Chain Collision Question.

Altivo

Unfortunately, my car was involved in a chain collision with 2 other cars. [:(]

Mine was the last. The good thing is nobody was hurt.

I've been hearing 2 version of the how the claims would be apportioned.

First: The last car will bear all

Second: Each car will claim it's OWN damages from the car behind. A is first car, B is second car and C is the last

A <-- B <-- C

A will claim B for it's own damages.

B will claim C for it's own damages.

Which is true?

Second: Each car will claim it's OWN damages from the car behind. A is first car, B is second car and C is the last

A <-- B <-- C

Which is true?

you are correct

yup, car A claim from car B but car B will claim from car C with the claim from car A. So, car C bear all.

Aiya, sian 1/2 leow. [:(]

A <-- B <-- C

Which is true?

See scenario #28: -

Driver of the vehicle behind will be 100% liable for losses incurred by the vehicle immediately in front only

Reason: To avoid costly litigation for collision damages

http://ja.scribd.com/doc/87023549/Baromete...ated-1-Jun-2008

yup, car A claim from car B but car B will claim from car C with the claim from car A. So, car C bear all.

Not true lah - you speaking from experience, or hearsay?

I kenna before (4th car out of 5).

It depends very much on the crash impact of the 2nd car (middle one).

If the frontal damage of the 2nd car is > its backside. Can argue that 2nd car crashed into the 1st one irregardless of what you did. 2nd car will have to pay the 1st car. And you pay the 2nd car.

If the backside damage of the 2nd car is > its front, 2nd car can safely argue it was whacked by your car then roll forward. In this case, 3rd car pays all.

The tough part will come when damage is almost equal or hard to tell...

This is how surveyor will weigh in, but ultimately it depends on how the insurance co fight it out.

See scenario #28: -

Driver of the vehicle behind will be 100% liable for losses incurred by the vehicle immediately in front only

Reason: To avoid costly litigation for collision damages

http://ja.scribd.com/doc/87023549/Baromete...ated-1-Jun-2008

Not true lah - you speaking from experience, or hearsay?

I kenna before (4th car out of 5).

Thanks bro. I can't see the doc from office but will check at home.

Although it maybe each car claim from the car directly behind for damages, but they can still inflate the repair costs to "cover" for the front car's claim.

Car A claim B $1k for repairs.

Car B claim C $1k for repairs + another inflated $1k to cover A's claim, total $2k.

Car C pay B $2k.

End up also last car pay all, only how they package it.

Thanks bro. I can't see the doc from office but will check at home.

This applies if A jams brakes, .. B crashes in, ... followed by C (ie. You) kissing B on his rear.

If B manages to come to a complete stop in time, .. with no contact with A ... only to be propelled forward by you bumping him, .. and he has a recording to prove it .. and yes, .. both A & B shall be claiming against you.

This applies if A jams brakes, .. B crashes in, ... followed by C (ie. You) kissing B on his rear.

If B manages to come to a complete stop in time, .. with no contact with A ... only to be propelled forward by you bumping him, .. and he has a recording to prove it .. and yes, .. both A & B shall be claiming against you.

Okay, I can confirm A came to a complete Stop cos the cars in front of A suddenly all jammed break.

But the contact between A & B and B and my car is quite close. All I know is that both the airbags of B and my car were activated. So I guess it's a close call which the insurance co will fight out?

Oh and thanks to your link, I've sent my insurance company an email asking how they will be handling it. Hope they reply me.

Edited by Altivo

It depends very much on the crash impact of the 2nd car (middle one).

If the frontal damage of the 2nd car is > its backside. Can argue that 2nd car crashed into the 1st one irregardless of what you did. 2nd car will have to pay the 1st car. And you pay the 2nd car.

If the backside damage of the 2nd car is > its front, 2nd car can safely argue it was whacked by your car then roll forward. In this case, 3rd car pays all.

The tough part will come when damage is almost equal or hard to tell...

This is how surveyor will weigh in, but ultimately it depends on how the insurance co fight it out.

I think it also depends on first car's statement. If they say they feel 2 knocks, then it's quite clear cut 2nd knock first, follow by third knock 2nd, passing the momentum to first.

When I was the 3rd car in a 4 car accident, the survyor actually guided me to say I stopped in time, and it's the 4th banging me forward to hit the 2nd. Only 2nd car lawyer (taxi) send claim to me directly, and I forward to my insurance. Alls taken care of and I get to keep my NCD.

Okay, I can confirm A came to a complete Stop cos the cars in front of A suddenly all jammed break.

But the contact between A & B and B and my car is quite close. All I know is that both the airbags of B and my car were activated. So I guess it's a close call which the insurance co will fight out?

Oh and thanks to your link, I've sent my insurance company an email asking how they will be handling it. Hope they reply me.

If both airbags of B and yours were activated, likely B pay A and you pay B. Hard to argue B has came to a complete stop and it was your crash that propel it to roll forward, so much so that its airbag were activated.

But all these are theories...Your NCD will also be impacted and because B also has liability, his NCD will also be impacted. But B can still ask his workshop to mark-up his claims against you (including A's) and you still pay.

If both airbags of B and yours were activated, likely B pay A and you pay B. Hard to argue B has came to a complete stop and it was your crash that propel it to roll forward, so much so that its airbag were activated.

But all these are theories...Your NCD will also be impacted and because B also has liability, his NCD will also be impacted. But B can still ask his workshop to mark-up his claims against you (including A's) and you still pay.

I'm prepared for my NCD to be impacted. Can't argue about that. Just more curious as to whether will I shoulder the damages for Car A as well. Aiya, all these claims/damages are very "dark". It's like a game the company will play over coffee and then decide, okay, Car B shall take XX% and Car C will take XX% liability.

Ya "dark" so just leave it to the insurance co...

More importantly, all safe... Cheers.

No lah. You only pay car B.

Car A will claim car B using BOLA rule. unless, car B can find evidence that he stop without contact but it was car C that push him.

I was car B, stopped at traffic light junction when car C bang me.

My NCD reduced and loading doubled. @#$%^&*

Sorry to hear about your accident. Whatever happened is happened, now you cannot do much and it is not going to go from your packet. Be careful in the future - that is all you can do.

I have heard stories from both scenarios:

A claims B and B claims you unless or otherwise it is proven that you rammed into B, which forced B into A. The later scenario has to be proven by some evidences like:

1. A witnesses that he had two bangs independently (one from B and one from C)

2. B had a videocam which shows that he had a gap between him and A and this gap got closed when you rammed into B

Deploying airbag in B would not say much as he can always claim that you rammed so fast, which forced him to knock off A with big bang.

If the above not possible, do not worry, you would be paying only B.

depends on your statement and those in front.... but not to worry (not like you can do anything) as your insurance co will fight it out

my friend also last car in 4 car collision. he only pay the car in front.

but knn the one in front claim over 20k just for some minor damage (at least when you look from the outside)