Resale Flat vs Condo

Jrage

And another comment on Pine Grove.

The en-bloc-kers are literally asking for D10-FH-equivalent $psf, when they are D21 OCR, 99-yr LH (or whatever that's left) ex-HUDC.

No wonder got no takers.

Plot area is also too large and will need a JV investment proposal.

Difficult lah ... and greedy too!

This is why no takers for pine grove enbloc.. cos' it's further away from the mrt.

there are a few successful enbloc in that vicinity coz it is a nice location. mrt is a bonus for that area but i dun believe it was a deal breaker. pine grove enbloc fail simply becoz the price quantum is simply too high as the site is too huge. very risky and difficult for any developer to swallow.

Cos I haven't hit 35 and not married....so many rules....give up on hdb leow

If you can afford to buy condo then the question would be Why U Want to Bother with HDeeBee <_< give the others a chance

Errr Pine Grove (or for that matter, Pandan Valley) was never considered CCR (D9/10 by definition).

It's D21 lah. Fringe-CCR at best.

But the postal district never lie.

Right at the boundary margin of D10 in that location would be setups like Ridgewoood and Trizon (formerly Himiko Court). Anything further west, will be OCR D21.

no wonder it does not show up in my search :P

*corrected* .. but i think the city centre is def shifting in sg. now carribean so ex.. more ex than ccr

some condo maintenance is around 3~400 every quaterly and this include one carpark. so let say 150 per month, remove 90 from carpark, left with 60. 60 for conservative charge come with free swiming pool and gym, its definitely cheaper.

At 150 bucks per month condo maintenance fee is very very low leh. Hard to find such condos nowadays. Anyway, you have not factored in sinking fund. If you take sinking fund into consideration, it will be much more than the $150 conservancy you pay each month.

can explain what is sinking fund? i don't live condo. i only know some of my friend condo maintenance is really very low. some lower than 150.

in simple terms, sinking fund goes towards the piggybank which is used for R&R works coz condo dun hv ah gong to fall back on. btw, which condo charges <$150/mth?

floravale. and another one near one of the camp in katih.

there are a few others. cannot remember liao.

no wonder it does not show up in my search :P

*corrected* .. but i think the city centre is def shifting in sg. now carribean so ex.. more ex than ccr

IMHO, the Carribean is all hype.

I went to view the sales office in 2004, AFTER TOP, when they were only 30% sold.

Still very stubborn leh, don't want to down price!

Other than the sea view, Telok Blangah Rd is full of container trucks plying to and from the PSA container ports. The viaduct above adds on to one's daily view of counting container trucks (vs sheep) to sleep! [laugh]

For 99-yr LH, I'd rather still put my money on 'traditional' CCR setups like Spring Grove for a better return.

Edited by Jolie888

IMHO, the Carribean is all hype.

I went to view the sales office in 2004, AFTER TOP, when they were only 30% sold.

Still very stubborn leh, don't want to down price!

Other than the sea view, Telok Blangah Rd is full of container trucks plying to and from the PSA container ports. The viaduct above adds on to one's daily view of counting container trucks (vs sheep) to sleep! [laugh]

For 99-yr LH, I'd rather still put my money on 'traditional' CCR setups like Spring Grove for a better return.

heard from a friend working around that area. They are going to shift the location of those PSA container ports in a few years time. dont know how true though

On cigars, whats the cigar that you're holding in your avatar?

Thats a Partagas Piramide Edicion Limitada 2000

The first of the edicion limitadas issued by Habanos SA Cuba

IMO, Singaporean should buy their first HDB brand new from HDB to exercise the privillage of being s Singaporean. Rental passive income is always good but I am not so sure about capital gains. I knew of someone buying a flat and leaving it vacant for 5 years and selling it in 5 years for the capital gains.

Initial downpayment for condo may be lesser compared to a resale HDB but ones must also consider the overall long term commitment.

When i was ready to buy, i already could not qualify becos the System cut me out of my birth right.

But honestly I wasnt looking to buy an HDB then.

I still think it is my birth right to buy a new one direct from Govt without all these restrictions.

Am I not Singaporean holding pink IC and red Passport?

Did I not do my National Service?

Do I not pay heavy taxes?

*sigh*

When i was ready to buy, i already could not qualify becos the System cut me out of my birth right.

But honestly I wasnt looking to buy an HDB then.

I still think it is my birth right to buy a new one direct from Govt without all these restrictions.

Am I not Singaporean holding pink IC and red Passport?

Did I not do my National Service?

Do I not pay heavy taxes?

*sigh*

My sentiments exactly and unfortunately this is where our similarity ends

Mostly those privatized ECs, bought one before and all in 160 per month

If you can afford to buy condo then the question would be Why U Want to Bother with HDeeBee <_< give the others a chance

Do I not serve ns, do I not pay taxes more than the average guy, do I not hold a pink instead of blue ic? Can I not choose to lead a modest life even if I have money ?

If (a big IF) most Singaporeans can be satisfied with HDB and taking BMW, and coupled with govt intervention to discourage foreigners over-investing in property here, and significantly improving on public transportation, I think that it will be effective in suppressing COE and property price escalation!

1.3m condo ? Can you withstand the monthly repayments?

If you are short of cash better buy cheaper option

Edited by Jj5599

Do I not serve ns, do I not pay taxes more than the average guy, do I not hold a pink instead of blue ic? Can I not choose to lead a modest life even if I have money ?

Sounds familiar :D

And the answer is... Yes u Can, and its all about timing. Before this current intervention, private property owners are allowed to buy hdbee. why didnt u buy then? because u wanted private. Now that the prices are high (read: out of reach [rolleyes] ), people want hdbee but found out cannot buy [laugh][:p] tio bo?