Forbes: Best places to be born and raised in 2013

Mockngbrd

Come to think of it, being born here now is truly good. Kids are like little princesses & prince,s got maid to take care of them, carry their bags, parents give them whatever they want. They can go school trip thousands of miles away for 'educational' purpose.

No wonder they're claiming the whole South China Sea.. because we're also part of them!!! [:p] [:p]

Very soon, we could become like the Diaoyu Islands. Every proud neighbouring nation will claim us as their own!!! :wacko:

Nice. Wish I have such tours when I was a kid.

yeah. its a eye opener. now they open up educational tour. if you are ever back from germany. you can go visit bah.. anyway, they normally start tour on a saturday morning.

boon lay fire station is one of those providing the services.

Province, city, state, ..anything but a country. We're too small to be country in the eyes of most people in this world to be honest. We are about only people sees it differently, except maybe Monaco, but then that's hardly even 1% of the world's population.

The same way that a lot of Singaporeans cannot understand why 30-40 mins travel is considered very short, when most people in other countries typically have to travel 1-2 hours just to get to work. In most major cities, their suburbs are more than 30-40 km away from the city central, and PIE is how long, 30 km ?

A few things people find it hard to understand.

1) Why chewing gum is banned.

2) Why people willing to pay so much for cars.

3) Tell people we are poor, yet they always see us on facebook on expensive oversea tour, restuarants, cafes.

4) Going point to point is so near, yet people are still so impatient. e.g beating red lights, zoom around traffic, move off before lights turn etc

A few things people find it hard to understand.

1) Why chewing gum is banned. Because Govt thinks we don't have discipline to clean up after ourselves (true to a certain extent)

2) Why people willing to pay so much for cars. Because Govt only knows how to control via monetary means.

3) Tell people we are poor, yet they always see us on facebook on expensive oversea tour, restuarants, cafes. Because Govt teaches us not rich/powerful also must at least act rich/powerful

4) Going point to point is so near, yet people are still so impatient. e.g beating red lights, zoom around traffic, move off before lights turn etc Because Govt says things must be efficient, everything fast fast chop chop

OK, maybe a bit harsh. But it pretty much boils down to that, IMHO.

everything also gvt fault? u siao bo?

Because Govt = Singapore, Singapore = Govt, tio bo? LKY say one.

We are merely the embodiment of his ideals. We are the results of his work.

If you compare to other first world countries, most of these are similar to Singapore. As for security, it depends. In the bigger cities, crimes tends to be more frequent, but in smaller towns, crimes can be almost unheard of, far more secure than even Singapore. I seen people put their bikes & such outside their houses & its not a biggy in my neighborhood in Central Germany.

I did not even know how the cops in my neighbourhood spend their days, maybe do talking to kids on police station tours, go to car accident scenes to take down numbers, & help get cats down from trees, pay visit to Donut stalls? I do often see the fire station (50metres away from where I live only) having tours for students. Very interesting as they gets hands on as well.

But yes, as a city state, we are one of the safest, but as a whole, maybe not.

I am reminded of a true story which my colleague told me when he went back to his home town in Kedah.

One night his parents noticed some commotion from the neighbour's house and on peering closer they notice hooded persons robbing their neighbours.

Hence they called the polis. Thi si the rough translation from Malay

"Hello, polis. I want to report a robbery at my neighbour house!!".

Polis "How you know it is a robbery?"

Wah, there are hooded robbers shouting demands to my neigbours lah!!

Polis "Do they have guns or knifes? "

Hey I am not sure cos I didnt get a clear look but please come quickly!

Polis " Hmmm Encik if have gun then dangerous to our lives you know?"Also we are short of officers now

Huh???? What do you mean??! Hey this is not a joke, our neighbours are being robbed!!

Polis "Yes Encik I know but many people are being robbed everywhere. You cannot expect polis to be everywhere right? So can you have a look again to see if they have knifes or guns as the price will be different?

Huh? What prices???

Polis "Encik polis also have to earn a lving right? You cannot expect us to risk our lifes without some compensation?

Reply ............................................ Ok ok I will pay, my addresss is at ...............................Please come quickly!!!

Polis" Yes encik right away.Payment is upfront first "

Reply underbreath.........*&^#*&^#*&^#

So not saying Singapore is very good or perfect or even that Malaysia is v bad. Every place has it's good and bad. Even Australia is not perfect.

Are we renaming to Chinapore soon? <_<

Let's sing...

We are Chinapore

The Cheenas will stand together

Look at Sinkies crawl

We are Chinapore

We are all doing reservice

While the FTs all can go home

This is not my country

This is no longer my land

There is no more future

This is no longer like a life

Where is my family?

What happened to my friends?

We are Chinapore

Chinaporeannnnsss

Source: HWZ

[laugh][laugh]

[thumbsup] to the guy for this creative work!

must include us in their new passport then

sorie i not interested to hold their passport.. their passport is one of the worst in the world... go almost anywhere oso need visa... except for places like iran, afghanistan etc...

Because Govt = Singapore, Singapore = Govt, tio bo? LKY say one.

We are merely the embodiment of his ideals. We are the results of his work.

typical singaporean