Yeobh 4th Gear November 1, 2012 Share November 1, 2012 Many mechs and DIYers will skip fixing the missing plastic fasteners when replacing back bumpers, door inside covers , bonnet heat shield etc etc. I keep on hearing from mech friends they are costly and very very difficult to get them unless one restore to cannibalising from scrap parts. Have you ever have the experience looking for them. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator November 1, 2012 Share November 1, 2012 Many mechs and DIYers will skip fixing the missing plastic fasteners when replacing back bumpers, door inside covers , bonnet heat shield etc etc. I keep on hearing from mech friends they are costly and very very difficult to get them unless one restore to cannibalising from scrap parts. Have you ever have the experience looking for them. Not true, Yeo, they're very easy to find, some are just lazy or dropped them when removing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear November 1, 2012 Author Share November 1, 2012 (edited) Yes they are misplaced or drop off. I reckon shops that are in the business of body work and spray painting will experience such problems but maybe due to years of experience they may have stock sufficient quantities of each types that are frequently MIA . Edited November 1, 2012 by Yeobh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator November 1, 2012 Share November 1, 2012 Yes they are misplaced or drop off. I reckon shops that are in the business of body work and spray painting will experience such problems but maybe due to years of experience they may have stock sufficient quantities of each types that are frequently MIA . They do sell these fasteners off the shelves. I bought a lot when I was in the biz. They even have Better quality and so so quality. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 1, 2012 Share November 1, 2012 Many mechs and DIYers will skip fixing the missing plastic fasteners when replacing back bumpers, door inside covers , bonnet heat shield etc etc. I keep on hearing from mech friends they are costly and very very difficult to get them unless one restore to cannibalising from scrap parts. Have you ever have the experience looking for them. not true.. very easy to buy and all local Ex-stock. used to buy a lot when i was working in shipyard. not expensive too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tatty Neutral Newbie November 1, 2012 Share November 1, 2012 true each time go for servicing even in AD one or two of them missing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear November 1, 2012 Author Share November 1, 2012 (edited) Those are for vehicles Not sure what is being used in shipyards. Buyers from shipyards are use to buying high $$ items, for items that are one to few $$ are chicken feeds. For car shop operators, they are very careful and sometime very calculative on purchases. Edited November 1, 2012 by Yeobh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic November 1, 2012 Share November 1, 2012 Can get from Aliexpress easily!!! Just search ur car model name. http://www.aliexpress.com/item-img/40x-Fen.../648450418.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear November 1, 2012 Author Share November 1, 2012 For AD , replacing them should not be a problem as they can easily get supply from their parts vendors. Stocking should be easy as they only serve one make of cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 1, 2012 Share November 1, 2012 Those are for vehicles Not sure what is being used in shipyards. Buyers from shipyards are use to buying high $$ items, for items that are one to few $$ are chicken feeds. For car shop operators, they are very careful and sometime very calculative on purchases. same lah.. it just those plug in type fasterner nia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear November 1, 2012 Author Share November 1, 2012 Yes Ali Baba have them but for such small items the price is very high due to payment charges,handling and postage charges. For DIyers what are you going to do with the extras if you need only one pc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged November 1, 2012 Share November 1, 2012 (edited) For AD , replacing them should not be a problem as they can easily get supply from their parts vendors. Stocking should be easy as they only serve one make of cars. I understand what you mean. It is not cost effective just to go search for plastic fasterners for many different brand of cars that come across everyday. So maybe you could 1 shot buy a lot in one of the day for of all different plastic fasterners and when stock count left less than 20% go mass order again? Order in bulk will be more cost effective. My suggestion only. Edited November 1, 2012 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarquin 1st Gear November 1, 2012 Share November 1, 2012 ah need these too..dropped two for my front wheel mud guards... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic November 1, 2012 Share November 1, 2012 costly meh? u kenna carrot ar? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simon29 Neutral Newbie November 1, 2012 Share November 1, 2012 Autobag sells many different types fasteners.....maybe expensive due to small purchase qty.....but it gives owners a piece of mind the fasteners are there and none is missing that will cause the panels to loose or rattles. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear November 1, 2012 Author Share November 1, 2012 Oh yes , for shops operators this should be the supply route and stocking method. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear November 1, 2012 Author Share November 1, 2012 Apparently "u kenna carrot ar?" is getting famous in this forum . Why always have this feeling that people are all out to cheat you. If you do yr homework well, chances of being chopped is very very slim. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged November 1, 2012 Share November 1, 2012 Yes Ali Baba have them but for such small items the price is very high due to payment charges,handling and postage charges. For DIyers what are you going to do with the extras if you need only one pc. Than bo bian, wait till go service car, than go ask for one or a few lor. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...