Red packet = Corruption?

questionedfish

If you can ask a question like this, pardon my saying, but it seems that you're thinking how you could legally accept tokens from the people whom you've got a buiness or working relationship with - if its a one-off like a wedding dinner, fair enough.

In the case of CNY, I have to say the concept of seniority applies, not in terms of age, but service buyer > service provider. If you feel the other party has something to gain, or a motive by offering you a red packet, don't take it. The request for a favour could have come before, or could come later on.

Those public and civil servants here will know what I mean.

Cannot moonlight in government sector. So where got gigolo to begin with? Rule of thumb is always don't get too involved. Once sink in, better declare to safeguard yourself and prevent sinking in further.

Was told in some neighbouring countries, head of department often ladies. Can be different requirements?

I don't quite get you. What does it got to do with head of department is a female? Bribery and corruption don't differentiate by male or female.

Was told in some neighbouring countries, head of department often ladies. Can be different requirements?

you mean these char bos get promoted as heads becoz they are female? :o

Local scene was the husband introduced his wife to his supervisors' wives during Christmas party... His wife go shopping with their wives and bought them presents.

it sounds complicated.... maybe high ranking officers must be given wife-allowance, on top of their high salary, to prevent wife's corruptions? :D

I did not ask that question at that time [confused] But they allowed to have 4 wives...

that means the organisation has at least four departments, each one needs a head [thumbsup]

it sounds complicated.... maybe high ranking officers must be given wife-allowance, on top of their high salary, to prevent wife's corruptions? :D

Unless confessed, no one would had comprehended the situation/protocol

If you are a civil servant, receiving a red packet is a BIG no-no

If you are one of those MNC, the rules may relax - I came across an instance where one has to declare if the amount in the redpacket excess certain $$$.

i tink the rules of corruption applies to all.

juz look at the recent 4 hotel chefs case. they civil servants meh?

Normally MNCs will have rules stating whether it is permissible to accept/reject it.

But SMEs is more unstated..,

Furthermore the grey area here is red packet, not an outright monetary reward or personal gains

my experience is, SME their bosses very particular. you can give to boss but not their staff. likely if your client is working in SME, then i think hard to give liao.

Very good idea!

So dont open the gifts or red packet.

Even sex between two adults with work relationship can be considered as bribe.

How about those freebies solicited for the company DnD? Considered as bribes or corruption or not?

These are conveniently called "sponsors".

i tink the rules of corruption applies to all.

juz look at the recent 4 hotel chefs case. they civil servants meh?

they stay lah, and you cannot be too greedy <_<

Cannot accept. For public listed companies, even hamper also should give to HR.

Yeah, thatz what my company doing.

Then the HR unwrap the hampers, sell the liquors to staff for cash and donate it to our appointed charity. Then the other stuff like abalone n chocolates, etc... they put a number on it and give them out during company events as lucky draw. <_<

If it's chinese new year period, and your customer/contractor gives you a red packet with $$$ inside..

It is considered corruption under the law to accept it?

Accepting hampers also consider as corruption... -_-

The law of corruption is sitting on a very thin line. All is needed is a complainant and you are in. Accepting a cup of kopi (90c) could also classify under corruption act if the one giving treat need a favour from you.... [sly]

If he don't get any benifits later from you, he report = you kana.... [furious]

Cannot accept. For public listed companies, even hamper also should give to HR.

depend if they got a rule on accepting gift from supplier.

some have a gift limit base on value..