Hyundai Veloster

Saturnz

I think everyone has their own perception of which is higher or better or worse.

we should discontinue this and just focus more on cars

To me, both scirocco and veloster have beautiful bodylines and are great designs in their own rights

If they were the same capacity and the same price, i think i would choose the VW as i prefer the interior.

That aside, a Veloster still turns my head when i see it.

Not sure for how long though.

I do find that continental designs "last" longer than the japs or koreans...

Agree with your first statement.

Ya, I waiting to see how I feel about my VT's design over the next several years. For me, Kia Koup which is now in its 3rd/4th year still looks quite nice. But I tink one of the longest lasting nice design in the A4. The previous model (before the current face lift one) still looks very nice today. But Golf V starting to look old. But on the whole, maybe designs which are less striking in the first place tend to last longer (i.e. so called "evergreen" design) cos a unique design risks going "out of fashion".

For me, the deciding factors were the design, higher engine specs and the extra rear door. Of course there was the problem of the DSG for the VW. I didn't feel I have any less "face" for buying a cheaper car. In fact, probably the opposite, when I drove my VT to office on first day it created much more excitement among my colleagues (and even bosses) than my other colleagues who drove their new VWs, BMWs and Mercs (strangely my company don't have any Audi).

Less common car gets more attention mah.... [thumbsup]

If C180/C200 or 318/320, nobody chup...

Finally test drove the VT, since I was having a meeting at Komoco on Tue. Frankly, disappointing.

Guys, sorry for my honesty but hope you will be able to mod the car for better performance.

PS: My own car is a typical example of a lacklustre performer at stock. So........... yeah, please look at the comments positively. :D

Obviously, I'm not stock anymore.

Finally test drove the VT, since I was having a meeting at Komoco on Tue. Frankly, disappointing.

Guys, sorry for my honesty but hope you will be able to mod the car for better performance.

PS: My own car is a typical example of a lacklustre performer at stock. So........... yeah, please look at the comments positively. :D

I'm happy with mine, stock. Heh heg

Agree with your first statement.

Ya, I waiting to see how I feel about my VT's design over the next several years. For me, Kia Koup which is now in its 3rd/4th year still looks quite nice. But I tink one of the longest lasting nice design in the A4. The previous model (before the current face lift one) still looks very nice today. But Golf V starting to look old. But on the whole, maybe designs which are less striking in the first place tend to last longer (i.e. so called "evergreen" design) cos a unique design risks going "out of fashion".

Yes , wilder designs tend to go out quicker.

But over and above that, its how the brand maintains the design philosophy.

If a model retains its core design, it makes it iconic

Compared to another that continously tries to be new and different which each generation.

Kia Koup couldnt hold my attention longer than 16secs, haha.

Enjoy your Veloster Dude, i will keep a lookout for you

Well probably test drive not the best way to assess it as route is fixed and you probably can't push that much with the traffic around. I booked mine without even testing.

Sure, its no EVO or WRX STI but *at the price* I still believe you can't find a better performing car at this time. Having said that, many of the VT (and even V NA) owners have souped up our rides. Personally I upgraded to Advan 19" with 235/35/19 GY F1 Asymm2, open pod air filter and BC coilovers.

P.S. you didn't say exactly what was it that was disappointing.

Yes , wilder designs tend to go out quicker.

But over and above that, its how the brand maintains the design philosophy.

If a model retains its core design, it makes it iconic

Compared to another that continously tries to be new and different which each generation.

Kia Koup couldnt hold my attention longer than 16secs, haha.

Enjoy your Veloster Dude, i will keep a lookout for you

Remains to be seen whether the Veloster will be a one off model - so far roc has had no follow up models yet either. I believe it was around before even Golf VI came out and now already Golf VII and Roc has not even had so much as a face lift if i'm not wrong.

I am the yellow VT with the rear orange trim at the diffuser in the earlier picture :)

Remains to be seen whether the Veloster will be a one off model - so far roc has had no follow up models yet either. I believe it was around before even Golf VI came out and now already Golf VII and Roc has not even had so much as a face lift if i'm not wrong.

I am the yellow VT with the rear orange trim at the diffuser in the earlier picture :)

The current Roc is already the 3rd generation.

Contis usually have a facelift after 4-5 yrs and a new series altoghter after about 7-8yrs.

I think that the Roc will continue seeing its popularity.

All look the same to me leh. How to tell the difference?

First Gen Roc in 1973

280px-VW_Scirocco_1973.jpg

2nd Gen Roc in 1982

280px-VW_Scirocco_front_20080703.jpg

Contis usually have a facelift after 4-5 yrs and a new series altoghter after about 7-8yrs.

I think that the Roc will continue seeing its popularity.

The funny thing is Golf 6 has a very short lifespan.

Well probably test drive not the best way to assess it as route is fixed and you probably can't push that much with the traffic around. I booked mine without even testing.

Sure, its no EVO or WRX STI but *at the price* I still believe you can't find a better performing car at this time. Having said that, many of the VT (and even V NA) owners have souped up our rides. Personally I upgraded to Advan 19" with 235/35/19 GY F1 Asymm2, open pod air filter and BC coilovers.

P.S. you didn't say exactly what was it that was disappointing.

My test drive was pretty comprehensive, being in media and knowing Jeff. It was a fair statement, no offense.

Depends on how you look at it. I am disappointed because the VT looks fierce, perhaps too fierce for its lacklustre performance, at stock.

On the flipside, its a complement because it does looks fierce isn't it?

I cannot pinpoint exactly what is disappointing because I am no motoring editor. I can only comment on the overall experience. My fault, I shouldn't compare it with my daily ride then, because it is a baseless comparison. Overtime, I had forgotten how my stock ride feels like.

Sure, we all know its no EVO nor STi - I'm not power hungry for one too. Could easily have afforded it, no big deal - if I was a petrolhead.

Anyway buddy, car ownership is a personal thing, you bought your ride, be happy about it - why would you wanna justify the purchase by saying *at this price it is a stella performer* blah blah blue.. no point right? Even with a roc, frankly stock to stock, a VT feels better.... no comparision to that.

I would be happy to try a modded VT... that would really put apples against apples

cheers :D

Edited by Icebrush79

Not buying , so paiseh to test drive, not nice lah.

Nvm ma

My fren also go test drive VT then go next door test ROC then go home [laugh]