CB Road hoggers

Hoppie24

1) I can see now why lane 1 on PIE is usually jammed and the traffic speed is not significantly faster than other lanes. And also to see the ambulance (in the event of an accident) slowly inching forward as the cars in lane one are trying so hard to squeeze into lane 2 to make way.

I was referring to morning and evening rush and during accidents.

The fourth paragraph like confessing your car not in order (unable to slow down). [confused]

You meant this paragraph?

"The bugger pedal to the metal also, by then I was already speeding up and there was a BMW behind me wanting to perform the same maneuver as me (because there was a long stretch of road for us to perform undertake safely), so I cannot slow down. The louder my engine, the more the bugger step on his accelerator. By then, I already reaching KPE exit, so I abandoned action and went for plan B to exit to KPE, the BMW pulled up alongside me and gave me a puzzled look, I can only shake my head and as I look forward, that ricer boy was cutting into all the lanes forcing all the drivers to jam brakes, maybe because he thought I was chasing him?"

==

Maybe u misunderstood me, I was trying to undertake the driver cos he was at constant speed and I don't want to waste time tailgate him, so I decided to undertake him since there was enough space on the left lane and in front of him for me to do so. Upon seeing me doing the undertaking, he sped up, but because I already speeding up and there was another vehicle behind me doing the same, it would not be wise for me to slow down quickly. Like that the vehicle behind would have to zam brake.

In the end, I changed to 3rd lane to exit to KPE and slow down (thus my vehicle not spoilt :D ).

I agree that the altis should not remain in lane 1 even if she is traveling at speed limit. But my question too. Were you overtaking another vehicle or have an emergency to attend to?

Steiner has mentioned that the ALTIS should not remain in lane 1 at the speed limit .... the ALTIS is hogging period .... there have been numerous debate on whether travelling at speed limit is hogging and there is no need to go through this discussion again ...

my logis is based on Steiner's posting ... and it is not based on my logic.

i think he is asking it as a seperate question......

i feel it funny also that TS is too agitated...

1) I can see now why lane 1 on PIE is usually jammed and the traffic speed is not significantly faster than other lanes. And also to see the ambulance (in the event of an accident) slowly inching forward as the cars in lane one are trying so hard to squeeze into lane 2 to make way.

How can there be empty when I have stated that lane one is meant for overtaking. Can I take your response as: "it is impractical not to allow cars to drive along lane 1 as it potentially brings me to my destination faster and therefore easing the traffic condition if many others does so too since if only 1 out of many others who does so does not significantly reduce the traffic travelling on the expressway.

2) To exercise discretion is subjective to each enforcer. And because it is subjective, some enforcement officer experience verbal abuse or challenge from a handful of traffic offenders as why he/she was the only one booked when many others are doing so too.

Why do we need to have rules if they are meant to be broken. Do we do selective reading and application during our driving lessons and test? What is the percentage of traffic accidents on the road attributed to incompliance of drivers to the theory? Is speeding safe and does not result in any road accidents? Why not practice safe driving and be patient, and as such not to have any exclusions to the code as it is impractical to follow?

1) How can other lanes be faster than lane 1 if drivers use lane 1 to overtake and return to lane 2 after overtaking? Will every driver on lane 2 or 3 go at the maximum allowable speed at all times??? Unfortunately, some drivers think that going at the maximum speed along lane 1 is OK which is obviously not when there are faster vehicles behind.

By making the statement ""it is impractical not to allow cars to drive along lane 1..", are you saying that lane 1 should never be occupied at all times regardless traffic conditions? Is it practical and realistic?

2) Is there any part of my comment which indicated that I advocate speeding??? While I DO NOT advocate speeding, I DO NOT appreciate ROAD HOGGERS!

Following Hi-Way code to the T reminds me of RS if you know whom I'm referring to. Hence, my signature.

Edited by Neutralsg

"The bugger pedal to the metal also, by then I was already speeding up and there was a BMW behind me wanting to perform the same maneuver as me (because there was a long stretch of road for us to perform undertake safely), so I cannot slow down. The louder my engine, the more the bugger step on his accelerator. By then, I already reaching KPE exit, so I abandoned action and went for plan B to exit to KPE, the BMW pulled up alongside me and gave me a puzzled look, I can only shake my head and as I look forward, that ricer boy was cutting into all the lanes forcing all the drivers to jam brakes, maybe because he thought I was chasing him?"

==

Maybe u misunderstood me, I was trying to undertake the driver cos he was at constant speed and I don't want to waste time tailgate him, so I decided to undertake him since there was enough space on the left lane and in front of him for me to do so. Upon seeing me doing the undertaking, he sped up, but because I already speeding up and there was another vehicle behind me doing the same, it would not be wise for me to slow down quickly. Like that the vehicle behind would have to zam brake.

In the end, I changed to 3rd lane to exit to KPE and slow down (thus my vehicle not spoilt :D ).

[confused] I am puzzled why you bother to speed. Can overtake or not should be secondary to road safety (I assume your speeding mean above speed limit). Do not panic. Do not worry. BMW usually got good brakes. you slow down, BMW also can slow down (no mention of the BMW driver). If I were that BMW driver, I also had puzzled look at that point in time. [confused]

Alamak, you really confused. The guy was hogging the overtaking lane leh, so rather than waste time tailgate him, I just overtake him from the left. I did not have to speed if he did not intentionally sped up to prevent me from going in front of him.

I know conti cars got good brakes. My car also have. But I cannot assume the rest of the cars behind have brakes which are just as good. Bro, you confuse me too. [laugh]

1) How can other lanes be faster than lane 1 if drivers use lane 1 to overtake and return to lane 2 after overtaking? Will every driver on lane 2 or 3 go at the maximum allowable speed at all times??? Unfortunately, some drivers think that going at the maximum speed along lane 1 is OK which is obviously not when there are faster vehicles behind.

By making the statement ""it is impractical not to allow cars to drive along lane 1..", are you saying that lane 1 should never be occupied at all times regardless traffic conditions? Is it practical and realistic?

2) Is there any part of my comment which indicated that I advocate speeding??? While I DO NOT advocate speeding, I DO NOT appreciate ROAD HOGGERS!

Following Hi-Way code to the T reminds me of RS if you know whom I'm referring to. Hence, my signature.

I don't wish to debate further as this is going endless. You can bet that I will not be road hogging since I following the code closely. Henceforth, I will not be in lane 1 unless overtaking and hopefully no need to use it in the event of an emergency.

I do not appreciate speeding and road hogging.

Orh. [laugh] Still a toyota i see. [wave]

But buying a Lexus and Toyota is a big world of price difference. Most people can afford a Toyota but not everyone can afford a Lexus. [:)][laugh]

I see that you have generalized. I have that mentality but I don't road hog. I rarely go into lane 1. Mostly only lane 3.

Honestly...I don't see any exclusiveness in speeding and therefore I can drive in lane 1 since it is between me and the enforcement officer.

I have not take sides cos to me...both sides are wrong. It is wrong to road hog or speed or driving in lane 1 when not in an emergency or overtaking.

That is why you should not be in lane 1 if you want to travel at the speed limit. Cuz it is not wrong for the drivers to want to overtake you. As you mention it is wrong to drive in lane 1 unless overtaking. So if you drive in lane 1 while someone is trying to overtake you means you are wrong and the person behind you is right.

I'm not trying to pour oil over the flame about this debate.

My understanding about this is very simple. Regardless of speed, one should not be in lane 1 unless it's an emergency or overtaking another vehicle. If all cars are already at speed limit, there is no reason to overtake.

Yep. you are right. That is why you have to stick to lane 2 or 3 if you want to travel at the speed limit. If not how is anyone going to be able to overtake you? How do you determine if the car behind you is having an emergency?

Bro, statement like above is Contemptable, it's exactly mentality like u'rs hence countless road hoggers

Choke the life out of innumerable roads.

How fast others wanna drive is their problem & strictly between the 'speeding' driver & the men in blue. Therefore if u observe carefully when driving, it's those Douche / Biatch Hoggers who cause some serious accidents as they force others to tailgate or overtake fm left when leaving a huge gap or simply taking a 'Sunday' drive

I believe tail-gating is illegal voluntary disorderly driving. How can it be forced? [laugh]

I think you watch too much cartoons .... where all the cars will travel at a constant speed. Cars will even stop to let you filter in the cartoons ....

Everyone driving at the speed limit .... possible meh ? how to filter if all travelling at the same speed ? So buses, heavy vehicles are all travelling at the speed limit ? Most expressway are 3 lanes ... lane 3 for slow vehicles, lane 2 for cars and lane 1 for overtaking and emergency... workable ????

I believe we all appreciate if you could forward your solutions to the Authority

I think you are referring to my post #99. my apologies for failing to elaborate on my point. If all cars are travelling at or below speed limit in lane 2, why is there a need to overtake any vehicles unless there is a need to(I.e. The car in lane 2 is a road hogger driving below speed limit. Yes...having all cars driving at speed limit is ideal and difficult to achieve especially in heavy traffic conditions. Since it is difficult to over take, no one should change to lane 1 cos others will likely follow suit.

My points are made citing from final theory handbook 8th edition pt. 215 to 218.

I like the way you put it. Some people who make comments here are kids. They are not adults or drivers. [laugh]

How can there be empty when I have stated that lane one is meant for overtaking. Can I take your response as: "it is impractical not to allow cars to drive along lane 1 as it potentially brings me to my destination faster and therefore easing the traffic condition if many others does so too since if only 1 out of many others who does so does not significantly reduce the traffic travelling on the expressway.

2) To exercise discretion is subjective to each enforcer. And because it is subjective, some enforcement officer experience verbal abuse or challenge from a handful of traffic offenders as why he/she was the only one booked when many others are doing so too.

Why do we need to have rules if they are meant to be broken. Do we do selective reading and application during our driving lessons and test? What is the percentage of traffic accidents on the road attributed to incompliance of drivers to the theory? Is speeding safe and does not result in any road accidents? Why not practice safe driving and be patient, and as such not to have any exclusions to the code as it is impractical to follow?

I believe he is confessing lack of appreciation that the Highway Code is for road safety.

==

I meant if the driver in Lane 1 decided to race with you. You are not obliged to race with him. He could be on his way for an appointment at the IMH

So sorry, you seems to be confused about driving with the Highway Code.

Example: driving along a 3-lanes road, the speed limit is 70km/H.

If a car is travelling along Lane 2 at 70km/H. It is in acordance to the Highway Code.

If the car is travelling below below 70km/H along Lane 2, and others are overtaking and undertaking it, using Lane 1 at 70km/H and Lane 3. It can be considered to be road hogging along Lane 2.

Lane 3 is meant for those travelling below 70km/H (mostly below 50km/H). Those vehicles that used Lane 1 to overtook the below 70km/H car travelling in Lane 2, are not road hogging. However, if they continue travelling along Lane 1 after overtaking, then they are road-hogging (this is where RS intepreted wrongly).