Joseph22 Turbocharged May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 depends lah, you may not be if you are sandwiched. Many people are in that category. ie. HDB cannot qualify and cannot afford similar size condo. Quite headache too. also true. but if you dont mind to live in the outskirt, like me. those are not really a big problem bah. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RealSabbie Neutral Newbie May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 condo is condo flat is flat But some condo looks similar to DBSS or even BTO..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 But some condo looks similar to DBSS or even BTO..... actually its those DBSS and BTO build to look like Condo.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RealSabbie Neutral Newbie May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 so what.... if you can buy condo first, no need to buy any HDB in future. why die die must buy HDB and restrict yourself? I have never bought a HDB myself, life still goes on fine.. but why die die cannot buy hdb, I bought 3 condos before and now looking to buy hdb but govt don't let me that's all Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RealSabbie Neutral Newbie May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Re: rental yield. It is in my opinion that I can get better rental yield, if I were to buy a HDB flat in D.10 - e.g. the Holland Dr flats near Holland V, or the Strathmore flats near Tanglin Rd ... versus buying an over-priced OCR outskirts condo like Sky Habitat, or any of the far-flung shoebox units. The ROI on capital and ease of renting these Holland/Tanglin HDB flats will far outweigh the condo status of these far-flung, outskirts locations. Nowadays, proximity to MRT stations is quickly losing it's appeal, to be realistic. p.s. The Buona Vista and Redhill MRT stations are both within walking distance from the Holland Dr and Strathmore flats too! Yes, good analysis, rental yields for hdbs in mature estates and good locations are easily 5 to 8%, this is why I want to buy a resale hdb but cannot rent out for 5 years, quite meaningless for me then since I do not intend to stay in it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Yes, good analysis, rental yields for hdbs in mature estates and good locations are easily 5 to 8%, this is why I want to buy a resale hdb but cannot rent out for 5 years, quite meaningless for me then since I do not intend to stay in it. yeah now you know why if you own 3 condo and cannot buy HDB liao?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Yes, good analysis, rental yields for hdbs in mature estates and good locations are easily 5 to 8%, this is why I want to buy a resale hdb but cannot rent out for 5 years, quite meaningless for me then since I do not intend to stay in it. OK, I wasn't aware of that 'show stopper'. Not being able to tenant out for 5 years (even for resale HDB?) is definitely a no go. Basically zero return in the first 5 years. Too bad, so sad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Espresso Neutral Newbie May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 so what.... if you can buy condo first, no need to buy any HDB in future. why die die must buy HDB and restrict yourself? I have never bought a HDB myself, life still goes on fine.. Upz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RealSabbie Neutral Newbie May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 (edited) actually its those DBSS and BTO build to look like Condo.. Half full Half Empty theory Edited May 3, 2012 by RealSabbie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RealSabbie Neutral Newbie May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 yeah now you know why if you own 3 condo and cannot buy HDB liao?? To clarify I do not own them concurrently hor, not so rich, buy one sell one and so on, but now I don't own any but still cannot buy hdb, really cannot understand the govt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Half full Half Empty theory you didnt see the condo floorplan before the current new HDB floorplan right?? Earlier Condo are build in that manner after that HDB build same style and got a period using that as a attraction for ppl buying their flat advertising as same style as condo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RealSabbie Neutral Newbie May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 OK, I wasn't aware of that 'show stopper'. Not being able to tenant out for 5 years (even for resale HDB?) is definitely a no go. Basically zero return in the first 5 years. Too bad, so sad. Yes, I believe you have to fulfil MOP of 5 years even for resale flats, used to be 3 years, but I am not an agent so maybe "experts" like ASD78 or JJ5599 can clarify. Or even Ben5266. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 To clarify I do not own them concurrently hor, not so rich, buy one sell one and so on, but now I don't own any but still cannot buy hdb, really cannot understand the govt. what talking you?? you already say you not going to stay in it liao lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 To clarify I do not own them concurrently hor, not so rich, buy one sell one and so on, but now I don't own any but still cannot buy hdb, really cannot understand the govt. Can what ... resale HDB in mature estates. Why not? What other rules in place (other than the 5-yrs no tenancy) that's preventing you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RealSabbie Neutral Newbie May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 you didnt see the condo floorplan before the current new HDB floorplan right?? Earlier Condo are build in that manner after that HDB build same style and got a period using that as a attraction for ppl buying their flat advertising as same style as condo. Bro, govt don't let me buy hdb la, so why would I bother to see the floor plans, I only know dbss use this marketing gimmick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Can what ... resale HDB in mature estates. Why not? What other rules in place (other than the 5-yrs no tenancy) that's preventing you? if you own prvt. you cannot buy a HDB unless you dont have a prvt pty for about 18months (or was it 30??) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueblack Neutral Newbie May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Or, reassign your private property title(s) to your children and then you'd be able to buy into HDB right? Is there any limit to the number of HDB flats one can own (if he does not have any private property in his name)? Do the current rules allow any one person to own multiple HDB assets? If only restricted to one HDB flat to one name, can husband own one and wife own another? Sorry for the questions, but I am figuring out ideas to circumvent existing HDB/MND rules to bite off a few cherries from the govt. All those you mention was consider loophole & was plug some long ago some recently. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RealSabbie Neutral Newbie May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Can what ... resale HDB in mature estates. Why not? What other rules in place (other than the 5-yrs no tenancy) that's preventing you? Cos I haven't hit 35 and not married....so many rules....give up on hdb leow ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...