Topspin 2nd Gear September 20, 2012 Share September 20, 2012 that is why you see my thread has two messages.................one is the PRC and the other is singpost...........it is interesting to see how ppl react to only one part of the message................ [laugh] I did read both parts of your original thread. I think Singpost do not need to cater for all ranges of possible languages the customer may prefer so long the official English language is available. Forget about the fact they hire Pinoy in this case, let's assume this branch/shift happened to have only Singaporean Indian or Malay manning the counter. The same issue will still arise. Surely we are not saying Singpost should hire Singaporean Chinese in preference over Singaporean Indian or Malay just to cater for the occassional PRC who gets angry when people don't understand them. Doing so would be a racially discriminating policy which the Gahmen is trying to tell employers to avoid doing. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear September 20, 2012 Share September 20, 2012 wah............actually here also got many jurong kaki leh.................mayb can org jurong MU liao........... McDonald or SAFRA..... . [laugh] on ah on ah, When I get my Harley I ride down meet you all [laugh] Btw, what is MLC?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear September 20, 2012 Share September 20, 2012 (edited) I did read both parts of your original thread. I think Singpost do not need to cater for all ranges of possible languages the customer may prefer so long the official English language is available. Forget about the fact they hire Pinoy in this case, let's assume this branch/shift happened to have only Singaporean Indian or Malay manning the counter. The same issue will still arise. Surely we are not saying Singpost should hire Singaporean Chinese in preference over Singaporean Indian or Malay just to cater for the occassional PRC who gets angry when people don't understand them. Doing so would be a racially discriminating policy which the Gahmen is trying to tell employers to avoid doing. I have a personal experience .... and I do put the blame on Singpost on the quality of the staff that they are employing ...... Mind you,we are in Singapore and not Philippines..... I called Singpost customer service telephone line to make some enquiries about a parcel that I have sent out. That Pinoy on the phone could not understand my Singapore accent english ..... I was like WTF, do you expect me to speak to you with the Pinoys"accent english" .... I am sorry but I cannot because I am a Singaporean .... I told her very rudely to put the call to someone that can understand our local English ... at the end I hang up on her ... my question is this ..... what is the quality of the staff from Singpost ? they put a FT in customer service whom could not understand the local english to answer calls ? Is it only "cost" that all corporations are concerned ? Where is the Customer Service ? I am sure that all of us have encountered bad experience with FTs working in CS ...... employeers would at least ensure the quality ..... not just look at cost .... Edited September 20, 2012 by Civic6228 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 20, 2012 Author Share September 20, 2012 I did read both parts of your original thread. I think Singpost do not need to cater for all ranges of possible languages the customer may prefer so long the official English language is available. Forget about the fact they hire Pinoy in this case, let's assume this branch/shift happened to have only Singaporean Indian or Malay manning the counter. The same issue will still arise. Surely we are not saying Singpost should hire Singaporean Chinese in preference over Singaporean Indian or Malay just to cater for the occassional PRC who gets angry when people don't understand them. Doing so would be a racially discriminating policy which the Gahmen is trying to tell employers to avoid doing. I agree with the fact that the PRC sld have taken action on her part rather than demanding for others to speak her language......that is one part of my message. the other part on singpost is different..............i do remember that whenever i step into singpost..........there was a mixture of races working there........and most Singaporean speaks a mix of languages........I have seen Malays and Indians speak basic mandarin.......and seen Chinese speak basic Bahasa...........simple terms were used and things get done.............. the counter lady.............and in fact almost all the staff there can only understand english...........what happen to the older Malays and Indians who cannot speak english???..............it is not only about the PRC.............it is abt being a service provider..........they were not in this state before at all.......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 20, 2012 Author Share September 20, 2012 on ah on ah, When I get my Harley I ride down meet you all [laugh] Btw, what is MLC?? what MLC???.......... :blink: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear September 20, 2012 Share September 20, 2012 I can't imagine how worse things could be had POSB not been hived off from Singpost several years ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear September 20, 2012 Share September 20, 2012 what MLC???.......... :blink: RadX lah, I say I want to buy Harley, he say what Soya will call me a MLC blah blah, until not still dun wanna say what is MLC! And just found a kaki also dunno what is MLC [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 20, 2012 Author Share September 20, 2012 RadX lah, I say I want to buy Harley, he say what Soya will call me a MLC blah blah, until not still dun wanna say what is MLC! And just found a kaki also dunno what is MLC [laugh] [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear September 20, 2012 Share September 20, 2012 I have a personal experience .... and I do put the blame on Singpost on the quality of the staff that they are employing ...... Mind you,we are in Singapore and not Philippines..... I called Singpost customer service telephone line to make some enquiries about a parcel that I have sent out. That Pinoy on the phone could not understand my Singapore accent english ..... I was like WTF, do you expect me to speak to you with the Pinoys"accent english" .... I am sorry but I cannot because I am a Singaporean .... I told her very rudely to put the call to someone that can understand our local English ... at the end I hang up on her ... my question is this ..... what is the quality of the staff from Singpost ? they put a FT in customer service whom could not understand the local english to answer calls ? Is it only "cost" that all corporations are concerned ? Where is the Customer Service ? I am sure that all of us have encountered bad experience with FTs working in CS ...... employeers would at least ensure the quality ..... not just look at cost .... Sometimes we should blame it on Singaporeans AKA ourselves too, nowadays I see most kids don't work during school holidays or while waiting for NS, Uni. Kids are just too rich. Last time when I work at starhub, all operators are SINGAPOREAN, pay are not that bad actually. Now all are pinoy, not just because of pay, Singaporean kids don't like to get blasted by customers, too much pride! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic September 20, 2012 Share September 20, 2012 Totally agreed. Nowadays i always feel that i am staying in Philippine, every shop, stall and service counter i go to are all piony?!!!! And when i received calls from banks or tele-marketing, the person talking to me 99.9% is pinoy? And the service is no better than locals. Ask them some simple questions, also cannot answer or pretend pretend no know. Some are line manager or supervisor level. Really KNN. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timbuktu Clutched September 20, 2012 Share September 20, 2012 I did read both parts of your original thread. I think Singpost do not need to cater for all ranges of possible languages the customer may prefer so long the official English language is available. Forget about the fact they hire Pinoy in this case, let's assume this branch/shift happened to have only Singaporean Indian or Malay manning the counter. The same issue will still arise. Surely we are not saying Singpost should hire Singaporean Chinese in preference over Singaporean Indian or Malay just to cater for the occassional PRC who gets angry when people don't understand them. Doing so would be a racially discriminating policy which the Gahmen is trying to tell employers to avoid doing. The chinanese have already demanded for Changi Airport signage, road names and at bus stops to be in chong wen. I am happy that the Govt of Singapore is not succumbing to their "china-outpost" demands. I have seen chinanese asking Indian bus drivers whether the bus takes them so and so, in fcuking mandarin. Getting no verbal response and only a waving of hand from the driver indicating that he no comprehende, the chinanese started to curse him, again, in mandarin. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 20, 2012 Author Share September 20, 2012 And the service is no better than locals. Ask them some simple questions, also cannot answer or pretend pretend no know. Some are line manager or supervisor level. Really KNN. I cancel my SH line and jump ship to M1 because I called SH so many times they just cannot understand what I was telling them.........the call centre in india was just reading from the screen.............which I also can read from their website........give up sia......... :wacko: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 20, 2012 Author Share September 20, 2012 exactly, quality of service has little to do with nationality than with understanding and delivering service to the needs of paying customers. sometimes, businesses here give a take it or leave it attitude. yah............I think they can at least learn some basic terms to at least communicate that they cannot speak that language and asked to wait while getting help............the other person would at least know that help is on the way ..............rather than chicken and duck talk half day........... [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 20, 2012 Author Share September 20, 2012 The chinanese have already demanded for Changi Airport signage, road names and at bus stops to be in chong wen. I am happy that the Govt of Singapore is not succumbing to their "china-outpost" demands. I have seen chinanese asking Indian bus drivers whether the bus takes them so and so, in fcuking mandarin. Getting no verbal response and only a waving of hand from the driver indicating that he no comprehende, the chinanese started to curse him, again, in mandarin. not uncommon...............hahahahaha............wait till you see they curse those chinese who don't speak mandarin............. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear September 20, 2012 Share September 20, 2012 close down????...........is it not a requirement to have 1 singpost in each area???....... :blink: duno leh...summore it has already been there for more than 20years...in whampoa... but i was puzzled everytime registered mail not collected at home will be directed to towner road (bendemeer) branch... Pity those old uncle/aunties wana post letter back hometown have to travel all the way there now... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear September 20, 2012 Share September 20, 2012 And the service is no better than locals. Ask them some simple questions, also cannot answer or pretend pretend no know. Some are line manager or supervisor level. Really KNN. I have a funny encounter to share. Called Singtel to nominate additional lines for the multi-line discount, for my dad's new line. Apparently the requirement is for all line holders to be living in the same address. This pinoy CSO, after checking both particulars, told me the address is different. So I told him to read off each address. First one, Apartment Block X, Y Street, #AA-BB, XYZ Condo, Postal Code ABCDEF. Second address, X, Y Street, #AA-BB, Postal Code ABCDEF. Told him off, HELLO, it's the same postal code, same block, same unit number, one with condo name and the other without, but it's still the same address. :angry: Probably they don't even live here, so they only know how to compare exact match of address. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear September 20, 2012 Share September 20, 2012 Why cannot the ah Tiong woman switch to simple engrish? She thinks here china issit? I'd fcuk the cheena woman upside down, if I were there - for being so inflexible. I do not believe that she cannot even converse in rudimentary English, at least try saying: I no sepeak engrish. china only. help ok? Both also at fault...but service side takes the brunt of the blame as they are supposed to provide someone who can converse in Mandarin... Imagine when you are at eastern europe (turkey, dubai etc) or any other country that english is not the main stream language...what will you do bro? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged September 20, 2012 Share September 20, 2012 the funny part is when i was in china last week... just had my breakfast at hotel lobby.... noticed an ang moh speak to a waitress.. asking where is the train station..... so i told him i will write it for him to show cab driver.... realised he also approached the hotel reception before that..... anyway after passing him the piece of paper, he told me he could not understand that none of them could not understand simple english like train station so i think it works both ways.... not only PRC demanding lar..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...