Resale Flat vs Condo

Jrage

Wah, good for you.....

but that is provided we live there right?

if not exchange rate might become a big risk i will think.

2.5% is nothing - depending on your alternative disposition!

I'd rather then maximize my cash (wealth, as you would term it) into AUD FD/savings earning up to 6% p.a. risk-free in Oz.

For me, there is little/no forex exposure, as my children are all there, the maternal side of my family are all there, and being a PR, I need to spend >1/3 of my time there anyway.

So max CPF to housing mortgage makes the best sense for me, with a risk aversion to CPF-related investment instruments of any kind, or even "playing" with the stock market!

Enjoying the best of both worlds, if I might put it that way to you.

eh, the aussies got call u blardy FT or not? :D

Wow, if I am a private banker like Ted sure whack you 5 million of DCI per week

I would appreciate if you do not reference me with comments like that.

2.5% is nothing - depending on your alternative disposition!

I'd rather then maximize my cash (wealth, as you would term it) into AUD FD/savings earning up to 6% p.a. risk-free in Oz.

For me, there is little/no forex exposure, as my children are all there, the maternal side of my family are all there, and being a PR, I need to spend >1/3 of my time there anyway.

So max CPF to housing mortgage makes the best sense for me, with a risk aversion to CPF-related investment instruments of any kind, or even "playing" with the stock market!

Enjoying the best of both worlds, if I might put it that way to you.

For u yes. For us, our base currency is Sin and we have a currency exchange risk. AUD is volatile... down 10% and the 6% gain is wiped out [laugh]

Yah that actually is my Plan-B.

Get each of them to apply for HDB, when getting married - then move into the condos that I will be assigning to each of them.

And then later, rent out the HDB flats for income, or if HDB prices were to rise further in future, to sell them - with thanks to the HDB for the initial subsidies given!

Then they can use the capital gains for anything they'd want.

Use them for private property purchase downpayments ... here, or in Oz.

Actually here got more upsides, as we grow to 6.5m with high net-worth FTs pouring in from all over the world!

Just some forward planning ideas being tossed

Do the reverse la - stay in HDB and rent out the condo....Condo sure rent for higher price one.

Then use the rental return to finance a property overseas...

I am saying it's crap, but can't a citizen buy a hdb as an investment, must stay in it meh, cannot rent out to all the FTs govt want to attract?

HDB is supposed to be a home to live in - not an investment.

"Subsidised" housing is not needed if all you want is to make money and have somewhere else to live right?

Do the reverse la - stay in HDB and rent out the condo....Condo sure rent for higher price one.

peepur is high net worth elite, you ask his children to stay h dee bee, you [hur]?

Re: rental yield.

It is in my opinion that I can get better rental yield, if I were to buy a HDB flat in D.10 - e.g. the Holland Dr flats near Holland V, or the Strathmore flats near Tanglin Rd ...

versus buying an over-priced OCR outskirts condo like Sky Habitat, or any of the far-flung shoebox units.

The ROI on capital and ease of renting these Holland/Tanglin HDB flats will far outweigh the condo status of these far-flung, outskirts locations.

Nowadays, proximity to MRT stations is quickly losing it's appeal, to be realistic.

p.s. The Buona Vista and Redhill MRT stations are both within walking distance from the Holland Dr and Strathmore flats too!

To me a reasonable sized 2 bedroom / 3 bedroom condo in a good expat or nature area is a good bet - something already established.

This is what we are going to do soon....

To me a reasonable sized 2 bedroom / 3 bedroom condo in a good expat or nature area is a good bet - something already established.

good. ang mo in HDB dont look nice [laugh]

oI!! My block got TWO ang mo - me and some Irish bloke...

I think we both look gorgeous :wub:[laugh]

Talent i think is only found in singapore [laugh]

Next time dictionaries in Singapore have to include this

Tal-ent [tal-uhnt]

noun

1. a special natural ability or aptitude: a talent for drawing.

2. a capacity for achievement or success; ability: young men of talent.

3. a talented person: The cast includes many of the theater's major talents.

4. a group of persons with special ability: an exhibition of watercolors by the local talent.

5. Movies and Television . professional actors collectively, especially star performers.

6. a foreign worker in Singapore

Err my purpose is to let my children get the 1st bite of cherry from govt (something I never got the chance to).

After selling them 5 years later, they can do whatever they want with the cherry money.

But why stay in HDB, when they each have a condo ... and lose their quality of life?

What you have just said ... that is a 'given' for me ... location, CCR, FH - nothing less.

You are not reading ...

I am comparing the likes of HDB in/near Holland & Tanglin areas against those who are rushing to buy outskirts OCR 99-yr LH condos like Sky Habitat ... from an ROI standpoint.

Err my purpose is to let my children get the 1st bite of cherry from govt (something I never got the chance to).

After selling them 5 years later, they can do whatever they want with the cherry money.

But why stay in HDB, when they each have a condo ... and lose their quality of life?

But why assume that staying in a condo always give a better qualify of life? some hdb near alot of amenities and good food, can translate into better quality of life.

Its a matter of perspective and what you're giving up.

I look to some of the places I stayed growing up, and also the balance now if I were to stay in Condo vs HDB.

Right now, the family is perfectly happy in our HDB. Sure it would be nicer to stay in a condo, but I look towards what I would be giving up (in terms of income) vs what I would be gaining by staying in the HDB - and I feel that I would be better served to stay in HDB and then use the "extra" income from Condo to finance other things....