Throttle2 Supersonic May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 To clarify I do not own them concurrently hor, not so rich, buy one sell one and so on, but now I don't own any but still cannot buy hdb, really cannot understand the govt. well, you not the only one. many people like that. I also want to buy a new HDB and just put there. No rent for 5 yrs, nevermind. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear May 3, 2012 Author Share May 3, 2012 Just ensure pre-nuptials in place before marrying lor - preventing them from laying their hands on property assets. You define what you'd want to protect, they need to sign and agree, before marrying you. *when marriage is a transaction.. so sad* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear May 3, 2012 Author Share May 3, 2012 dbs wanna buy indon bank. people scared indon bank is lemon if lemon too big, no more posb to help tong Actually temasek has no choice but to try to sell to dbs. Cos' to the indo government , since dbs belong to temasek, they also see the % held by temask and dbs as belonging to temasek. I guess temasek just trying to avoid the same issue they had with the indo telco.. So they want to get a outright "can hold" or "cannot hold" from the indo government. to me it's better that temasek sells to dbs than others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RealSabbie Neutral Newbie May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Just ensure pre-nuptials in place before marrying lor - preventing them from laying their hands on property assets. You define what you'd want to protect, they need to sign and agree, before marrying you. So much hassle just to buy a hdb, I just buy a private la. Anyway prenups are not fully recognized in singapore, unless you are saying get married in a foreign country and sign the pre-nup, come back and buy hdb, but as per my first statement, just too much of a hassle. And I don't like fake stuffs.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RealSabbie Neutral Newbie May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 well, you not the only one. many people like that. I also want to buy a new HDB and just put there. No rent for 5 yrs, nevermind. Yes, if at BTO prices, I don't mind leaving it emtpy for 5 years, but at re-sale prices not as good a value proposition. But you definitely exceed the income cap and you have to sell your house within 18 months. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 And I don't like fake stuffs.... And RealSabbie is not a fake? Or was Chemmie the real one? What about FastFastCar? Now you confuse me ... Now let's not go into the Rubber family discussion hor, cos that will be stir crazy! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Yes, if at BTO prices, I don't mind leaving it emtpy for 5 years, but at re-sale prices not as good a value proposition. But you definitely exceed the income cap and you have to sell your house within 18 months. table wipar oredi say his income $3800 so what toking u he exceed income cap? tink maybe can apply for financial assistance somemore. heard gahmen got this new scheme called cigarfare. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RealSabbie Neutral Newbie May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 And RealSabbie is not a fake? Or was Chemmie the real one? What about FastFastCar? Now you confuse me ... Now let's not go into the Rubber family discussion hor, cos that will be stir crazy! Wei, off topic leow la haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Yes, if at BTO prices, I don't mind leaving it emtpy for 5 years, but at re-sale prices not as good a value proposition. But you definitely exceed the income cap and you have to sell your house within 18 months. Hold resale HDB for 5 years? Forget it lah, no brainer. May not even recoup capital appreciation, depending on how the market turns. First bite of cherry is always the best ... but only if you are allowed to have access to the forbidden fruit! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RealSabbie Neutral Newbie May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 table wipar oredi say his income $3800 so what toking u he exceed income cap? tink maybe can apply for financial assistance somemore. heard gahmen got this new scheme called cigarfare. Err, but think the AV of his properties quite high one ley Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RealSabbie Neutral Newbie May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Hold resale HDB for 5 years? Forget it lah, no brainer. May not even recoup capital appreciation, depending on how the market turns. First bite of cherry is always the best ... but only if you are allowed to have access to the forbidden fruit! So tell your kids get married fast and don't earn so much so fast. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 So tell your kids get married fast and don't earn so much so fast. Yah that actually is my Plan-B. Get each of them to apply for HDB, when getting married - then move into the condos that I will be assigning to each of them. And then later, rent out the HDB flats for income, or if HDB prices were to rise further in future, to sell them - with thanks to the HDB for the initial subsidies given! Then they can use the capital gains for anything they'd want. Use them for private property purchase downpayments ... here, or in Oz. Actually here got more upsides, as we grow to 6.5m with high net-worth FTs pouring in from all over the world! Just some forward planning ideas being tossed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 table wipar oredi say his income $3800 so what toking u he exceed income cap? tink maybe can apply for financial assistance somemore. heard gahmen got this new scheme called cigarfare. Thanks Soya for clarifying on my behalf ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Yah that actually is my Plan-B. Get each of them to apply for HDB, when getting married - then move into the condos that I will be assigning to each of them. And then later, rent out the HDB flats for income, or if HDB prices were to rise further in future, to sell them - with thanks to the HDB for the initial subsidies given! Then they can use the capital gains for anything they'd want. Use them for private property purchase downpayments ... here, or in Oz. Actually here got more upsides, as we grow to 6.5m with high net-worth FTs pouring in from all over the world! Just some forward planning ideas being tossed IMO, Singaporean should buy their first HDB brand new from HDB to exercise the privillage of being s Singaporean. Rental passive income is always good but I am not so sure about capital gains. I knew of someone buying a flat and leaving it vacant for 5 years and selling it in 5 years for the capital gains. Initial downpayment for condo may be lesser compared to a resale HDB but ones must also consider the overall long term commitment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear May 3, 2012 Author Share May 3, 2012 (edited) Just for information to the members of this forum... it is not true to assume that the prime area will always be 9/10/11... In many countries , the central of countries moves according to activities setup else where over time. e.g. vegas was a dessert.. and the land is useless before now. It is kind of wrong to assume that CCR will always give you better rental yield, greater appreciation.. and the high-end residences there will always in demand. Personally , i feel like the prime location has shift from the traditional CCR to sites near the mrt. I wont be surprise in 30 yrs time. Site near the centrally-located mrt will become more expensive than CCR outskirts. This is why no takers for pine grove enbloc.. cos' it's further away from the mrt. Edited May 3, 2012 by Jrage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 IMO, Singaporean should buy their first HDB brand new from HDB to exercise the privillage of being s Singaporean. Rental passive income is always good but I am not so sure about capital gains. I knew of someone buying a flat and leaving it vacant for 5 years and selling it in 5 years for the capital gains. Initial downpayment for condo may be lesser compared to a resale HDB but ones must also consider the overall long term commitment. Yup, good thoughts. My sis did just that - bought a new flat from HDB, furnished it, but left it vacant and sold it after 5 years. She did make capital gains, but not sure how much ... first bite of the cherry. Hehe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Thanks Soya for clarifying on my behalf ! On cigars, whats the cigar that you're holding in your avatar? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Personally , i feel like the prime location has shift from the traditional CCR to sites near the mrt. I wont be surprise in 30 yrs time. Site near the centrally-located mrt will become more expensive than CCR outskirts. This is why no takers for pine grove enbloc.. cos' it's further away from the mrt. Errr Pine Grove (or for that matter, Pandan Valley) was never considered CCR (D9/10 by definition). It's D21 lah. Fringe-CCR at best. But the postal district never lie. Right at the boundary margin of D10 in that location would be setups like Ridgewoood and Trizon (formerly Himiko Court). Anything further west, will be OCR D21. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...