Philipkee Twincharged August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 Ya whenever I need to top-up b4 going to Jb to fill, I go to the SPC at woodlands n ty always ask if I hv the POSB CC. Then the discount is higher. Otherwise there is a standard discount. I asked the cashier, "Since there is a standard discount to every customer, why not just reduce the posted price of yr petrol." She just shrugged n smiled n got no answer. So this tells us that the oil companies hv come to some kind of aggrement not to undercut each other on the official selling price. Isnt that a Cartel at work n shudnt the gharmen b taking action against them then????? I think it is because it is easier to reduce discount than to increase prices. Just in case. That is also why they rather give discounts and rebates than to cut the actual price of goods as well. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 Ah ok. Some countries even supermarket sell unbranded petrols. Cheaper than those branded. And there ty wil put big posters in front giving a clear indication of how much their petrol costs so u can make a quick decision which station u wan to fill at. Here the oil companies dun wan to go into a price war cos then only the motorists wil b the winners. Here ty give very confusing n complicated discounts n tie u in with certain credit cards so not easy to tell at a glance how much u r paying fr a lit of 92, 95 or 98 petrol. ya.. i remember 7-eleven was selling fuel in australia. i pumped there in my friend's old-pok car throughout my stay cos it was the cheapest for the same grade no issue also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 I think it is because it is easier to reduce discount than to increase prices. Just in case. That is also why they rather give discounts and rebates than to cut the actual price of goods as well. But strange ty dun advertise big big their actual selling price. But I think all petrol companies give discounts, only the amt varies from different schemes. This makes it very difficult to compare prices between brands. U know in biz ty say, "If u cant convince them, confuse them." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 26, 2013 Share August 26, 2013 ya.. i remember 7-eleven was selling fuel in australia. i pumped there in my friend's old-pok car throughout my stay cos it was the cheapest for the same grade no issue also But still the best is Indo n Thai where kids wil steal petrol n sell it in soft drinks bottles along the roadside. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheChosenOne 1st Gear October 15, 2013 Share October 15, 2013 My bus uncle used to mix diesel with v-power on his bus and he said it Cheong like crazy but no prob Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tennis_ball Clutched October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 i mix when i need to, e.g. bigger discount, convenience etc. makes no difference among grades, and among brands. brands are created to make differentiation thus trying to make monopoly, if you study economics. but they are just like clothes you can mix and match with no problems. just don't mix diesel with gas, that's all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 My bus uncle used to mix diesel with v-power on his bus and he said it Cheong like crazy but no pro I can never imagine seeing a bus pumping v-power.. last time got the website petr*lw*tch.com right? now like no one maintaining it to give information on which is the most best discount.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 By right, paying in cash should give us the most discounts right? But in sunny Singapore, it's the reverse. Sillypore is a very strange country with many strange pple. My bus uncle used to mix diesel with v-power on his bus and he said it Cheong like crazy but no prob U sud never put petrol in a diesel engine. The engine wil over rev till it explodes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tennis_ball Clutched October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 sg people lack common sense. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 U sud never put petrol in a diesel engine. The engine wil over rev till it explodes. One time, I sprayed some volatile cleaner into my diesel intake manifold. Lots of fire crackers exploding until I scared. Luckily it stopped, once they were all consumed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamstart 1st Gear October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 This thread let me thought of one question. Can we drink Coke, Pepsi, Lemon tea, Green tea? I believe we all did. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonathan409 1st Gear October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 petrol...different grade...still petrol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopisiewtai 1st Gear October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 Try not to mix octane level. Brand doesnt matter la. I buy according to discount card at the time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simonsoh 2nd Gear October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 QUOTE (Pisces69 @ Aug 25 2013, 11:21 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}> Ya whenever I need to top-up b4 going to Jb to fill, I go to the SPC at woodlands n ty always ask if I hv the POSB CC. Then the discount is higher. Otherwise there is a standard discount. I asked the cashier, "Since there is a standard discount to every customer, why not just reduce the posted price of yr petrol." She just shrugged n smiled n got no answer. So this tells us that the oil companies hv come to some kind of aggrement not to undercut each other on the official selling price. Isnt that a Cartel at work n shudnt the gharmen b taking action against them then????? I think it is because it is easier to reduce discount than to increase prices. Just in case. That is also why they rather give discounts and rebates than to cut the actual price of goods as well. erm... the additional discounts on top of site discounts, who absord one? i always tot the issuing bank absorbs them? like Fish and Co, 10% for all citi cards... who absorbs the 10%? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 One time, I sprayed some volatile cleaner into my diesel intake manifold. Lots of fire crackers exploding until I scared. Luckily it stopped, once they were all consumed. I know last time when those taxi uncles cannot start their diesel taxis, ty wil soak a cloth with some petrol n hold it over the air intake of their taxi n the taxi wil start immediately. Only the petrol fumes is enough to kick the old diesel engines into life. Imagine u put petrol in the engine. Ka- pow. This thread let me thought of one question. Can we drink Coke, Pepsi, Lemon tea, Green tea? I believe we all did. U can even add some whisky to it if its to yr taste. But wil u add floor cleaner into yr washing machine? Try not to mix octane level. Brand doesnt matter la. I buy according to discount card at the time I put different octane level in my tank all the time. No problem. As long as the end result (average) is not lower than the minimum octane requirment of yr car. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ruzmidah 2nd Gear October 17, 2013 Share October 17, 2013 Can mix octane levels lah. As long as minimum octane required by car can liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged October 18, 2013 Share October 18, 2013 erm... the additional discounts on top of site discounts, who absord one? i always tot the issuing bank absorbs them? like Fish and Co, 10% for all citi cards... who absorbs the 10%? I think the issue is that the discounts are factored into the price. Fofr example, in order to make a profit, I need to sell at 2 dollars. I then sell at 2 dollars twenty cents with ten percent discount for certain credit card (site discounts) and so on. This is because if one day I need to sell at 2.10 dollars, i dun have to increase price, just need to reduce discount. Do credit cards absorb costs? I dun think so. I personally think this is just a gimmick to make ppl use that particular card. Maybe the 10% credit card discount is = to the commission the bank gives the outlet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear October 18, 2013 Share October 18, 2013 Just buy diesal cars. Only one type of diesal in singapore. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...