Raffles Place Robbery + Killing..

VellfireS

UPDATED (25 August 2012, 3:13pm to add shopper's account)

A 26-year-old man was found dead by the stairwell of a shopping centre in Raffles Place on Friday afternoon.

Police said they responded to a call for assistance at 11 Collyer Quay, the site of The Arcade, at 4:34pm and, upon arrival, found the man motionless. The Indonesian-Chinese male was pronounced dead by paramedics shortly after 5pm.

Channel NewsAsia quoted a money-changer at the centre, Mohd Ali, as saying that the deceased was from Batam and regularly changed money with money changers in the area, sometimes up to S$100,000.

A man who was at the scene, 24-year-old investment analyst Asyraf, said that eye witnesses told him they found the dead body in the staircase and that the incident appeared to be a robbery that escalated into a killing.

"We couldn't see the crime scene from where we were standing and there were no signs of blood or anything. There was a man in his twenties crying beside a closed door which led to the staircase, and I was told that he is actually the victim's brother. To my understanding, they were both robbed at the same time," he told Yahoo! Singapore Saturday.

He described the crying man as Chinese with short black hair and wearing a white polo.

"It was heart wrenching to see him cry like that, sort of like in a whimper, very exhausted, to know that your brother is behind the other side of the door lying in a pool of blood, dead. I couldn't bear to watch his misery any further and I took my leave after a few minutes," Asyraf added.

Yahoo! Singapore understands that no arrests have been made, but police have classified this as an unnatural death and are investigating.

Additional reporting by Melissa Law

Source: http://sg.news.yahoo.com/man-found-dead-in...ing-centre.html

No joke.. Rather scary.. :ph34r: :ph34r:

usually robbery involving money changers are planned. when one keeps having a routine to change a large some of money, he would end up as easy target eventually.

hope the police are able to catch the murderer soon.

I also think not simple. But I heard from news in 10k, not 100k. Anyway, this type of case high chances surveillance by the robber for some times. Else, seldom people kena rob at money changer if they don't frequent that place. If really robbery, i think will be jail for lifetime. Robbery with hurt using weapon, multiple wounds would make it into a murder. Die lah, see which lawyer wants to fight if he kena caught.

What kind of dirty business is he involved in? Changing 100k regularly?

don't be a frog in the well lah

don't you know there are people who earns by "speculating" in various exchange rates?

last time when i worked in Raffles Place, i used that staircase regularly!

whenever the escalator broke down (they always broke down) or to siam the credit card marketeers

and yep, it's one of the isolated corners in an otherwise crowded Raffles Place

I also think not simple. But I heard from news in 10k, not 100k. Anyway, this type of case high chances surveillance by the robber for some times. Else, seldom people kena rob at money changer if they don't frequent that place. If really robbery, i think will be jail for lifetime. Robbery with hurt using weapon, multiple wounds would make it into a murder. Die lah, see which lawyer wants to fight if he kena caught.

That arcade place is an attraction for robberies. Full of money changers and lots of people changing there. No need to surveillance. Just randomly robbery also can.

i heard the place offers the best exchange rate locally.

Yup coz they serve the Corporates in CBD.

I ever change money there. Think it's too open. People are all standing around looking. Can't tell who is who. U are counting Yr money on the open counter. People can see how much u have

last time when i worked in Raffles Place, i used that staircase regularly!

whenever the escalator broke down (they always broke down) or to siam the credit card marketeers

and yep, it's one of the isolated corners in an otherwise crowded Raffles Place

got to say.. haha.. The Arcade is one of the oldest buildings around there that I have been to.. Yupps.. The staircase.. really isolated..

The deceased is from batam and is a money changer as well. -_-

Arcade offers a very good rate thus many Batam money changers go over there.

Yep that place is kinda open as lots of $$ change hands...think for next few days will have poor business for them liao.

Once I change about 8k for my business trip also can see someone "bio" around...especially those OLs where they count $$ openly not at the money changer there but walking away... [shakehead]

Do be careful guys, change and count at the counter and ask the money changer for an envelope and keep the $$ inside to hide from invasive eyes... [rolleyes]

What kind of dirty business is he involved in? Changing 100k regularly?

It is not unusual for Indonesians to carry large amount of cash from Singapore. Also include many of our SEA countries.

Apparently the money changer has 900k with him when he was robbed...put up a struggle and was stabbed.. :wacko:

http://news.omy.sg/News/Local%2BNews/Story...655-359124.html

传钱币商遇害时 身携90万新元

谋杀印尼钱币兑换商的凶手疑是熟人,坊间传闻死者遇害时,身携90万新元的巨款。

《新明日报》昨天报道,26岁印尼籍钱币兑换商Suhardi Tan(阿喜),前午4时许被发现身中20多刀,惨死在哥烈码头雅吉拱廊二楼的楼梯间。

死者是雅吉拱廊的熟脸孔,每周一至五都会到事发商场兑换钱币,金额介于2万到20万元。

事发时,他相信是在与林一名男子在楼梯间点算钞票,不久后就被发现倒卧在血泊中。

据《新明日报》了解,凶手相信是熟人,事发前与死者发生纠纷,但双方具体为什么而吵,则有待进一步调查。

完整报道,请翻阅26.08.2012《新明日报》。

20120826_grl_lcn_arcade-murder_img_main.jpg

Random pick may not yield a high return. Base on profiling and target selection, they can effectively rob him and make a escape route effectively. Random robbery they wouldn't be able to escape that fast. My take is he is marked all the way from the start.