Pisces69 6th Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 Hi all. I just noticed my radiator has a small leak along e top seam where there r a row of metal clips. Anyone know a radiator specialist in e north like woodlands yishun or semb who cn do a proper repair job. Btw my car is 2006 optra. Tks all. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 Bro, I tot you frequent JB? Why not go JB to repair it? Afterall you already identify where is the leak...so the WS can't carrot you at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 29, 2012 Author Share October 29, 2012 Bro, I tot you frequent JB? Why not go JB to repair it? Afterall you already identify where is the leak...so the WS can't carrot you at all. I dun hv ws in jb specialise in rad repair. JB must b careful cos got many ws cheat pple especially sg car. I only use jb if im sure ty cn do a good job. Rad repair must do properly otherwise later leak again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 maybe get a recon one? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 29, 2012 Author Share October 29, 2012 maybe get a recon one? Can also but it just needs new clips n presdure test. U got sg lobang fr rad? Must b tried n tested hor. Tks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 IMHO...might as well get a new one if you intend to keep the car for the next 2 years... Cos you repair and likely it will leak elsewhere...when the pressure builds up...it will seek the weakest spot to penetrate. So you repair top...bottom may leak. Its 6 yrs old liao...can consider a replacement lah...but if you gonna sell soon...then just repair it lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boo_saa Neutral Newbie October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 Watch ur engine temp.. if over heat ur engine might kaput..then the amount u spend on the.engine, enough to but many new rad.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohdj Neutral Newbie October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 Hi all. I just noticed my radiator has a small leak along e top seam where there r a row of metal clips. Anyone know a radiator specialist in e north like woodlands yishun or semb who cn do a proper repair job. Btw my car is 2006 optra. Tks all. the plastic part on top of the radiator is deformed. it can be replaced without replacing the whole radiator. my workshop called a guy, who drove down to the workshop and replaced this part only. ask for 2nd opinion if the workshop says that you need to replace whole radiator. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 29, 2012 Author Share October 29, 2012 IMHO...might as well get a new one if you intend to keep the car for the next 2 years... Cos you repair and likely it will leak elsewhere...when the pressure builds up...it will seek the weakest spot to penetrate. So you repair top...bottom may leak. Its 6 yrs old liao...can consider a replacement lah...but if you gonna sell soon...then just repair it lor. My car 6+yrs. Do u know how much a new radiator cost. I wil die hor. Repair very good. Almost like new. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 29, 2012 Author Share October 29, 2012 the plastic part on top of the radiator is deformed. it can be replaced without replacing the whole radiator. my workshop called a guy, who drove down to the workshop and replaced this part only. ask for 2nd opinion if the workshop says that you need to replace whole radiator. Exactly. The guy yr ws called us e peson i wan to tok to. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohdj Neutral Newbie October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 Exactly. The guy yr ws called us e peson i wan to tok to. i dun have the contact for that freelancer...but u can try asking my mechanic. he's at esso thomson road near thomson plaza. BTW i paid S$170 for part + labour Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwanheng 1st Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 My car 6+yrs. Do u know how much a new radiator cost. I wil die hor. Repair very good. Almost like new. Bro, how much is new radiator, in the market? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwanheng 1st Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 (edited) Bro, I tot you frequent JB? Why not go JB to repair it? Afterall you already identify where is the leak...so the WS can't carrot you at all. its not simple to fix a leak, you need to do pressure test cause you regasket the top of radiator. the clips at weld to the radiator and camped by factorys. if un careful, one clip break, you can buy new radiator + pay for more labor to replace. also the workshop doing this for you also will charge you for quite some $$, to think after fix it might leak again as plastic might crack since its 6 years old. therefore to get a new one is the way to go. anyway its not expensive to get a new one. cost to replace a radiator for optra is the cost of 2 full tank of Ron98 Edited October 29, 2012 by Kwanheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 29, 2012 Author Share October 29, 2012 i dun have the contact for that freelancer...but u can try asking my mechanic. he's at esso thomson road near thomson plaza. BTW i paid S$170 for part + labour Wow a bit ex but what car u drive? E esso last time got cheap carwash at night at e next door caltex?. Just after shell right.? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 29, 2012 Author Share October 29, 2012 Bro, how much is new radiator, in the market? Last time all metal abt $1k but now half plastic maybe $500 plus minus depend on car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 29, 2012 Author Share October 29, 2012 its not simple to fix a leak, you need to do pressure test cause you regasket the top of radiator. the clips at weld to the radiator and camped by factorys. if un careful, one clip break, you can buy new radiator + pay for more labor to replace. also the workshop doing this for you also will charge you for quite some $$, to think after fix it might leak again as plastic might crack since its 6 years old. therefore to get a new one is the way to go. anyway its not expensive to get a new one. cost to replace a radiator for optra is the cost of 2 full tank of Ron98 If u got lobang original optra new radiator abt $200 plus i take 2 bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwanheng 1st Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 If u got lobang original optra new radiator abt $200 plus i take 2 bro. bro, pm me ur cell phone number. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear October 29, 2012 Share October 29, 2012 If u got lobang original optra new radiator abt $200 plus i take 2 bro. haha bro probably he saying the labour cost lah...not easy to replace a new radiator...have to dismatle almost till strip engine then can change. KNN last time went to a friend recommended WS in Kulai Johor to do normal servicing nia...the mechanic anyhow touch the radiator then do pressure test and liao...the radiator leak like waterfall lidat :angry: ...then say cannot change coz need to indent parts in takes 2 weeks..so put back everything and I slowly drive back and repair about 1 week later. total damage about 1.5k sgd...and that was the last time I went there for the servicing. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...