Housing Agent

MadDog70

I have engaged a housing agent 6 months ago, the house should be rented for 1 year.

Recently, the tenant wants to move out, telling us that the agreement allows for termination after 6 months of living.

When I checked the agreement, it says he can terminate provided that he is no longer working in Singapore.

But the housing agent told us that this agent has personal problem, and request us to let him go instead.

Ain't the housing agent suppose to side the owner?

Today, this housing agent even taught the tenant that he can don't pay the last rent, just use the deposit as the payment.

The tenant, who is a gentleman, told us about it and he says he will not do so.

This housing agent is from Huttons Asia Pte Ltd.

We do not want other owners to fall into this ugly agent's way of doing things (got 1 mth commission, yet only 6 mths rental).

Can we lodge a complaint on this housing agent? If so, how?

I have engaged a housing agent 6 months ago, the house should be rented for 1 year.

Recently, the tenant wants to move out, telling us that the agreement allows for termination after 6 months of living.

When I checked the agreement, it says he can terminate provided that he is no longer working in Singapore.

But the housing agent told us that this agent has personal problem, and request us to let him go instead.

Today, this housing agent even taught the tenant that he can don't pay the last rent, just use the deposit as the payment.

We do not want other owners to fall into this ugly agent's way of doing things (got 1 mth commission, yet only 6 mths rental).

Please complain to

http://www.cea.gov.sg/cea/content/index.html

is this the diplomacy clause? can call up company to get some information, but good luck on that. hmm, perhaps can upload your tenancy agreement? but should be quite standard. you can enforce last month rent. using deposit to cover up is not standard. as owner, can refuse.

Hi, can enlighten on the sentence in red, I think my english not good.

ok firstly, the security deposit should be not used to offset the rental unless there was some agreement.

secondly, talk to the Tenant to come to a meeting of minds by offering some alternatives for both parties (e.g. finding replacement Tenant at outgoing Tenant costs, etc)

Hope this clarifies and help.

As for complain, I think someone gave the link to CEA liao, but I think your Termination clause should cover compensation on fees paid to salesperson. You might want to look through your TA

Thanks for the information.

Just wonder if I should/can post his name here.

Suggest not to if going to be investigated. I taking reference from Police, so don't flame me.

Too angry liao, so type too fast. Should be:

"But the housing agent told us that this TENANT has personal problem, and request us to let him go instead."

The agreement protects my interest, but this Tenant is a nice chap, only problem is the agent.

Some more, the agreement is drafted by the agent, he is contradicting himself to protect interest of the Tenant.

This could be the way he is trying to earn more commission.

Edited by MadDog70

Thanks for the information.

Just wonder if I should/can post his name here.

dun get yourself in trouble over potential defamation.

if not happy wif agent, comprain to CEA and let them deal wif it. heard they always on the lookout for bad agents to be made an example of so that the industry wakes up from cowboytown.

cea sop is to suspend first and then investigate. talk to your agent, tell him this is what you are going to do because what he has done is bull s--t (it really is).

also, maybe can request official document from company that he is assigned to other counties. I'm not sure if mom or ica can help you on this, but can try. otherwise can simply refuse unless proof provided. but, honestly, if tenant just skips town.....really not much can do

Too angry liao, so type too fast. Should be:

"But the housing agent told us that this TENANT has personal problem, and request us to let him go instead."

The agreement protects my interest, but this Tenant is a nice chap, only problem is the agent.

Some more, the agreement is drafted by the agent, he is contradicting himself to protect interest of the Tenant.

This could be the way he is trying to earn more commission.

Suggest you look at your TA which i suggested earlier, see your Termination Clause got any compensation that the Tenant should pay should they terminate the Tenancy prematurely. I don't know how your TA was drafted, so shall not comment.

Else you asks the Agent what he intends to do. These are a few suggestions you can consider based on what I'm reading.

Sure hope it's not the one in this forum. I am not an agent but I kena a similar issue before. It depends whether there is a diplomatic clause in the contract or not and how many months notice is required, generally there is no diplomatic clause for 1 year tenancy but usually there is for 2 years contract. I think it's best to come to a compromise with he tenant because it will be worse if he just flies back to his country and no way will you spend the money to sue him and locate him in a foreign country. Hence, my advice is to talk to the tenant nicely, ask him pay one month and forfeit the one month's deposit for breaking the contract, the last time I managed to get two months. I take it as the lead time to find another tenant. I hope this helps.

cea sop is to suspend first and then investigate. talk to your agent, tell him this is what you are going to do because what he has done is bull s--t (it really is).

also, maybe can request official document from company that he is assigned to other counties. I'm not sure if mom or ica can help you on this, but can try. otherwise can simply refuse unless proof provided. but, honestly, if tenant just skips town.....really not much can do

MOM webby can check on the pass validity, but best to asks to get official company letter or similar supporting documents like what Chewbacca indicated. If Tenant skip town, then not worth to chase liao, but he/she better not come back here I guess, blackmarked

Edited by Sorrow

And oh ya I forgot to add, you can claw back the proportion of comm paid to the agent on a pro rota basis, damn, no wonder the agents in the forum hates me so much.

I've not done any 1 year TA before.. but there is for a diplomatic clause for 2-year after completing 1 year so u might want to check your TA and on what grounds he may leave.

As for agent, tell him you got personal problem so can he return the 1/2 month rental commission to you? [laugh]

Lastly, complain to CEA and let them deal with agents like him :angry:

And oh ya I forgot to add, you can claw back the proportion of comm paid to the agent on a pro rota basis, damn, no wonder the agents in the forum hates me so much.

sure ma? I thought claw back from tenant?

No worry, he is not leaving Singapore because he has a biz here, just that his condo is rented out, therefore he is renting my flat for 1 year only.

Recently he told us that his son's school is very far away, so thought of terminating early.

The clause is:

Notwithstanding anything herein contained the said term may at any time after the expiration of the first six (6) months of the said term be determined on documentary evidence that the immediate occupant has ceased or is about to cease to be employed in Singapore or is to be posted out of Singapore permanently during the said term and the Tenant gives to the Landlord two (2) calendar's months' notice in writing of the Tenant's intention to determine the tenancy or two (2) months' rent and hiring in lieu of such notice.

It's clear that we will win the case, but since this tenant is good, we may compromise with him, but not the ugly agent.

Edited by MadDog70

sure ma? I thought claw back from tenant?

Not sure, my agent tell me don't take it back from him last time, he help me get more, but you know la, take what they say with a pinch of salt