Car scrap & body value

Turbonetics

Scrapped our family car in April (Apr 05 Altis 1.6A) & got 1000 for the body... after calling many scrapyards/dealers listed on sgcarmart...according to scrapyard it would be exported (nt sure as a whole car or as parts)

How come the car still can be exported even though it has reached 10th year?

Resale to other countries I think. It's kind of funny actually, cos after dereg (did it ourselves at lta) we were looking at the LTA online documents and it stated country of export was malaysia

just to confirm.....

let's say, if the coe expires on 1st October 2015, then if you bring the car to scrap on 1st October 2015 on the day itself, is it that the OMV = $0, COE rebate = $0...

cos, my friend argue with me that drive til the very last day, still have 50% OMV back wor....

Resale to other countries I think. It's kind of funny actually, cos after dereg (did it ourselves at lta) we were looking at the LTA online documents and it stated country of export was malaysia

So not all 10 year old car will be crashed as scrap metal?! I think export to other countries not bad, cause some 10 year old car in quite a good condition, scrap them into sheet of metal a bit wasted.

I followed a friend to scrap his 10-yrs-old car weeks ago. COE is zero, correct. OMV is 50%, which will be given to the car owner 2-3 weeks after the car is scrapped.

thanks bro...so still have the OMV of 50% part.....

ok. can go tell my friend then. cos he intended to drive to the very last day, which i told him better don't :p

So not all 10 year old car will be crashed as scrap metal?! I think export to other countries not bad, cause some 10 year old car in quite a good condition, scrap them into sheet of metal a bit wasted.

Generally most cars in Sg are still perfectly fine @ 10 years.. really a pity...visit the scrapyards and your heart will sink when you see perfectly fine cars going for scrap... export gives them a second lease of life to serve someone else in another part of the world :)

Hi, anyone can pass me the contact to scrap altis? Thank You

PMed :) market conditions may be diff now..hope you can get a favourable offer

Altis gt $1000? Mine I just scrapped for $600 onli :( this week

600 ? ohh :( maybe less demand now ? When I was calling around in march..got offers from 500-800, finally got 1000 on the day of sending the car to the scrapyard

Edited by SiLangKia

Some pics from when we sent our altis for scrap, including our altis.. quite a pity

Are we able to buy parts from the scrap yard? where is this place?

i called 1 scrap yard and the person told me they need my car to have

1) Head Unit

2) Sports Rims

3) IU unit

Is that normal? can we give them steel rims?

rubbish. mine went w/o HU

Some pics from when we sent our altis for scrap, including our altis.. quite a pity

Your friend altis condition looks quite good leh, lucky they are not going to scrap the car into metal. So did your friend buy another car?

So which scrapyard you went to?

Generally most cars in Sg are still perfectly fine @ 10 years.. really a pity...visit the scrapyards and your heart will sink when you see perfectly fine cars going for scrap... export gives them a second lease of life to serve someone else in another part of the world :)

Agreed, heart really pain when i see those perfectly good condition cars going for scrap, when i passed by those scrapyard. Our car policy here not green at all, scrap got cars only at 10 years!

Your friend altis condition looks quite good leh, lucky they are not going to scrap the car into metal. So did your friend buy another car?

Agreed, heart really pain when i see those perfectly good condition cars going for scrap, when i passed by those scrapyard. Our car policy here not green at all, scrap got cars only at 10 years!

That's actually our Altis, yeah 1 owner all the way.. we took good care of it.. wanted to renew the COE but decided to go for second hand instead... bought a 9 yr old peugeot 307 and used it for about 2 weeks plus before getting hit by someone who ran the traffic light.. driving a civic 1.8 now :P

Since so many asked, I guess no harm in posting the address : Kheng keng Auto, 47 Sungei Kadut Loop S(729512)

As a car lover it hurts to see them taking these cars apart..so can't stay at the yard for too long :P

Are we able to buy parts from the scrap yard? where is this place?

I think You can.. saw them storing lots of parts.. its at sungei kadut... might go there to look for rims for our FD civic

http://www.sgcarmart.com/directory/merchant.php?MID=14566

yeah me too

old truck need some parts liao [grin]

hahaha what kind of truck ? didn't really see many trucks there but probably have parts la..

Do we need to repair the car before scrapping? Front bumper and hood dented but all else is ok..headlights all working fine and no damage to radiator and engine bay...due for scrapping at year end.

Dun feel like putting money in