Driver vs jaywalker

MacDuck

Let's not blame pedestrian, own up guys! how many of you made the mistake of forgetting to signal your intention to make a turn? :p Once i forgot to signal and turn into a side road. I caused a pedestrian a big scare. Can't blame her. She didn't know Im turning coz I forgot to signal. :(

we duno what happened beforehand.

but i wont support the cyclist for road hogging :D

yah.. I drive along costal road every morning and the riders love to cycle 2 to 3 across, macham they own the bloody road....

and now they have the 1.5 meter rule.... like that win liao lor!!

yah.. I drive along costal road every morning and the riders love to cycle 2 to 3 across, macham they own the bloody road....

and now they have the 1.5 meter rule.... like that win liao lor!!

i thought 1.5 m rule was there all along, just that not alot of ppl stick to it.

always see cars bullying bikes off their lanes on the highways

if ppl can cycle on the road, how about skateboarding/skate-scootering/rollerblading [smash] ?

Don't really like to drive in certain stretches of Singapore. The way pedestrian walk macam they own the roads. Always have to horn them [blush] [i'm not naming that stretch of road.]

im like u.

except i add extra "sounds"

Seriously, instead of admitting to the fault, still dare to say such things.....entitlement mentality wayyyyyy too high

http://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore/mum-jaywalker-upset-no-action-will-be-taken-against-driver-who-hit-him

Mum of jaywalker upset no action will be taken against driver who hit him
NP_20170406_CSROAD06_1532382.jpg?itok=VpThe boy was treated for injuries, including a fractured ankle, after he was hit by a car while jaywalking. PHOTO: COURTESY OF MADAM RAJINDE KAUR
Mum of jaywalker tells TNP: "What makes me so mad is that the driver did not apologise"
Apr 06, 2017 06:00 am
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • 43 Shares

About a week after his last Primary School Leaving Examination paper last October, Evergreen Primary School student Ravi (not his real name) had just left school after an excursion.

He said he had walked briskly across a road junction, with the "red man" signal on, to catch an SMRT service 858 bus to get to his home three stops away.

Seconds later, he was lying in the middle of the road after slipping when he saw a car heading towards him. The vehicle ran over his legs and his mother is upset no action will be taken against the driver.

Speaking to The New Paper last Thursday, Ravi, 13, said: "Even though I was conscious, I couldn't feel any pain."

Ravi's mother, Madam Rajinde Kaur, 30, admitted her son had jaywalked. He was rushed to the KK Women's and Children's Hospital with a fractured left ankle, his skin torn from his right calf.

Witnesses outside the school had told Madam Kaur the driver had stopped his vehicle.

The Singapore Civil Defence Force told TNP it received a call for an ambulance at Woodlands Avenue 4 at about 1.35pm.

Madam Kaur said she received a report from the Traffic Police (TP), in February, indicating the case was closed and no action would be taken against her son. TNP understands no action will be taken against either party.

But the sales consultant is unhappy and told her Member of Parliament, Transport Minister Mr Khaw Boon Wan, about the incident during a Meet-the-People Session last month. She also engaged a lawyer for insurance claims.

She said: "Kids are expected to make mistakes. What makes me so mad is that the driver did not apologise and not once did he come to visit at the hospital."

Singapore Road Safety Council chairman Bernard Tay said everyone had a role to play in road safety.

He said: "When you're driving a vehicle, you always have to look out. Green or red light, you still have to look. Everyone is responsible for their safety."

Parents were divided over the incident.

A father of three, who wanted to be known as Mr Ng, 39, felt both driver and the teen were at fault.

He said: "The driver should know it's a school zone, and drive carefully and slowly. But the parents of the boy should also have educated him and told him not to jaywalk."

A parent, who wanted to be known as Mrs Chua, 36, with two kids aged eight and 10, said: "I make my children read articles of accidents and discuss how they could have been avoided."

Madam Kaur told TNP she did not reprimand Ravi for jaywalking, but told him to learn from his mistake.

Clinical psychologist Dr Carol Balhetchet, who specialises in family, children and youth, felt this might send the wrong signal.

She said: "By relinquishing the child's responsibility, the child will never learn. In this case, parents should advise and teach their children to let them know that every action bears a consequence."

kids make mistake, she should be lucky that her child is still alive for the mistake he made, which she is partly responsible.

To be fair.. if i were the driver... i would apologize ... and keep checking if the boy was alright even if i dont have legal responsibility... 

kids make mistake, she should be lucky that her child is still alive for the mistake he made, which she is partly responsible.

i also say, and damn lucky the bugga can still talk

but the blaming attitude....reallly......

To be fair.. if i were the driver... i would apologize ... and keep checking if the boy was alright even if i dont have legal responsibility... 

perhaps he did, but this mother wanted an extra mile to visit him?  we dun know the whole story

anyway by visiting him in hospital bears some risks as well as it is an admission of fault?  Best stay away. 

This I learnt when a biker hit my back and he was warded for a fractured mandible.....folks here told me not to visit even tho I meant well...

Seriously, instead of admitting to the fault, still dare to say such things.....entitlement mentality wayyyyyy too high

http://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore/mum-jaywalker-upset-no-action-will-be-taken-against-driver-who-hit-him

Mum of jaywalker upset no action will be taken against driver who hit him

NP_20170406_CSROAD06_1532382.jpg?itok=VpThe boy was treated for injuries, including a fractured ankle, after he was hit by a car while jaywalking. PHOTO: COURTESY OF MADAM RAJINDE KAUR
Mum of jaywalker tells TNP: "What makes me so mad is that the driver did not apologise"
Apr 06, 2017 06:00 am
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • 43 Shares

About a week after his last Primary School Leaving Examination paper last October, Evergreen Primary School student Ravi (not his real name) had just left school after an excursion.

He said he had walked briskly across a road junction, with the "red man" signal on, to catch an SMRT service 858 bus to get to his home three stops away.

Seconds later, he was lying in the middle of the road after slipping when he saw a car heading towards him. The vehicle ran over his legs and his mother is upset no action will be taken against the driver.

Speaking to The New Paper last Thursday, Ravi, 13, said: "Even though I was conscious, I couldn't feel any pain."

Ravi's mother, Madam Rajinde Kaur, 30, admitted her son had jaywalked. He was rushed to the KK Women's and Children's Hospital with a fractured left ankle, his skin torn from his right calf.

Witnesses outside the school had told Madam Kaur the driver had stopped his vehicle.

The Singapore Civil Defence Force told TNP it received a call for an ambulance at Woodlands Avenue 4 at about 1.35pm.

Madam Kaur said she received a report from the Traffic Police (TP), in February, indicating the case was closed and no action would be taken against her son. TNP understands no action will be taken against either party.

But the sales consultant is unhappy and told her Member of Parliament, Transport Minister Mr Khaw Boon Wan, about the incident during a Meet-the-People Session last month. She also engaged a lawyer for insurance claims.

She said: "Kids are expected to make mistakes. What makes me so mad is that the driver did not apologise and not once did he come to visit at the hospital."

Singapore Road Safety Council chairman Bernard Tay said everyone had a role to play in road safety.

He said: "When you're driving a vehicle, you always have to look out. Green or red light, you still have to look. Everyone is responsible for their safety."

Parents were divided over the incident.

A father of three, who wanted to be known as Mr Ng, 39, felt both driver and the teen were at fault.

He said: "The driver should know it's a school zone, and drive carefully and slowly. But the parents of the boy should also have educated him and told him not to jaywalk."

A parent, who wanted to be known as Mrs Chua, 36, with two kids aged eight and 10, said: "I make my children read articles of accidents and discuss how they could have been avoided."

Madam Kaur told TNP she did not reprimand Ravi for jaywalking, but told him to learn from his mistake.

Clinical psychologist Dr Carol Balhetchet, who specialises in family, children and youth, felt this might send the wrong signal.

She said: "By relinquishing the child's responsibility, the child will never learn. In this case, parents should advise and teach their children to let them know that every action bears a consequence."

I think maybe the sales consultant herself had been jaywalking with her son before that's why her son also pick up the habit of jaywalking. Remember the small little things we do infront of children will also influence them, so try to stop all your bad habits and especially those dangerous bad habits like jaywalking.

hmmmm....mother 30 and the kid is 13.   strawberry?

i also say, and damn lucky the bugga can still talk

but the blaming attitude....reallly......

perhaps he did, but this mother wanted an extra mile to visit him?  we dun know the whole story

anyway by visiting him in hospital bears some risks as well as it is an admission of fault?  Best stay away. 

This I learnt when a biker hit my back and he was warded for a fractured mandible.....folks here told me not to visit even tho I meant well...

Agree with you poonde.

This poonde (the mother) is being unreasonable. Ultimately, it is her son's wrongdoing that caused this. Youth is not an absolving factor, since he is judged old enough to be responsible for following basic traffic rules.

I want to see more of this sort of judgement - where the driver is completely absolved of wrongdoing when it is really isn't his fault. It's a breath of fresh air in a legal climate that's otherwise very unfair to drivers.

Now having said all that, I think the gahmen should get their act together when it comes to the pedestrian signals. Why is that sometimes the green man starts flashing barely 2 seconds after the solid green man appears? If the intent is that one is not supposed to initiate a crossing when the green man is flashing, then practically no one would get across the junction.

It's not that relevant to this case (the boy crossed on a red man), but my point is this: if you design your signals badly, you can't enforce compliance as strictly. And with weaker enforcement, people will take liberties, ultimately leading to more accidents.