Jrage 1st Gear May 3, 2012 Author Share May 3, 2012 Exactly my point! You should then only buy a house where you max your CPF lumpsum and the rest furnished with yr CPF monthly only. Zero cash monthly, as far as possible. The only cash to be used will only be to satisfy the govt's minimum % non-CPF upfront ruling. Then you are good! Actually even if I have a lot cpf , I also won't put all down. I just make 10% out of my cpf investment . As long as i have enuff to pay the mortagae using cpf. I wont use more. Let money earn more money. l ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear May 3, 2012 Author Share May 3, 2012 Since we are on this topic. What do you guys think is an okay okay overleveraging level? 50x? 100x? $$ depends on the investment and the length also .there is no fixed ratio... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Why will confirm died ? Mthly repayment for a 1 million is only 5k at 4% interest rate over 30 yrs The issue I guess is more abt whether the couple is highly leveraging . Your boundary condition is too stretched, IMHO. For me, one must strive to be mortgage-free by 50. So if you're 30 now, it will be $6K payment p.m. But if you're 40 now, that'll be $10K p.m. That's already stretching it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Actually even if I have a lot cpf , I also won't put all down. I just make 10% out of my cpf investment . As long as i have enuff to pay the mortagae using cpf. I wont use more. Let money earn more money. l I think different. Am risk averse. Statistics show more often than not, CPF funds used for investment lost money. Need to cover CPF-O int and bank's mngt annual fee. I tried it once, just after the AFC, made abt 25% gain by just parking some CPF monies for a year and then pulled out. But never again, even though I had made good money. As I said, I am risk averse. Prefer max CPF to property ... never fails Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 now u know why gahmen had to launch this programme: most blind by greed and turn senseless... those agent buzzing in their ears also play a part... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelfinity 1st Gear May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 you use 20% cash to buy 1 million property, rental yield 3% of 1 million is 30000. you use 200K buy singpost, yield 5% is 10000. simplistic but which is better? Dun need pay interest for loan izzit? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Old-driver 5th Gear May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 erm tio leh...... the system dont allow. took away my birth right. damn it. Can leh... at some stage during the 2000's where there were no gahmen restrictions private property owners can buy hdeebee. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelfinity 1st Gear May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 Can leh... at some stage during the 2000's where there were no gahmen restrictions private property owners can buy hdeebee. Thats becos hdb were in low demand. With the foreign talents streammin in, not quite possible for it to happen again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Old-driver 5th Gear May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 Thats becos hdb were in low demand. With the foreign talents streammin in, not quite possible for it to happen again. Looks unlikely for the next few years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelfinity 1st Gear May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 Haha, its many many years... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 Can leh... at some stage during the 2000's where there were no gahmen restrictions private property owners can buy hdeebee. in those days, hdb even have actual 'show-unit', done up nicely wif ID and furniture and oso hired property agents to market it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 in those days, hdb even have actual 'show-unit', done up nicely wif ID and furniture and oso hired property agents to market it. that time no one want to buy from HDB even if its dirt cheap mah. all prefer to look for resales. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Old-driver 5th Gear May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 in those days, hdb even have actual 'show-unit', done up nicely wif ID and furniture and oso hired property agents to market it. Dont think we can see those days again where demand is so low during 2003-2006. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RealSabbie Neutral Newbie May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 Dont think we can see those days again where demand is so low during 2003-2006. You never know, spain goes down, italy goes down, france goes down, US NFP goes up, US Homes down, China hard landing, India in debt.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RealSabbie Neutral Newbie May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 Since we are on this topic. What do you guys think is an okay okay overleveraging level? 50x? 100x? When I trade FX or CFD, I leverage 100x Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 I think different. Am risk averse. Statistics show more often than not, CPF funds used for investment lost money. Need to cover CPF-O int and bank's mngt annual fee. I tried it once, just after the AFC, made abt 25% gain by just parking some CPF monies for a year and then pulled out. But never again, even though I had made good money. As I said, I am risk averse. Prefer max CPF to property ... never fails I am not totally in your camp, but i fully understand what you mean. good job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 (edited) Can leh... at some stage during the 2000's where there were no gahmen restrictions private property owners can buy hdeebee. Then, but now? my birth right is stolen from me, thats how i feel. Dont say last time lah, last time I can buy 10,000sf Detached house , now I suck thumb. hahaha Edited May 4, 2012 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shanhz 3rd Gear May 4, 2012 Share May 4, 2012 But if you are first time buyers, and if you buy condo first, think you are not allow to buy any HDB in future?! Once mkt crash all these rules will evaporate. Rem juz few yrs ago jurong west got excess 20,000 flats lelong nobody wan ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...