Will the COE bubble burst?

Forte3737

Well.....

Parking will be an issue (HDB carparks cannot),

no insurance, no roadtax,

And how to "escape" the authorities when they ask you if the car has been deregistered.

I don't know the process, but I would be willing to bet dollars to donoughts that there is a process to check on 10 year old cars if the COE is not renewed and they are not exported.

How many LTA does not matter, if you are the one to get caught, it would be jail time I think - worth it meh?

I don't mean to discriminate, but those who own cheap cars with cheap COEs are in the lower end of the income level. I wouldn't be surprised to see some of them take such risks. There are also a lot of drivers with unpaid summons. Then again, I'm sure LTA will be prepared for that. Just that they can only cast such a large net.

Suppose these cars are always parked somewhere at the top level of the MSCP and only travel around at night or morning. Cars can be resprayed, even the number plate can be changed. They could escape being caught, unless LTA comes knocking on the door of their "last known address". I don't see LTA chasing these cars around, nor towing them away from MSCP.

Anyway, I can't see this happening on a large scale. But it's possible.

Edited by Grix17

it is much easier to cheat a man (or several) in the street than to cheat the government of Singapore. One can get by in one or two weeks, but once caught, the penalty is not worth the risk.

To drive a car is to get from point A to point B. Getting past the gantry, we never know whether there is one fine day, LTA do a data check on the IU and the COE or road tax .

If you can devise a way to cheat, congrats!

it is much easier to cheat a man (or several) in the street than to cheat the government of Singapore. One can get by in one or two weeks, but once caught, the penalty is not worth the risk.

To drive a car is to get from point A to point B. Getting past the gantry, we never know whether there is one fine day, LTA do a data check on the IU and the COE or road tax .

If you can devise a way to cheat, congrats!

Data checks are done to match ERP gantry to Road Tax.

If no road tax and go under gantry without cash card, then can get caught that way

ic.. thanks guys! [:)] If COE 20K? grab liao lor! mai tu liao [:p] in fact below 50K also grab..

bought current ride at 2008, COE 13K. looks like borderline ppl like myself have to wait for right opportunity to buy or just switch back to riding. :mellow:

You still have an option to buy an used "old car". [:p]

Continue driving and owning a de-registered car is very risky, esp if you plan to drive one a long term basis. Cause if you got caught, the price that you will be paying definitely not worth it. If you say only drive a few days, maybe still can consider. [rolleyes]

From One Motoring

Failing to submit disposal documents of a de-registered vehicle

Offenders who fail to submit disposal documents as proof that the vehicle has been scrapped or exported within a month of the cancellation of its registration may be prosecuted in Court, and face a maximum Court fine of $2,000 or 3 months' imprisonment. Similarly, first time offenders who are found keeping a de-registered vehicle may be prosecuted in Court, and face a maximum Court fine of $2,000 or 3 months' imprisonment.

ALSO

A de-registered vehicle is also likely to be uninsured. It is a serious offence for anyone to use or permit the use of a vehicle without a valid motor insurance cover. The penalty is a fine of up to $2,000 or imprisonment of up to 3 months or both, and a mandatory disqualification from holding a driving licence for at least 12 months, upon conviction in court.

Edited by Darryn

So SIX months jail plus $4k in fines.

And I would think that if you did it deliberatly over a longer term, you may well be charged with multiple violations.

Remember the guy who drove the off peak car with no permit? How much did he rack up in fines? Wasn't it $80k plus?

So SIX months jail plus $4k in fines.

And I would think that if you did it deliberatly over a longer term, you may well be charged with multiple violations.

Remember the guy who drove the off peak car with no permit? How much did he rack up in fines? Wasn't it $80k plus?

Pardon my discrimination .. but I am going to stereotype some of such drivers.

I'm sure a lot are ex- or current bike owners. Judging from the way they ride and park their bikes (and get away with it), there is a likelihood that some of them will escape the law. There are 600k cars in Singapore. Surely there are a few thousand such cars.

How to catch all of them? I'm looking with a microscopic view - I'm expecting LTA/ROV to seize ALL such vehicles - and I don't see a 100% success rate.

Edited by Grix17

Pardon my discrimination .. but I am going to stereotype some of such drivers.

I'm sure a lot are ex- or current bike owners. Judging from the way they ride and park their bikes (and get away with it), there is a likelihood that some of them will escape the law. There are 600k cars in Singapore. Surely there are a few thousand such cars.

How to catch all of them? I'm looking with a microscopic view - I'm expecting LTA/ROV to seize ALL such vehicles - and I don't see a 100% success rate.

This feels like a silly argument for the sake of clocking posts -

But I'd say that if you're really going to be driving a car with no COE, no Road Tax and no Insurance, you want to be making damn freaking sure you're parking it

a) Legally

or

b) Somewhere that you are certain the Mata won't see it.

As soon as you get even ONE parking ticket, the game is up, so it would pile stupidity on top of stupidity to park it illegally

I feel that his argument means something like, there are 600K cars on the road and how do you guarantee that all the drivers have a valid driving licence?! [:p]

But I'd say that if you're really going to be driving a car with no COE, no Road Tax and no Insurance, you want to be making damn freaking sure you're parking it

a) Legally

or

As soon as you get even ONE parking ticket, the game is up, so it would pile stupidity on top of stupidity to park it illegally

You sound annoyed. I'm just trying to point out that the system doesn't always work properly. And to ensure 100% success, we have to use more government resources to eliminate a problem which was created by the same government process in the first place.

I hope that all these car issues can be once and for all be ironed out to minimise the amount of redtape for the government and strain/stress for all of us.

Sorry for digressing ..

a) Legally

or

not to mention about ERP sensing.. unless you tear out your IU unit. but SG car plate without IU unit?? the first person to call LTA will be me.

having said that. previously got one Lancer EX white owner fake his own car as lancer EVO of same color using same number.

You sound annoyed. I'm just trying to point out that the system doesn't always work properly. And to ensure 100% success, we have to use more government resources to eliminate a problem which was created by the same government process in the first place.

I hope that all these car issues can be once and for all be ironed out to minimise the amount of redtape for the government and strain/stress for all of us.

Sorry for digressing ..

Not annoyed,

And there probably are people that try it, but I wouldn't think it would be at all common - mostly because as soon as someone gets caught for it, there would be a big big story in the papers.

Naturally, absence of evidence is not the same as evidence of absence.

But also, going from the OneMotoring rules, it would seem that there is a mechanism in place for checking on deregistration. Just as I get the road tax reminders I would be willing to bet that there is some form of autogenerated thingummy that lets "the authorities" know when COE has expired and then some form of check-up action is started.

The smarter way to go about it MIGHT be...

a) Report the car stolen / lost

b) Deregister via that format

c) Tear out IU

d) Put on a fake JB plate

That may well leave you with more chance of getting away with it.

Naturally, absence of evidence is not the same as evidence of absence.

Just my last contribution .. I have already seen 2 cars in my MSCP with road tax discs displaying their expiry to be 2 to 3 years ago.

Either the owner has not put the latest disc, or he has not renewed road tax (is this possible with electronic form of renewal?)

But this does raise a similar question. If the road tax has really not been renewed, have these 2 guys escaped?

Same for those who try to escape paying season parking by parking on the top-most floors, thinking the 'aunty' won't go checking up there.

Do we have sufficient resources to control the situation? If not, then there is no sense of fairness.

Edited by Grix17

Just my last contribution .. I have already seen 2 cars in my MSCP with road tax discs displaying their expiry to be 2 to 3 years ago.

Either the owner has not put the latest disc, or he has not renewed road tax (is this possible with electronic form of renewal?)

But this does raise a similar question. If the road tax has really not been renewed, have these 2 guys escaped?

Same for those who try to escape paying season parking by parking on the top-most floors, thinking the 'aunty' won't go checking up there.

Do we have sufficient resources to control the situation? If not, then there is no sense of fairness.

why dont you call LTA and complain. .then see if they had escape or not.. then come back to tell us.

instead of speculating.

You still have an option to buy an used "old car". [:p]

haha. no need la. If im really being priced out of Car ownership, then I ride or take public transport lor. why must die die drive and strain myself financially?

bought a car because of my kid...by 2018 she Sec 1 liao lor.. don't want me to fetch her around liao [:(]

or..maybe I get my big break in the next few years and "make it" leh? [:p]

Edited by Baphomet