Consider Drivers occupation for COE

WTF..if i have money i buy lor....why shd what i work as dictate that i get one?

COE: Consider driver's occupation as well

THERE is another factor that the authorities should consider in a revamp of the certificate of entitlement (COE) system, and that is the car owner's occupation ("COE: Time for a tune-up?"; Thursday).

Many drivers use their cars just to get from home to work. They park their cars for the whole day at their workplaces, then drive home.

Such drivers do not really need a car and can get around easily with public transport. The exception is those who work in areas where public transport is not readily available.

Then there are those whose occupations require them to be on the road very often, and relying on public transport is neither efficient nor productive.

For example, it is not uncommon for people in sales to travel from Pasir Ris to Jurong, then to Sembawang and Tiong Bahru, all in a single day, to meet clients. For them, taking taxis may actually cost more than owning a car, and taking public transport can be very time-consuming.

For some others, like those in pastoral care or social services, a car is necessary because they have to travel far, often to provide important services to the people they are looking after.

For such people, having a car is a necessity, not a luxury. Making COEs very expensive hurts them - and society at large.

I hope the authorities take these factors into consideration if they review the COE system.

Alex Yeo

high coe has turned the people sibei LAME ... simi excuse also can think of just to get a chance on coe [hur]

perhaps, i should also suggest a lame suggestion

since so many used car sitting in all dealers islandwide > hogging coe and unproductive

govt should impose all used car dealer to lelong or scrap all private cars (exception to commercial transport like pick-up, etc) >= 5 years wihtin 3 months

all recovered coes should be put back in the bidding pool progressively in the next 12 months ... wahahaha

so, after 3 months, the whole of singapore private car is < 5 years old

high coe has turned the people sibei LAME ... simi excuse also can think of just to get a chance on coe [hur]

young ah being doing 'sales' need one mah, with $2000 salary and uncertain commission, how to pay $80k coe :huh:

like that all ah beng can show off to their girl friends they have car and poor desk bound accountant cannot own a car [:(]

Nowadays, people are getting more and more irrational.

Looking at the way they suggest in Straits Times forum and other public platforms to allocate COEs, either they did not think through properly on the implementation before suggesting or simply childish.

Sad to say, 1st world status, worse-than third world mentality.

Edited by Tayv

can park their heavily modded car at disco and puff a cigarette showing of 2F2F too .... wahaha

young ah being doing 'sales' need one mah, with $2000 salary and uncertain commission, how to pay $80k coe :huh:

like that all ah beng can show off to their girl friends they have car and poor desk bound accountant cannot own a car [:(]

In all honesty, I dun actually need a car. However, i did consider gg public. Bus stop right outside my house, MRT 50m down from my place....but it is hte convenience..... that you have.

For eg, gg Shopping ctr, having a car to lug your stuff halfway and then continue shopping, is a real plus. Cannot put a price to it.

NEed to go out in middle of night, no need wait or call cab, just drive out song song then return home safe...

thus, that is why i own a car of my own.....

is 'father' an occupation? cos many can justify that been a father need a car :D

yes, single are not allow to have a car :angry:

is 'father' an occupation? cos many can justify that been a father need a car :D

yes, single are not allow to have a car :angry:

then how to pak tor? Take girl out then take her home? u selfish bugger..... :angry: :angry:

i will just say this to this Alex,........'because I can!'

i really need a car coz too many ATBs to piak in my car...now transit hotel not easy to get without 2 ICs....

Why do I have a feeling this Alex is in the sales line?

Next you know they will claim having a car make them want to have more babies, or be more polite, or even more liking to vote for PAP, & ask for discount.

next time car dealers become like HR....what you work as? what u use your car for? how often u use your car??? lol.....

New depths of lameness and stupidity has now been achieved.

Waiting for someone to come up and say those with elderly parents also should be given special concession as need car to send them to hospital and not convenient for elderly to walk to mrt station and multiple taxi trips too costly.

Nowadays, people are getting more and more irrational.

Looking at the way they suggest in Straits Times forum and other public platforms to allocate COEs, either they did not think through properly on the implementation before suggesting or simply childish.

Sad to say, 1st world status, worse-than third world mentality.

simple all think only around themself, and ("beg" "idea") what best work for their situation.

What I learn in life and 99% of time can achieve, thus alex should think of ways to upgrade, improve, more production etc or even change job do others things in life. rather than ask the impossible in forum then kena shot down by people which I myself think is lame

求人不如求自己

for non-chinese forumer, this means...... beg others might as well beg yourself [laugh]

Edited by D3badge