I just looked at new car prices @.@

Mockngbrd

Actually what puzzles me is that base on the price of the car assuming conti cars rate are being rolled out, the monthly income earners say put an average of 20k, meaning around 180k cash for a new c-class merc spread over 10 years. Forking out 1.8k a month on car to be approved for loan meaning base on income approval has to be 7.2k (base on about 25% of income and not much liability assets). Are the average singaporeans earning so high nowadays?

I went to ask about the x6 and I am surprise that base on my income for 80% loan the SE say sure approve. Are the banks being too lax?

but then again, I do agree on one point, buying a car is not so much a problem but supporting the ride is another thing.

Actually what puzzles me is that base on the price of the car assuming conti cars rate are being rolled out, the monthly income earners say put an average of 20k, meaning around 180k cash for a new c-class merc spread over 10 years. Forking out 1.8k a month on car to be approved for loan meaning base on income approval has to be 7.2k (base on about 25% of income and not much liability assets). Are the average singaporeans earning so high nowadays?

I went to ask about the x6 and I am surprise that base on my income for 80% loan the SE say sure approve. Are the banks being too lax?

but then again, I do agree on one point, buying a car is not so much a problem but supporting the ride is another thing.

Are you really planning to buy X6 or viewing for fun of it? Asked for 80% loan, they say ok but you complaining??

I think it also has to do with the Euro dropping and Yen rising in the past few years, reducing the gap between the japanese and european cars. As the majority of buyers will be taking long loans, it's looked at from a "how much more payment each month" instead of "twenty or thirty thousand more to fork out", making it easier to rationalise.

I mean, pay few hundred more each month to look more satki drive conti brand ok mah? Nevermind over budget, at most tighten the belt on other things lor. Can justify one. Imagine pay so much for coe then drive budget car, wasted. How to turn up at relatives house next CNY with non-conti when ah ti, ah kow and ah sia all driving conti now? Sia suay ah.

Like that a lot of people cannot go CNY visiting because didnt drive a conti car ? Sia suay to take a cab /Mrt to visit your friends or relatives who own a conti car ? :wacko:

Why alot of altis with new plate? Because Camry is way over budget for them, that is why they settled for a altis instead. One of my friend's dad is a living example. Used to drive a Camry, now downgrade to a altis. Not cannot afford new Camry, but just doesn't worth the money to pay for new Camry and current budget can only spend on altis where in the past, this budget can buy a 2.4 Camry. The alarming COE prices is getting out of hand. 2 years down the road, I'll expect a large volume of car deregistered. Unless government negate the growth, else large volume of COE will float into the market. Current deregistered car owner definitely wouldn't be able to buy new car then as COE have not been recycled into the market. Thus, they will buy secondhand car. Once COE recycled, COE dropped and these budget buyer will sell their secondhand car and buy new. Vicious cycle will follow with rich people selling their high COE ride to cut losses and dealer deregister them. Generating more COE in the market. Then, my prediction is government will be busy paying back cash voucher to existing owner, creating a big hole in their own pocket.

based on bank loan calculator, a simple calculation for

$3000 gross monthly salary, loan tenure 10 years = can take loan up to $122K

$4000 gross monthly salary, loan tenure 10 years = can take loan up to $164K

everyone can buy car [thumbsup] ... huat ah!

Maybe it is true, not easy to maintain those conti cars like BMW or merc, servicing quite expensive as compared to jap cars. Even got money to buy but maybe have no money to "feed" the car. :D

Actually fr normal service like oil plugs n filters if u get yr outside ws to do not much diff from jap car.

Only fr special work or repairs wil e ad charges kill u.

in the US, those that drive CHEAP jap (modified) cars are called Ricers, mostly young men with limited budget and wants to 'upgrade' as they go along......i wonder what u call a person driving a $140K Altis....(when it was 70k already cost too much liao).

Now the irritating think is i always get name cards on my wind screen....for car agents.

Wonder what u call a person driving a $140K Altis.

These r known as Sillyporeans. Hahaha [laugh]

Agree with you, paying more for a smaller car is like what I am in now, my mom gave me a face when she first saw my car, she say why didn't u choose an Altis... Or i30 which she like it so much [laugh]

U never ask her top up e difference then can get merc or bm even. Hahaha [laugh]

If both working professionals then can afford, but must also think in terms of the opportunity cost, and add in all the other bits and pieces that go with a car.

Biggest thing is depreciation on the COE - at $7,500 per year, that is a lot of money for doing "other things" - particularly if you have a young family

If our public transport is really that good i wont need a car.