to overtake, say - because of heavy traffic, it is only common sense that most sensible drivers will not do so unnecessarily. 2) Let's not read out the riot act in the highway code book because even TP exercises discretion when flagging down traffic offenders. Hence, we should not be too academic when it comes to driving. Common sense should prevail. Every drivers should practice road courtesy, safe and defensive driving and be a friendly road user so that accident rate can at least be reduced through good driving attitude. Have a nice day! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stiener 1st Gear March 2, 2012 Share March 2, 2012 1) It is not practical to leave lane 1 completely empty. Otherwise there can be more unnecessary traffic than there already is because lane 1 enabled many to overtake slower vehicles and free up the roads by arriving their destinations earlier. Going by your statement pertaining to difficulty in overtaking, such situation would not have arisen if the traffic is light or moderate while cars in lane 1 make way for cars intending to overtake them and return to lane 2 to proceed with their journey. As regards whether others will follow suit, your deduction is too presumptuous. Needless to say, if it is difficult to overtake, say - because of heavy traffic, it is only common sense that most sensible drivers will not do so unnecessarily. 2) Let's not read out the riot act in the highway code book because even TP exercises discretion when flagging down traffic offenders. Hence, we should not be too academic when it comes to driving. Common sense should prevail. Every drivers should practice road courtesy, safe and defensive driving and be a friendly road user so that accident rate can at least be reduced through good driving attitude. Have a nice day! 1) I can see now why lane 1 on PIE is usually jammed and the traffic speed is not significantly faster than other lanes. And also to see the ambulance (in the event of an accident) slowly inching forward as the cars in lane one are trying so hard to squeeze into lane 2 to make way. How can there be empty when I have stated that lane one is meant for overtaking. Can I take your response as: "it is impractical not to allow cars to drive along lane 1 as it potentially brings me to my destination faster and therefore easing the traffic condition if many others does so too since if only 1 out of many others who does so does not significantly reduce the traffic travelling on the expressway. 2) To exercise discretion is subjective to each enforcer. And because it is subjective, some enforcement officer experience verbal abuse or challenge from a handful of traffic offenders as why he/she was the only one booked when many others are doing so too. Why do we need to have rules if they are meant to be broken. Do we do selective reading and application during our driving lessons and test? What is the percentage of traffic accidents on the road attributed to incompliance of drivers to the theory? Is speeding safe and does not result in any road accidents? Why not practice safe driving and be patient, and as such not to have any exclusions to the code as it is impractical to follow? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...