Today is Saturday and I'm working

Mightymito

Today is Saturday and I'm working.

Well I am from construction and Ive to do this every blessed saturday. Full day on top on that. Who else and what industry?. let us spread the news and spare the young. [bigcry]

when i first started working...i have to slog 7 days a week, sat and sun sometimes even public holidays. wake up at 7 plus, rush to work finish at 11 plus pm....emails from crazy freaking boss cont all the way to 2 or 3am....

absolutely freaking no life....and the firm has the audacity to talk abt work life balance. the only people who enjoy work life balance are the partners.

It's a pleasant surprise to see your reply... appreciated that.

You certainly have great sense of responsibility towards your family.

With the irregular & long hours on the job, do keep a close watch on your health. Is switching to a 'regular-hours' job, under consideration?.

It's a pleasant surprise to see your reply... appreciated that.

You certainly have great sense of responsibility towards your family.

With the irregular & long hours on the job, do keep a close watch on your health. Is switching to a 'regular-hours' job, under consideration?.

thanks bro. nothing special, im sure most husbands/fathers here does all these..

job change? am considering.. but married with kids, so every step must be very cautious lor.

[:)]

Hope never need to go back this line again:

1) 7 day week, alternate Sundays off;

2) PHs on duty roster;

3) Official working hours: 0800-1700hrs but actual working hours: 0800-1900hrs and quite often 0800-0000hrs to 0800-0200hrs

4) NO OT PAY nor food/transport allowance ;

5) Highly dangerous working environment - injuries and sometimes death;

6) Office? A spacious one with all the natural elements thrown in: sun, rain, noise, air pollution/haze, etc

Please discourage your children from study civil engineering or work in the construction inidustry. EVER.

[:(]

when i first started working...i have to slog 7 days a week, sat and sun sometimes even public holidays. wake up at 7 plus, rush to work finish at 11 plus pm....emails from crazy freaking boss cont all the way to 2 or 3am....

absolutely freaking no life....and the firm has the audacity to talk abt work life balance. the only people who enjoy work life balance are the partners.

Accountant or lawyer? [laugh]

2) PHs on duty roster;

3) Official working hours: 0800-1700hrs but actual working hours: 0800-1900hrs and quite often 0800-0000hrs to 0800-0200hrs

6) Office? A spacious one with all the natural elements thrown in: sun, rain, noise, air pollution/haze, etc

Please discourage your children from study civil engineering or work in the construction inidustry. EVER.

if Singaporean dun do construction then who is going to do? FT ?

Let's count our blessings to be holding on to our jobs. Haha

Tell that to our elite ministers [laugh] , they are not the only ones 'sacrificing' [furious]

But civil engineering commands high pay leh! Also now construction industry booming....

2) PHs on duty roster;

P2P address:

1. To my knowledge, some builder/construction firms are adopting 5-day workweek. When needed & you come in on Saturdays, monetary compensation is paid.

These firms are trying to retain competent staff and keep staff' turnover down. It becomes inevitable that they take an employee-centric stand on hiring policies/benefits.

2. It is on rotational basis. Most PHs are rest days/off duty.

3. Concur that 'extended' working hours are a norm rather than exception

4. Take that into account in your asking salary

5. High empahsis is placed on Safety. Relevant authority' stand is consistent with that emphasis.. Safety 1st.

6. Put it this way, being exposed to the elements places one closer to the nature and earth. You work out a sweat rather effortlessly and it's good for one's physical well-being.

Lastly, adopting contrarian theory, if the majority shun the industry; wouldn't it means that the passionate minority will be in great demands due to their 'scarcity' ?.

P2P address:

1. To my knowledge, some builder/construction firms are adopting 5-day workweek. When needed & you come in on Saturdays, monetary compensation is paid.

These firms are trying to retain competent staff and keep staff' turnover down. It becomes inevitable that they take an employee-centric stand on hiring policies/benefits.

2. It is on rotational basis. Most PHs are rest days/off duty.

3. Concur that 'extended' working hours are a norm rather than exception

4. Take that into account in your asking salary

5. High empahsis is placed on Safety. Relevant authority' stand is consistent with that emphasis.. Safety 1st.

6. Put it this way, being exposed to the elements places one closer to the nature and earth. You work out a sweat rather effortlessly and it's good for one's physical well-being.

Lastly, adopting contrarian theory, if the majority shun the industry; wouldn't it means that the passionate minority will be in great demands due to their 'scarcity' ?.

1. That is for office staff, QSes and senior staff. Rest of us not so.

2. Its still a full six day week mind you.

3. glad you are aware

4. What??? Its all industry practice. The only thing you can take into account is whether to leave the industry.

5. Revelant authority... well.. they fine and convict...place many procedures...make work slow... make us do many many paper work...many many paper work.

6. You must be sitting in an office

Lastly look up MOM's salary survey. Construction pays very poorly. We stay in it because we worked too long to change industry and take a pay cut

My block beside is constucting an EC. There is no work on Sunday. In fact the whole site is locked up on Sunday, nothing inside move. But Sat they still work...

It may be due to complaints by residents also that make it work can only be done Mon-Sat and not on Sun.

Working in weekends is nothing. In fact it's norm in my circle of friends and colleagues..

My job is project basis so my level of freetime varies from month to month, year to year. Somethings work and work until lost count of time, never see the sunset for months. Everyday go home see a sleeping family, wake up work family also still sleeping. See FB my friends go overseas take nice pic made me wonder WTF have I done to my life. Day by day very surreal like I was dreaming.

Now I'm in sort of a lull period enjoying weekends(hence my increased posting in MCF), although I still occasionally need to work weird hours in weekends/holidays but I don't mind......What I would mind is to return back to that dreadful routine that have past bare less than 6 months ago....And I might see the prospect of that happening again in less than 4 months as my coy now tenders for new projects...

Edited by Pocus

Depend on how you see it. During weekdays its good to rest too, cos can go settle errands (especially to places not open on weekends), bring kids to/back from school/tuition/music class. Sometimes rest during weekends also not good, like go out shopping or almost everywhere is crowded, etc. Got good and bad lah.

I understand what you mean, used to be in sales line, where off days are usually weekdays, and was at home doing stuff, when others went to work. Wasnt really a weekend person so didnt affect me when I was working weekends. After some time, found it odd that most people are enjoying the weekends, specially friends and it was hard to spend quality time with family and friends. Guess you have to loose something to gain.