Mkl22 Supersonic January 1, 2019 Share January 1, 2019 If the W124 Body sell to you is very cheap like $1,000....just take it pay COE,if not happy with it just scrap it,LTA will refund you the left over COE,the most you lose only $1,000,if you get the Teana,you pay COE,anything major,you will lost the "Paper" Value...The problem is at 1k do you plonk more money it to make to more drivable or scrap it. It is still cheaper but then obviously one has to deal with the load of problems that come to fix it. It’s not 1k for no reason. I have learnt my lesson that when coe is cheap. Buy brand new if possible even though it will be a smaller car. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged January 1, 2019 Share January 1, 2019 (edited) How could one tell if the W124 belongs to the masterpiece version? What are the key differences from the normal w124? U will have keyless entry for the doors and trunk. Full electric seats for the front. Sunshades on the rear door and rear windshield. The seats will be more “modern”. Masterpiece wheel set Masterpiece in sg is end 94 to 95 registered normally. Thosr days if i not wrong selling just over $200k due to high COE. Most of them never got renew as it catch the COE cycle wrongly. Alot of owner do “transplant “ here n there until not original anymore. In the mkt I believe there’s one for sales but the CoE renewed at high price which make it hard to sell for months. https://m.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/fullscreen.php?ID=739950&IMG=2 Edited January 1, 2019 by Ody_2004 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged January 1, 2019 Share January 1, 2019 (edited) The problem is at 1k do you plonk more money it to make to more drivable or scrap it. It is still cheaper but then obviously one has to deal with the load of problems that come to fix it. Itâs not 1k for no reason. I have learnt my lesson that when coe is cheap. Buy brand new if possible even though it will be a smaller car. When COE was cheap then it allowed me to play with cars then. During 2008 to 2009 i bought a few, 91 MX5, 93 W124 16v, 92 E36, 91/92 Corolla, 93 Corona, 91 Starlet..Spent alot of time and effort to do them up. All sold with COE renewed back then. COE ending march/april 2019. If you ask me to go through such experience again i will not even COE continue to slight. Main reason being capable workshop is hard to find and getting expensive. Parts another headache. Importantly i don have spare time and parking space liao. I used to park 3 in my condo and one opposite HDB parking. Edited January 1, 2019 by Ody_2004 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic January 1, 2019 Share January 1, 2019 The problem is at 1k do you plonk more money it to make to more drivable or scrap it. It is still cheaper but then obviously one has to deal with the load of problems that come to fix it. It’s not 1k for no reason. I have learnt my lesson that when coe is cheap. Buy brand new if possible even though it will be a smaller car. Exactly,1993,i bought a 1981,380SEL,end up,alot of Repairs needed,almost $50,000 spend on Repairs. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 1, 2019 Share January 1, 2019 Exactly,1993,i bought a 1981,380SEL,end up,alot of Repairs needed,almost $50,000 spend on Repairs.Well... most car lovers go thru this phase. Buy a cheapie and try to make it better for not too much. Many have been there done that. And then further advised the younger ones not to follow. But it’s sort of like a rite of passage. Hahaha. Kenna burnt and bleed some then wake up that although it was somewhat fun. It wasn’t as cheap as expected. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged January 1, 2019 Share January 1, 2019 Well... most car lovers go thru this phase. Buy a cheapie and try to make it better for not too much. Many have been there done that. And then further advised the younger ones not to follow. But itâs sort of like a rite of passage. Hahaha. Kenna burnt and bleed some then wake up that although it was somewhat fun. It wasnât as cheap as expected.I previously bought old presea and sunnys before and drove them from 10th year to 20th year mark. The repairs are not costly at all, maybe because they are simple cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 1, 2019 Share January 1, 2019 I previously bought old presea and sunnys before and drove them from 10th year to 20th year mark. The repairs are not costly at all, maybe because they are simple cars. I guess it’s also depends on if you see it was a normal point A to B car or as sort of a hobby. What one is willing to accept as faults and acceptable noise may for others be not tolerable and they want to fix it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged January 1, 2019 Share January 1, 2019 I guess itâs also depends on if you see it was a normal point A to B car or as sort of a hobby. What one is willing to accept as faults and acceptable noise may for others be not tolerable and they want to fix it.Agree. For my case, my annual mileage clocked is less than 15k km. I am quite tolerant of faults as long as they don't compromise on safety. If the car is able to bring me from point A to point B safely, I am happy. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
fesa7044 2nd Gear January 2, 2019 Share January 2, 2019 I am hoping somebody would sell me a good condition W124 at $1000, so that I could renew COE and drive for another 10 years. If you have one for me, do let me know. Thks. Oh c'mon manyou reap what you sow,things dun drop from the sky ,like dat. If u fancy one of dis 124? Sign up to their FB page ,ask noob question there. Comes to their meet up. Incidentally there's one last week & I bump into one young guy(actually see More young Turk than ah Pek) who's scrapping his(looks pretty good to me) dis week. U gotta b seen & to b seen. Sitting @ the sofa & banging at the keyboard ,not gonna make it far. There's some specialise 200E/E200 wshop in JB only the TOP guys noe. U gotta buy them coffee to pry dis kind of information from them. Or juzz buy new,the easy way out & lose an arm & a leg in the process! There's some real challenge in getting yr fingernails dirty. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
fesa7044 2nd Gear January 2, 2019 Share January 2, 2019 How could one tell if the W124 belongs to the masterpiece version? What are the key differences from the normal w124? Goggle is yr Best Friend !Dun waste bandwidth asking dis type of question. Plse do research when selecting said model, dun listen to coffee shop talk or hear say, to make up yr mind. Remember once sign on the dotted line,u lose a chunk,If u discovered its realli not for u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged January 2, 2019 Share January 2, 2019 (edited) Oh c'mon man you reap what you sow,things dun drop from the sky ,like dat. If u fancy one of dis 124? Sign up to their FB page ,ask noob question there. Comes to their meet up. Incidentally there's one last week & I bump into one young guy(actually see More young Turk than ah Pek) who's scrapping his(looks pretty good to me) dis week. U gotta b seen & to b seen. Sitting @ the sofa & banging at the keyboard ,not gonna make it far. There's some specialise 200E/E200 wshop in JB only the TOP guys noe. U gotta buy them coffee to pry dis kind of information from them. Or juzz buy new,the easy way out & lose an arm & a leg in the process! There's some real challenge in getting yr fingernails dirty. Hahahaha! True. Edited January 2, 2019 by Albeniz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
axejr Neutral Newbie March 11, 2019 Share March 11, 2019 Hi, i'm basically a newbie in this "car" thing. I'm a foreigner which is now studying in malaysia and looking for a car to drive on a daily basis.I'm looking for a car that's not going to make my bank broke Currently i'm thinking of getting Mercedes-Benz w124 either 230E/260E. I've done some research around the internet, and my conclusion is that: -Parts are not too expensive and can be found easily -Good car, build to last -fuel consumption is ok My questions are: -Although the parts are relatively cheap and can be found almost everywhere, i need an approximate price for the parts (the important one) -Some say the fuel consumption is economic, some says "can be ok, but sometimes can be thirsty", wdyt about this? -How much would the car cost? (Searched in mudah.my and carlist.my it was around 5k-10k MYR, is it the market price? and is it safe to buy from there?) -Is it hard to change the ownership of the car? Since i'm a foreigner. -Any suggestion on where to buy the car? -Any other suggestion of classic cars? e.g.(Audi A4 B5, W123, BMW E36(some said parts kind of hard to get nowadays)) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic March 11, 2019 Share March 11, 2019 Hi, i'm basically a newbie in this "car" thing. I'm a foreigner which is now studying in malaysia and looking for a car to drive on a daily basis. I'm looking for a car that's not going to make my bank broke Currently i'm thinking of getting Mercedes-Benz w124 either 230E/260E. I've done some research around the internet, and my conclusion is that: -Parts are not too expensive and can be found easily -Good car, build to last -fuel consumption is ok My questions are: -Although the parts are relatively cheap and can be found almost everywhere, i need an approximate price for the parts (the important one) -Some say the fuel consumption is economic, some says "can be ok, but sometimes can be thirsty", wdyt about this? -How much would the car cost? (Searched in mudah.my and carlist.my it was around 5k-10k MYR, is it the market price? and is it safe to buy from there?) -Is it hard to change the ownership of the car? Since i'm a foreigner. -Any suggestion on where to buy the car? -Any other suggestion of classic cars? e.g.(Audi A4 B5, W123, BMW E36(some said parts kind of hard to get nowadays)) I suggest you check with your Malaysia side... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
axejr Neutral Newbie March 12, 2019 Share March 12, 2019 I suggest you check with your Malaysia side... sorry but,what do you mean? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic March 12, 2019 Share March 12, 2019 sorry but,what do you mean? If you are a M'sian,you need to check the Dealers there,you cannot get 1 here & drive over... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
axejr Neutral Newbie March 12, 2019 Share March 12, 2019 If you are a M'sian,you need to check the Dealers there,you cannot get 1 here & drive over...Hmmm, what about the fuel consumption and is there any other suggestions?For fuel, some says 8KM/L while others say 11KM/L . Any idea? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic March 12, 2019 Share March 12, 2019 Hmmm, what about the fuel consumption and is there any other suggestions? For fuel, some says 8KM/L while others say 11KM/L . Any idea? 8Km/L is possible if heavy footed & in City Driving,11Km/L for Highway Driving,230E & 260E difference in FC,230E is a 4 Cyls ,260E is a 6 Cyls,get 260E if budget allow...it is a better Car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
fesa7044 2nd Gear March 14, 2019 Share March 14, 2019 Hi, i'm basically a newbie in this "car" thing. I'm a foreigner which is now studying in malaysia and looking for a car to drive on a daily basis. I'm looking for a car that's not going to make my bank broke Currently i'm thinking of getting Mercedes-Benz w124 either 230E/260E. I've done some research around the internet, and my conclusion is that: -Parts are not too expensive and can be found easily -Good car, build to last -fuel consumption is ok My questions are: -Although the parts are relatively cheap and can be found almost everywhere, i need an approximate price for the parts (the important one) -Some say the fuel consumption is economic, some says "can be ok, but sometimes can be thirsty", wdyt about this? -How much would the car cost? (Searched in mudah.my and carlist.my it was around 5k-10k MYR, is it the market price? and is it safe to buy from there?) -Is it hard to change the ownership of the car? Since i'm a foreigner. -Any suggestion on where to buy the car? -Any other suggestion of classic cars? e.g.(Audi A4 B5, W123, BMW E36(some said parts kind of hard to get nowadays)) your ambition far outweighed your wallet,I’m afraid.Newbie ,studying & not not making yr first pay check,yet. Reckon,u Pick up a kanchil & navigate around first. Notice u are concern with FC as well.dis era of the 124 are solidly build damn heavy,b prepare. Anwae to fully appreciate the finer things in life,u gotta noes what u are looking for. Dun juzz bang on the keyboard & x’pect information there,get out on the streets & prepare to get yr fingernails dirty. Dat how u go about it. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...