Blueblack Neutral Newbie May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 some condo maintenance is around 3~400 every quaterly and this include one carpark. so let say 150 per month, remove 90 from carpark, left with 60. 60 for conservative charge come with free swiming pool and gym, its definitely cheaper. if you count this way, better live in landed where you can park many many cars ! landed there is no management fee at all but wait.......till you do a major renovation or repair which you wanna call it, it may cost you a four room flat ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 if you count this way, better live in landed where you can park many many cars ! landed there is no management fee at all but wait.......till you do a major renovation or repair which you wanna call it, it may cost you a four room flat That's why I moved from condo to landed - to be able to park my cars and save on maintenance fee. No joke $2,500 per quarter, with sinking fund! Country clubs are only a short drive away. For landed, I can plan my own maintenance, repair, exterior repainting schedules. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jenius81 1st Gear May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 That's why I moved from condo to landed - to be able to park my cars and save on maintenance fee. No joke $2,500 per quarter, with sinking fund! Country clubs are only a short drive away. For landed, I can plan my own maintenance, repair, exterior repainting schedules. what condo u stay? S$2500 per quarter!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueblack Neutral Newbie May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 That's why I moved from condo to landed - to be able to park my cars and save on maintenance fee. No joke $2,500 per quarter, with sinking fund! Country clubs are only a short drive away. For landed, I can plan my own maintenance, repair, exterior repainting schedules. Base on $2500 per quarter, you refer to those 5mil condo liao. Many cars at home, you can't even stay in condo, so you got no choice lah. Most of us only small family, 1 car and 100 sq mtr enough liao and also no 2~3 maids to take care of such big house Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 what condo u stay? S$2500 per quarter!! Somewhere in the heart of D.9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 Base on $2500 per quarter, you refer to those 5mil condo liao. Many cars at home, you can't even stay in condo, so you got no choice lah. Most of us only small family, 1 car and 100 sq mtr enough liao and also no 2~3 maids to take care of such big house Yes, the problem with condos is that there is a cap on the total number of cars one can own/park. Of course you could do a side deal with an expat family with no car (usually the smaller units) and pay the a fee to use their allocated car park slot. But very lehchay lah, when they are repatriated, or move out - then got to find another willing party. Parking outside of the condo premises is impossible, not in D.9 - without attracting the TP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 wah Marq ah? so exp...iirc the penthouse can fetch 30 million Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zze121 3rd Gear May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 Recent years built condo trend toward lifestyle n resort living. Use of full glass panel at full length from floor to ceiling, better kitchen, toilet design n landscape with resort feel. But there r some bad design n shrink in size come with super high price. And not all project have the atas feel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 I think different. Am risk averse. Statistics show more often than not, CPF funds used for investment lost money. Need to cover CPF-O int and bank's mngt annual fee. I tried it once, just after the AFC, made abt 25% gain by just parking some CPF monies for a year and then pulled out. But never again, even though I had made good money. As I said, I am risk averse. Prefer max CPF to property ... never fails Yes. I've lost $ on my CPF investment. Went in in 2007 when i 1st started investing. Needless to say took a substantial loss. I will only use CPF for property as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 if you count this way, better live in landed where you can park many many cars ! landed there is no management fee at all but wait.......till you do a major renovation or repair which you wanna call it, it may cost you a four room flat like you say major reno. its okay if you buy those landed on launch. but if you boh lui and the condition of the landed very jialat., how are you going to live inside?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RealSabbie Neutral Newbie May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 Yes. I've lost $ on my CPF investment. Went in in 2007 when i 1st started investing. Needless to say took a substantial loss. I will only use CPF for property as well. Statistics has shown that most people lost money investing their cpf in the short run, the percentages are better when you stretch the period to 5 years at least for a diversified equity fund. Personally I find it hard to beat the risk free rate of 4+1 or 2.5 + 1 rate for the first 60K, so it's better to leave it alone even if you do not intend to use it for property. Do note that with current interest rates of less than 2 percent, technically it is also better to leave your cpf growing at a higher rate than to use it for your property. Also the acrued interest over a long period can become a substantial sum when you sell your property. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 Yes. I've lost $ on my CPF investment. Went in in 2007 when i 1st started investing. Needless to say took a substantial loss. I will only use CPF for property as well. Yup, I have seen many colleagues of mine getting their fingers burnt, after they bought in a frenzy - when CPF funds were first opened to specific financial instruments. All kpkb after that. To me, it was their own fault - going into the equities market, 'managed' though they may be, with their eyes wide shut! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 Personally I find it hard to beat the risk free rate of 4+1 or 2.5 + 1 rate for the first 60K, so it's better to leave it alone even if you do not intend to use it for property. +1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 Do note that with current interest rates of less than 2 percent, technically it is also better to leave your cpf growing at a higher rate than to use it for your property. Also the acrued interest over a long period can become a substantial sum when you sell your property. To me, the accrued interest that had to be returned to CPF is still your money that can be used over again in your next property purchase. It's left pocket, right pocket. Often times (unless your timing is sway and you enter into negative equity), capital appreciation on my property purchases have been > CPF-O interest rate ... so always covered. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 (edited) Yup, I have seen many colleagues of mine getting their fingers burnt, after they bought in a frenzy - when CPF funds were first opened to specific financial instruments. All kpkb after that. To me, it was their own fault - going into the equities market, 'managed' though they may be, with their eyes wide shut! ya sold off most of my funds and crap stocks. well ... most ... now i only do dividend stocks to beat inflation really. Well for most youngsters nowadays, the CPF restrictions on 2nd loan + 2nd bank loan of 40% LTV is a strong deterence to those with some financial prudence Edited May 5, 2012 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RealSabbie Neutral Newbie May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 To me, the accrued interest that had to be returned to CPF is still your money that can be used over again in your next property purchase. It's left pocket, right pocket. Often times (unless your timing is sway and you enter into negative equity), capital appreciation on my property purchases have been > CPF-O interest rate ... so always covered. Yes, no problem to do that, in fact doing that runs you less risk of hitting the AWDL for CPF so that you need not come up with cash when you hit the limit, but I have seen those who bought in the 90s having 200K in acrued interest, quite a tidy sum...for myself I monetized the cpf monthly installment by renting out the property and using cpf to pay for installment....hehe...this is how I made some money....but now no property to rent out, so very poor.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scb11980 1st Gear May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 Statistics has shown that most people lost money investing their cpf in the short run, the percentages are better when you stretch the period to 5 years at least for a diversified equity fund. Personally I find it hard to beat the risk free rate of 4+1 or 2.5 + 1 rate for the first 60K, so it's better to leave it alone even if you do not intend to use it for property. Do note that with current interest rates of less than 2 percent, technically it is also better to leave your cpf growing at a higher rate than to use it for your property. Also the acrued interest over a long period can become a substantial sum when you sell your property. recent australian bond is giving 8% Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scb11980 1st Gear May 5, 2012 Share May 5, 2012 ya sold off most of my funds and crap stocks. well ... most ... now i only do dividend stocks to beat inflation really. Well for most youngsters nowadays, the CPF restrictions on 2nd loan + 2nd bank loan of 40% LTV is a strong deterence to those with some financial prudence i assume u sold off your funds and stocks at a breakeven or gain ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...