Kel2505 Neutral Newbie September 24, 2016 Share September 24, 2016 Hi, I'm looking at buying a COE Wish. Am thinking of sending in for evaluation. Is AAS the preferred evaluation centre to go to as compared to Vicom and STA? I called AAS up and they say they only do visual checking and won't hook up the car to any devices to check as compared to Vicom and STA. For those that did evaluation, do you meet the dealer at the evaluation centre or just pay for it and let the dealer send it in for evaluation and wait for the report? Advise much appreciated. Thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
toycamry 1st Gear September 24, 2016 Share September 24, 2016 Hi, I'm looking at buying a COE Wish. Am thinking of sending in for evaluation. Is AAS the preferred evaluation centre to go to as compared to Vicom and STA? I called AAS up and they say they only do visual checking and won't hook up the car to any devices to check as compared to Vicom and STA. For those that did evaluation, do you meet the dealer at the evaluation centre or just pay for it and let the dealer send it in for evaluation and wait for the report? Advise much appreciated. Thanks! Always best if you can be present during the evaluation. Can also ask the AA guy doing the inspection after he passes you the report. Usually if they have time they will answer your questions. Everything can be faked very well these days. If university certificates and NRIC can be reproduced, what's a car inspection certificate. Of course, the easy solution is you call AA up and ask to speak to the person who did the inspection after the used car dealer hands you the report. But if you trust used car dealers, then go ahead.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged September 25, 2016 Share September 25, 2016 (edited) @Kel2025 Best to get your trusted mechanic to check the car. Never trust those do called "Evaluation Centres". They'd go bust if they provide the actual results. They would loose business from Used car dealers. Just like doctors who are in cohorts with Construction companies to down play the injury of workers, to avoid having to report to Ministry Of Manpower. Edited September 25, 2016 by Vinceng 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged September 25, 2016 Share September 25, 2016 (edited) Actually best bring your own Mechanic and give him a nice Ang pow.. Edited September 25, 2016 by BenTong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear September 25, 2016 Share September 25, 2016 Most of time I heard is STA lor. Sgcarmart seems to use STA lor. AAS got eval ah ? Hi, I'm looking at buying a COE Wish. Am thinking of sending in for evaluation. Is AAS the preferred evaluation centre to go to as compared to Vicom and STA? I called AAS up and they say they only do visual checking and won't hook up the car to any devices to check as compared to Vicom and STA. For those that did evaluation, do you meet the dealer at the evaluation centre or just pay for it and let the dealer send it in for evaluation and wait for the report? Advise much appreciated. Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic September 27, 2016 Share September 27, 2016 (edited) Most of time I heard is STA lor. Sgcarmart seems to use STA lor. AAS got eval ah ? Then maybe there is a reason why dealers don't use AAS, isn't it? Anyway, this thread already contain so mich info. If after reading and some can still ask AA better or STA better, i think that person needs to go brush up his reading comprehension skills and/or wear specs... Haha Edited September 27, 2016 by Othello 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ueirun Clutched November 12, 2016 Share November 12, 2016 Hope this thread is still relevant. I went to some dealers to look at some cars. Many said they are willing to send for evaluation at Vicom or Sta, but they don't normally practise sending to AA. Is that considered a red flag? They are willing to cover warranty for engine and gearbox. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic November 12, 2016 Share November 12, 2016 Hope this thread is still relevant. I went to some dealers to look at some cars. Many said they are willing to send for evaluation at Vicom or Sta, but they don't normally practise sending to AA. Is that considered a red flag? They are willing to cover warranty for engine and gearbox. Did the dealers say why ? My current car was inspected by AA. I insisted on it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ueirun Clutched November 12, 2016 Share November 12, 2016 Did the dealers say why ? My current car was inspected by AA. I insisted on it. They didn't say a reason, but I did not try to question them more as well. They only said they normally send to Vicom and STA, since they are linked with them to check their cars, and don't normally go to AA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic November 12, 2016 Share November 12, 2016 They didn't say a reason, but I did not try to question them more as well. They only said they normally send to Vicom and STA, since they are linked with them to check their cars, and don't normally go to AA. do you find that acceptable ? you are the one forking out cash for the car after all ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ueirun Clutched November 12, 2016 Share November 12, 2016 do you find that acceptable ? you are the one forking out cash for the car after all ... Definitely not. I never trust Vicom or STA reports since I heard of many stories of underhand stuffs going on between them and the dealers. I shall assume this is a red flag until they are willing to go AA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged November 12, 2016 Share November 12, 2016 AA's check is apparently more comprehensive & strict. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohkokwee Neutral Newbie November 12, 2016 Share November 12, 2016 (edited) Personal experience is to go for Vicom. The report is very detailed and you can easily identify the "red" items vs the A 'A', 'B', 'C' grades kind of report. I count my blessings that I proceeded with the evaluation report if not I wouldn't know that the gasket needs to be changed and the most jialat one is that my exhaust has been "operated" before. To close the deal my dealer was willing to send the car in to their affliated workshop to make all the red items green and change the entire exhaust pipe. Just sharing... Edited November 12, 2016 by Tohkokwee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mits_jc 5th Gear November 13, 2016 Share November 13, 2016 Don't normally practise send to AA is because the report provided by AA is detailed, they report the facts and don't give face/chance. Dealers can offer to pay for ur vicom/sta evaluation, will offer to cover warranty for engine and gearbox, maybe everything under the sky just to get u to hand over deposit. But the story may change once you take hold of the car and things crop up, even with black and white, can you afford the effort to chase them everyday or take them to small claims tribunal if they play punk? If you are really interested in a particular model tell the dealer has to offer, say that you will be the one paying for the AA evaluation, they just have to send the car down at the time slot you booked. If they are not sincere in making the deal, can just move on. Hope this thread is still relevant.I went to some dealers to look at some cars. Many said they are willing to send for evaluation at Vicom or Sta, but they don't normally practise sending to AA.Is that considered a red flag? They are willing to cover warranty for engine and gearbox. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ueirun Clutched November 13, 2016 Share November 13, 2016 Thanks. By the way, is it true most dealers are unwilling to agree to go to AA? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged November 13, 2016 Share November 13, 2016 Personal experience is to go for Vicom. The report is very detailed and you can easily identify the "red" items vs the A 'A', 'B', 'C' grades kind of report. I count my blessings that I proceeded with the evaluation report if not I wouldn't know that the gasket needs to be changed and the most jialat one is that my exhaust has been "operated" before. To close the deal my dealer was willing to send the car in to their affliated workshop to make all the red items green and change the entire exhaust pipe. Just sharing... wrong move man... you will get the car back with dealer saying "all red items fixed liao" The truth is nothing was done Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohkokwee Neutral Newbie November 13, 2016 Share November 13, 2016 No bro. I top a bit more to send it for second inspection at Vicom to make sure that the items are finally green. The Vicom tester even brought me for a test ride and inside the car he was telling me he hates this dealer in particular. I also went down to workshop to witness the installation of the new exhaust pipe :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic November 14, 2016 Share November 14, 2016 Hope this thread is still relevant. I went to some dealers to look at some cars. Many said they are willing to send for evaluation at Vicom or Sta, but they don't normally practise sending to AA. Is that considered a red flag? They are willing to cover warranty for engine and gearbox. Dun believe anything the used car dealer say. When u try to claim for engine & gb, all the pattern will come out coz they know toothless tiger is.....well, a joke. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...