Can we mix petrol? Shell + Essos + SPC etc???

Billcoke

Wah...sibei dangerous de! Caltex got small people cleaning inside your engine....shell got the sea inside...esso got tiger.....all will drown! Better dont mix...i joking nia! [laugh]

People...tiger...sea.

Very soon, the "Life of Pi" will reenact itself within your engine. [idea]

IMHO, IF different brand contains different additives, by switching different brands, ones benefits from a broader range of additives.

Anyone in the fuel industry can verify this ?

People...tiger...sea.

Good lar u...can quote Life of Pi.....hahaha...people eaten by the tiger....tiger swallowed by the sea! :D

IMHO, IF different brand contains different additives, by switching different brands, ones benefits from a broader range of additives.

Anyone in the fuel industry can verify this ?

Unless of course different additives are ...er...subtractive. :D

People...tiger...sea.

I always fillup at esso jb...i like jb tiger show inside my puny engine....very slow action! [;)]

Can lah... You drink Evian now... later drink Ice Mountain also no problem right.

I have mixed different brands / different grades.

Dun believe nonsense u hear.

Related to mixing petrol (in a way) ......FIND OUT PRICE OF PETROL

http://www.chenlim.com/fuel/

I am curious what is the motivation for this website. I do not use it. Just bumped into it.

I always stick to one brand and one grade. I do all my driving in SG only.

Anyone here brand blind? As long as look like petrol station just drive in. Or lookout for the cheapest brand of the day and drive in?

No problem to mix them. I've a friend in petro-chemical industry. He said the difference is so minute that it won't affect anything. He even uses RON95 in his bmw when the specification stated RON98. He told me not to get conned by petrol company.

Exactly - it is interesting to see where this urban myth keeps popping up from time to time.

Fair enough as SG is not really a car culture and there are a lot of newbies driving their first car in here so whatever we old hands think it is best to assist them..............

Now, you can mix petrols and RON. Mine can run as low as 92 but the lowest I have run is 95. It likes V Power but not the price. And for some reason I get a bit of "pinging" on Shell 98 but not Caltex Techron 98...weird huh?

The ECU adapts engine conditions to changes in RON so really there is nothing to worry about.

Besides, if you drive into MY and use say SPC then what do you do? And when OS you have a Hire Car which gets filled with everything under the sun.

So its an urban myth perpetuated by the oil industry - just ignore it. And remember all fuels here come from one refinery right? So therein lies your answer. Marketing puffery really............

When overseas, we use rental car, so don't really bother with mix petrol. As for own car, being very expensive in SG, we tend to take extra care not to incur extra maintenance cost. If the cars here cost $20-30k like those in Australia, I would pick the cheapest petrol.

But i will use the best for best performance as i have extra dollar to throw around.

RON 100 , any one ?

About 15 years ago, I totally believed that I should only pump one brand. With the hardy cars and skilled mechanics around, it is no longer an issue. I've stopped driving for a long time and recently started again. Frankly, I am amazed at the technology in today's cars. It will take much more than different brands of petrol to take it down.

But i will use the best for best performance as i have extra dollar to throw around.

RON 100 , any one ?

static2_hr.jpg

This is almost ron 100.

i saw the episode where they put diesel into a petrol engine and vice versa.

both worked fine [rolleyes]

Er................U put petrol in a diesel engine n it wil accelerate till it explode hor. [laugh]

Wow this thread smtj, so many prisoners here one ar

Saw this title sb funny

Next question- can we mix 92 95 98 etc etc

[:p]

Next question is: Can we pump air into our tires from different brands of petrol stations? [laugh]

If we put kerosene in, can our cars take off like aeroplanes? :D

dont mix caltex 98, shell v power and SPC 92 can already haha

I mix anything n everything in my car n it feels more powerful n gives very good FC summore. [thumbsup]