Atrecord Supersonic April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 Madam Kaur told TNP she did not reprimand Ravi for jaywalking, but told him to learn from his mistake. Wah lao... really shake head this type of parenting. Not sure what the P6 boy, whom the mother say is expected to make mistakes, will learn from this episode, but I'm sure he'll learn more (of the right thing) if he was severely reprimanded for jaywalking. And this might not have happened in the first place, if those reprimands had come earlier in his life... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 Now having said all that, I think the gahmen should get their act together when it comes to the pedestrian signals. Why is that sometimes the green man starts flashing barely 2 seconds after the solid green man appears? If the intent is that one is not supposed to initiate a crossing when the green man is flashing, then practically no one would get across the junction. It's not that relevant to this case (the boy crossed on a red man), but my point is this: if you design your signals badly, you can't enforce compliance as strictly. And with weaker enforcement, people will take liberties, ultimately leading to more accidents. since long long ago when all these whatever sign or disco light flashing on the road, teacher and book only teach me when you cross the road, look right, look left and look right again before moving off, and obviously you dun farking move when there is a RED man!! period. PS: the book also teach the road ls like a jungle full of tiger, seem like the young people duno what is a tiger and not afraid of one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 (edited) honest mistake.. lets move on. But sometimes easier said than done. I highly doubt anyone would want to be in an accident, and most of us who has being involved in one or another will know that it happen so fast, no reaction time at all... School zone , yes. Take precaution. But if you driven to places like Singapore Chines girls school during time when the school release the children, you be amazed that the parents simply throw caution to the wind and park as if they owned the road. Buses zooming by or behind you flashing the headlights can also cause temporary distraction. Formula for an accident, but does anyone really say, "hang on, this is unacceptable, we need to keep the street safe..." Or ".. aiyeah, heck care lah, Everyone also does it. TP also have to LL suck thump and direct traffic..." sometimes its the law of the jungle instinct and condition to behave in the way it is meant to be. Edited April 6, 2017 by Sdf4786k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 (edited) the boy slipped.. thats why he(driver) was absolved of responsibilty... it was NOT becoz he(boy) was jaywalking... pls dont get wrong idea... Edited April 6, 2017 by SuPerBoRed 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 (edited) since long long ago when all these whatever sign or disco light flashing on the road, teacher and book only teach me when you cross the road, look right, look left and look right again before moving off, and obviously you dun farking move when there is a RED man!! period. Sure. Personal responsibility (ownself check ownself) is of paramount importance. However, that does not obviate the gahmen's responsibility to make sure the signals are designed in a way that makes them sensible to follow. I can't fathom how a green man signal that starts flashing almost immediately when the green man comes on is in any way sensible. I'm not sure if you missed my point, but I already said that the boy was wrong for crossing on red. Edited April 6, 2017 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 the boy slipped.. thats why he(driver) was absolved of responsibilty... it was NOT becoz he(boy) was jaywalking... pls dont get wrong idea... if he dun jaywalk and slip in the middle of the road, the on coming car won't roll onto him. Actually if he suddenly slip how the driver avoid? Sure. Personal responsibility (ownself check ownself) is of paramount importance. However, that does not obviate the gahmen's responsibility to make sure the signals are designed in a way that makes them sensible to follow. I can't fathom how a green man signal that starts flashing almost immediately when the green man comes on is in any way sensible. I'm not sure if you missed my point, but I already said that the boy was wrong for crossing on red. i didn't miss that point lah, i only reply to your point that the road has enough disco light 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 if he dun jaywalk and slip in the middle of the road, the on coming car won't roll onto him. Actually if he suddenly slip how the driver avoid? precisely why the driver had no responsibility!! it was ... as i say again.. NOT becoz the boy was jaywalking... ie.. in a same scenario... if the boy was jaywalking.. i guarantee you.. driver will kenna some % 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 precisely why the driver had no responsibility!! it was ... as i say again.. NOT becoz the boy was jaywalking... ie.. in a same scenario... if the boy was jaywalking.. i guarantee you.. driver will kenna some % the gist of this is not the boy but the mother wanting a pound of flesh from the accident.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 the gist of this is not the boy but the mother wanting a pound of flesh from the accident.... shylock spotted Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 the boy slipped.. thats why he(driver) was absolved of responsibilty... it was NOT becoz he(boy) was jaywalking... pls dont get wrong idea... ? I don't read this in the article leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 ? I don't read this in the article leh. Seconds later, he was lying in the middle of the road after slipping when he saw a car heading towards him. The vehicle ran over his legs and his mother is upset no action will be taken against the driver. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 ? I don't read this in the article leh. About a week after his last Primary School Leaving Examination paper last October, Evergreen Primary School student Ravi (not his real name) had just left school after an excursion. He said he had walked briskly across a road junction, with the "red man" signal on, to catch an SMRT service 858 bus to get to his home three stops away. Seconds later, he was lying in the middle of the road after slipping when he saw a car heading towards him. The vehicle ran over his legs and his mother is upset no action will be taken against the driver. Speaking to The New Paper last Thursday, Ravi, 13, said: "Even though I was conscious, I couldn't feel any pain." Ravi's mother, Madam Rajinde Kaur, 30, admitted her son had jaywalked. He was rushed to the KK Women's and Children's Hospital with a fractured left ankle, his skin torn from his right calf. eh how you read medications ha....kekekke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 Hmm ok.. allow me to elaborate... the mum upbringing of the child is of no concern to me... this type if self-entitled way of thinking is rooted... and will not be eradicated no matter wat we say.. essentially i give up on parenting issues.. since im a dink.. and am not in the best position to comment On a separate note... what irks me is the lack of concern for a fellow human being i have caused harm to... for what ever reason... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 Hmm ok.. allow me to elaborate... the mum upbringing of the child is of no concern to me... this type if self-entitled way of thinking is rooted... and will not be eradicated no matter wat we say.. essentially i give up on parenting issues.. since im a dink.. and am not in the best position to comment On a separate note... what irks me is the lack of concern for a fellow human being i have caused harm to... for what ever reason... generally if someone is expecting a lawsuit etc, most lawyers would advise no contact? At least from watching legal dramas lol 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 generally if someone is expecting a lawsuit etc, most lawyers would advise no contact? At least from watching legal dramas lol ya loh....the fella who hit my back, as a result of not paying attention, got a chiding from me. I reported my case and police issued him a reckless riding letter. His op cost him $28k 6 months later i rcvd a letter from Hoh lawyers seeking damages and I passed letter on to my insurers who nicely asked him to F off... case closed 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 generally if someone is expecting a lawsuit etc, most lawyers would advise no contact? At least from watching legal dramas lol fair point... how the law interprets concern for a fellow human being is beyond me... machiam the law wants us to be emotionless human beings... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 fair point... how the law interprets concern for a fellow human being is beyond me... machiam the law wants us to be emotionless human beings...Siang ka pager Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged April 6, 2017 Share April 6, 2017 Siang ka pager ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...