Shull Turbocharged June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 at the center is easier to spot the rank as compare to side when someone walking towards you bah. I think the rationale is when in the field, it's more difficult for enemy snipers to spot the rank when it's wore in the centre as compared to on the shoulder.. especially when one is wearing body armour that totally cover up the chest.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 (edited) You are wrong. Many replies here are also wrong. FYI. It is not "Tiger Skin" but "Tiger stripes" camo patterns first used by Vietnam special forces (LLDB). US LRRP teams caught on with the trend seeing how well the camo prints works. Pixelated uniforms actually does work to some extend. The patterns create a slight confusion to the eye to make the wearer more difficult to spot. The only reason the US Army Combat Uniform failed is because it tried to use one uniform for both desert and woodland environment. It is neither here nor there. Notice how the US Marines and SAF resisted that move. For them, it works well. The US ACU is designed entirely by enlisted men. I guess US Army PEO would not give them that chance again. I attach a pic here. Look how well the SAF pixelated uniform blends into local environment. SAF all the while is copying what the US military is using, only implemented it slightly later. Temasek green uniform - quite a familiar sight during the Vietnam War, followed by the "tiger skin" and now the pixelated uniform. The folks at DSTA ain't researching hard enough for our very own version of a camo uniform. Maybe the only thing SAF can proclaim different from the US counterpart is our uniforms are cooler to wear in this climate. Edited June 25, 2012 by Davidtkl Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 I think they should get the Harry Potter's invisible cloak... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 I think the rationale is when in the field, it's more difficult for enemy snipers to spot the rank when it's wore in the centre as compared to on the shoulder.. especially when one is wearing body armour that totally cover up the chest.. Lateral thinking ... You snipe the guy who just stand around pointing here and there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 I think the rationale is when in the field, it's more difficult for enemy snipers to spot the rank when it's wore in the centre as compared to on the shoulder.. especially when one is wearing body armour that totally cover up the chest.. but who want to snipe a staff sergeant. Officer rank will be remove when war time come. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 but who want to snipe a staff sergeant. Officer rank will be remove when war time come. Officer rank include WO too? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 Officer rank include WO too? yeah. remember their rank on the shoulder. heard that will be tear away when real war come. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 (edited) The real reason is to remove the epaulettes in the uniform to reduce stress points when wearing a backpack or integrated armor. The original idea is to have WOSE still sew their ranks on the shoulder sleeves but someone came up with this idea to reduce sewing needs, cut costs for the WOSE. I think that is a great idea. The old no.4 feels more like a soldier.. especially with the new uniform, location of rank is put in the centre liao.. Edited June 25, 2012 by Davidtkl Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 yeah we gonna change uniform again! pls dun... i went thru three uniforms (temasek during NCC, camouflage during NS, pixel during ICTs) let me complete my reservist in peace! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 pls dun... i went thru three uniforms (temasek during NCC, camouflage during NS, pixel during ICTs) let me complete my reservist in peace! this one also count Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemo6089 1st Gear June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 I think any changes is still better than those solid green or kaki ones I wear during my time in the army and navy lah. You guys are so fortunate, you don't have to iron your uniforms or polish your boots. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 I think any changes is still better than those solid green or kaki ones I wear during my time in the army and navy lah. You guys are so fortunate, you don't have to iron your uniforms or polish your boots. still need to lah, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Royho1979 Clutched June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 I attach a pic here. Look how well the SAF pixelated uniform blends into local environment. Local environment? Er... In where... MBS? Suntec city, Tanjong Pagar and other local environment, the uniform sticks out like a sorethumb... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 Local environment? Er... In where... MBS? Suntec city, Tanjong Pagar and other local environment, the uniform sticks out like a sorethumb... you are talking about urban warfare liao. our Number 4 are usually design for plantation warfare due to the obvious. you dont use the same uniform for natural enviroment in urban warfare. please be fair in your comment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 To be honest, uniform is not the most important. IDF still wearing uniform from 60s era. You dare mess with them? Unlike Diablo 3, it's the man not the clothes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 Local environment? Er... In where... MBS? Suntec city, Tanjong Pagar and other local environment, the uniform sticks out like a sorethumb... Well in terms of environment He mean the environment that SAF primarily operates...that's is in the tropical forests of SEA. If you follow SAF deployments, they issue specific camos to specify areas. eg. In Afghan the team was issue desert colored pixel camo. Some history, the camo was introduced by US early 2000s, SAF did not blindly change, they did they own tests and modified the pixelated color codes to suit the area of ops. If blindly follow we would be using the fugly gray pixel camo liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 Why don't SAF issue a uniform that is green on one side and urban gray on the other? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 25, 2012 Share June 25, 2012 Why don't SAF issue a uniform that is green on one side and urban gray on the other? how thick you want the uniform to be ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...