Malay wedding

Ronleo

we Malays dont like non-Malays to attend our weddings as we know some use hdb void deck location for their funeral parlor

In this land scare society a bit more understanding and compromise between different races can go a long way.

Do not make such comment.

I give about 50 per pax and 100 if wifely goes along. We enjoy our malay friends wedding alot, very relaxing and fun. unlike our own chinese dinner...boring.

Guys, Tks for the suggestions! I have an idea of how much

to put now!

Anyone attending a Malay wedding this Sunday as well at

Telok Blangah area? Hmmm... Can say hi to me!

Even though $$ is impt, but to the Malays, who generally are not $-faced, will prefer you attend and enjoy the food and company.

Most importantly they would rather you give your blessings and wish them well.

Its OK if you dont give $$ but should you feel that its impt to give, any amount given willingly and sincerely without compulsion is enough.

It is the respect that your attendance give that is so much more valuable, priceless.

But do note an impt thing. Dress appropriately. Dont come in slippers and shorts and T-shirt. It is a formal occasion, even if done at the void deck.. Do respect your hosts.

I've seen ppl come in flip-flops. Thats showing a lot of disrespect. [mad]

Lucky I saw you mention abt attire!

Think I wear s/s shirt and pants to be safe!

Any taboo colours to watch out for?

Best if you can dress up. Everybody loves good looking ppl, it will spice up the occasion.

No taboo on colours. Bright colours better. There will be a big crowd so don't be shy to ask where is the bride, or who are the parents(hosts). Too many ppl, no one notices you anyway. No need to be awkward in a Malay wedding.

Guests are considered kings too.

Dress modestly, especially women. This is after all an occasion with elders present. Smart casual will do. No taboo colours.

I once attended a wedding where a guy came dressed in Pizza Hut t-shirt. Didn't know if he was there as a guest or to deliver food.

Just a reminder : eat, shake hands, take food with your right hand. Left hand is considered 'dirty'.

I would certainly agree with most of you.

I lost half of the amount I 'invested'.

In general, I would angbao minimally $10 for 1 pax. This would be for someone whom I barely know (e.g. my mum's fren's daughter).

The closer I am, the more the angbow accordingly.

Well, money aside. I was happy to see many of my invited friends sharing the joyous occasion with us. That was priceless!

I haven't got a chance to attend one of these Malay wedding. Malay wedding seemed more heart-warming than lavish chinese ones. But then again, I'm beginning to see very grand ones below HDB flats. The void deck was transformed into a ballroom without a/c.

You might wish to expand your circle of friends to include other races ... -_-

Then you have the chances of attending their weddings.

errrr........... one question, you don't have office colleagues of other races so that you could attend their weddings? :blink:

I would certainly agree with most of you.

I lost half of the amount I 'invested'.

In general, I would angbao minimally $10 for 1 pax. This would be for someone whom I barely know (e.g. my mum's fren's daughter).

The closer I am, the more the angbow accordingly.

Well, money aside. I was happy to see many of my invited friends sharing the joyous occasion with us. That was priceless!

My practise now is if someone i barely know or not close, i would not attend the wedding in the first place. [:p]

MCFers will tell you it's the thought that counts.. money not important.....

i say $100 should be more than suufficent

[:p] i only gave $20

malay wedding it is never abt money.back in the old days ther is a spirit of "gotong royong" meaning every1 within the community help with wat they can afford like manpower or presenting some kueh.now tings has changed a lot as we depend very much on caterer.however the atmosphere remain the same,merry,joyous and blissful.money is neve in thoughts from day 1 but attendance of the guests is always a major consideration bcoz no one shall be left with an empty plate.so b urself,neve a compulsory to gif money but a kind gesture of any amount u r comfortable with is suffice.afterall we dun ask who gaf how much.important ur attendance makes our day.

How old are u? I 32 liao, then first time attending Malay wedding!

Older than you... Somehow my social circle is kinda limited to Chinese since young. There are few co-workers with direct working relationship who belong to people from other races. Not sure if that's the norm.

First time got invited to a malay wedding. The type at HDB

void deck. So not sure how much to give...

If one person go, wat the market rate like? And also if

Bring wife n little girl, wats the rate?

Many Tks in adv!

The other time I went to a Malay wedding, my friend who is Chinese (marrying a Malay wife), received a big, hotel-esque ang bao from me. And I brought my wife, so double the amount. It was held at a Community Centre not void deck though. [cool]

Most recently, I gave slightly lesser but still over 100, when I alone attended another Malay friend's wedding at her house void deck.

Actually as long as you gave, it is better than most who will not give and ambiguous guests (read 'gate-crashers').

its not common to attend other race wedding, speaking of which, anyone attend indian wedding before? similar to malay?

It is quite suprising to see that many did not attend other races's weddings. I am fortunate to attend all other races including Ang mohs. How come you guys don't have close friends from other races in office? Most of the marriages I attended were colleagues and neibhours.

Indian weddings are interesting too. Lot of food and cultural programmes, generally Indian or Malay weddings are lively, you feel very much part of it!