Acemundo Supercharged June 8, 2012 Share June 8, 2012 maybe your boss himself wanted to buy..haha..scared your HR buys it haha.....no la...shrewd person would use their intelligence to think. why would anyone want to rent a small size condo in woodlands unless the price is lower than hdb. if rent so low, what is the yield going to be? surely not worth it for investment. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 8, 2012 Share June 8, 2012 ever heard the property agent talk down properties? ever heard the stockbroker talk down stocks? ever heard the vegetable seller talk down his greens? ever heard the programmer talk down his programs? so there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged June 8, 2012 Share June 8, 2012 (edited) There is nothing wrong with shoebox apartments I agree. Only something wrong with the price. Its like selling matchsticks 1 by 1 instead of selling a box... Edited June 8, 2012 by Tigerwoods Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged June 8, 2012 Share June 8, 2012 act even 1 month early also HDB dun give chance. my sis real life experience, fined 23k. but looking at how her ppty increased more than 400k now, she jus treat it as a speeding ticket. wow, strangely my friend succeeded in appealing to hdb le. but your sis is lucky. liek you say, the fine is nothing much haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear June 8, 2012 Author Share June 8, 2012 haha.....no la...shrewd person would use their intelligence to think. why would anyone want to rent a small size condo in woodlands unless the price is lower than hdb. if rent so low, what is the yield going to be? surely not worth it for investment. Aiya, there's always gonna be ppl who want to rent, maybe expat work nearby or the rest of the rental apartment too ex? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged June 8, 2012 Share June 8, 2012 ever heard the property agent talk down properties? ever heard the stockbroker talk down stocks? ever heard the vegetable seller talk down his greens? ever heard the programmer talk down his programs? ever heard the ruling party talk down his masters and peers ? so there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 8, 2012 Share June 8, 2012 act even 1 month early also HDB dun give chance. my sis real life experience, fined 23k. but looking at how her ppty increased more than 400k now, she jus treat it as a speeding ticket. well done HDB, for sticking to the rules here. well doen your sister for making money in property Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged June 8, 2012 Share June 8, 2012 Aiya, there's always gonna be ppl who want to rent, maybe expat work nearby or the rest of the rental apartment too ex? i give you another example. recently i went to view one unit in dover. not the top location but considered a better than average location. the agent market it as unit with good rental income and leased out to corporate tenant. i look at the rental agreement, the company is situated in senoko, near woodlands and why are they renting dover area? there is a decent amount of prestige to be accorded to expats so don't expect them to rent woodlands area condo. admittedly there are expats on local terms as well. but if you realise, such expats are not so inclined to pay much more although they don't mind paying a little bit more for the facilities. if woodlands hdb can rent 2k, you reckon an expat on local terms will want to rent a shoebox (2 times smaller) at 2k also? even if rental is 2k, the yield is still too low to justify as good investment choice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear June 8, 2012 Share June 8, 2012 Buying a shoe box unit at a cheaper price is definately less stressful when market collapses. A person who stretch his budget to buy a normal unit at $1.6mill compared to a shoebox unit at $700k, will surely be in bigger shiet when the 30% market drop. Both cases will be underwater, at least one 'loses' less $$$ in a shoe box unit as the loan is lesser. So I agree shoe box unit should stay, as it really gives youngsters a dream home to work for. And a claim to staying in private properties! My last point is simple - if the market collapses (by say 30%) or weakens, and you took an 80% ltv on this apartment, the bank will most definitely ask you to top up the balance. (and you'd already be underwater on your loan, but that really depends on location. also, bigger apartments will be affected too..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear June 8, 2012 Author Share June 8, 2012 haha.....no la...shrewd person would use their intelligence to think. why would anyone want to rent a small size condo in woodlands unless the price is lower than hdb. if rent so low, what is the yield going to be? surely not worth it for investment. For that place, say cost is $398,000, say if u can rent out $1800 p.m which is realistic i think, annual yield is 5%. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 8, 2012 Share June 8, 2012 Buying a shoe box unit at a cheaper price is definately less stressful when market collapses. A person who stretch his budget to buy a normal unit at $1.6mill compared to a shoebox unit at $700k, will surely be in bigger shiet when the 30% market drop. Both cases will be underwater, at least one 'loses' less $$$ in a shoe box unit as the loan is lesser. So I agree shoe box unit should stay, as it really gives youngsters a dream home to work for. And a claim to staying in private properties! My last point is simple - if the market collapses (by say 30%) or weakens, and you took an 80% ltv on this apartment, the bank will most definitely ask you to top up the balance. (and you'd already be underwater on your loan, but that really depends on location. also, bigger apartments will be affected too..... i welcome markets to drop 30% happy man here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 8, 2012 Share June 8, 2012 For that place, say cost is $398,000, say if u can rent out $1800 p.m which is realistic i think, annual yield is 5%. i sell you my sweaty table cleaning towel for $3 can lend it for 3cts a day. cost recoup in 100days! guess whats the return on that? you wanna buy? life is not as easy as that, brother. maybe 5 yrs ago, not now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged June 8, 2012 Share June 8, 2012 Buying a shoe box unit at a cheaper price is definately less stressful when market collapses. A person who stretch his budget to buy a normal unit at $1.6mill compared to a shoebox unit at $700k, will surely be in bigger shiet when the 30% market drop. Both cases will be underwater, at least one 'loses' less $$$ in a shoe box unit as the loan is lesser. So I agree shoe box unit should stay, as it really gives youngsters a dream home to work for. And a claim to staying in private properties! My last point is simple - if the market collapses (by say 30%) or weakens, and you took an 80% ltv on this apartment, the bank will most definitely ask you to top up the balance. (and you'd already be underwater on your loan, but that really depends on location. also, bigger apartments will be affected too..... actually, from my experience, if the loan is a big amount and the bank thinks they should allow you to keep paying (even at a slower pace) they will allow you to do it since its not worthwhile for them to take on falling assets on their bs. whereas for smaller properties, banks have been known to push for mortgagee sale ... i agree with you simon, they should have shoebox units. but they should cut down on the number, and at least provide some basic living space. i've been to quite a few viewings of shoebox units and its really, really cramped. im pretty sure my college dorm was about the same size .. lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged June 8, 2012 Share June 8, 2012 u know d mkt is bad when developers mud sling each other. Good times they too busy selling projects, now slow liao, lim kopi tok kok n mud sling Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged June 8, 2012 Share June 8, 2012 (edited) For that place, say cost is $398,000, say if u can rent out $1800 p.m which is realistic i think, annual yield is 5%. you sure there is $398k unit theer? for yoru information, psf range sold there i just checked ranged between 951-1099. for the shoeboxes, you can be sure it is nearer the 1099psf. meanign a 500 sq ft shoe box cost $549,500. hence it is only 3.9% yield and we are not even sure if your estimate of 1800 rent is achievable. you sure can rent out $1800? this one is untested market. as far as i know woodlands area are mostly factory and hence very little expats. mostly foreign workers who stays in dorms hor. even those expats working there are senior management which like the example i give, lived in a further condo because of the prestige factor. Edited June 8, 2012 by Acemundo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 8, 2012 Share June 8, 2012 Aiya, there's always gonna be ppl who want to rent, maybe expat work nearby or the rest of the rental apartment too ex? my chinese very bad but 老 黄 卖 黄 瓜 ? dont laugh, my first attempt at writing chinese ever, on a forum Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear June 8, 2012 Share June 8, 2012 well done HDB, for sticking to the rules here. well doen your sister for making money in property no time no hear from u sia...lau pa sat ok wat stil many pple eat there. i only dun like the FTs bring their own lunchboxes and hog the tables. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged June 8, 2012 Share June 8, 2012 you sure there is $398k unit theer? for yoru information, psf range sold there i just checked ranged between 951-1099. for the shoeboxes, you can be sure it is nearer the 1099psf. meanign a 500 sq ft shoe box cost $549,500. hence it is only 3.9% yield and we are not even sure if your estimate of 1800 rent is achievable. you sure can rent out $1800? this one is untested market. as far as i know woodlands area are mostly factory and hence very little expats. even those expats are senior management which like the example i give, lived in a further condo because of the prestige factor. here .. this should help you decide: (i believe woodlands is postal district 25 right?). this is for last quarter. if a shoebox unit is 500 sqft, the median is about $1400 in rental. Property Type : Non-Landed - All (exclude EC) Postal District : 25 Reference Period : From 2012 JAN To 2012 APR Data Analysis Analysis Variable : Rental(psf) Vertical Axis : Property Type in $ psf per month Minimum | 25th Percentile |Median | 75th Percentile |Maximum Non-Landed Residential Property 1.90 | 2.64 | 2.78 | 3.06 | 3.5 (sorry for the alignment issues) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...