Will the COE bubble burst?

Forte3737

Just my last contribution .. I have already seen 2 cars in my MSCP with road tax discs displaying their expiry to be 2 to 3 years ago.

Either the owner has not put the latest disc, or he has not renewed road tax (is this possible with electronic form of renewal?)

But this does raise a similar question. If the road tax has really not been renewed, have these 2 guys escaped?

Same for those who try to escape paying season parking by parking on the top-most floors, thinking the 'aunty' won't go checking up there.

Do we have sufficient resources to control the situation? If not, then there is no sense of fairness.

I know of one friend - didn't pay road tax, the car was parked inside a private house.

the car was driven under a gantry with no Cash card.

The owner was out of the country at the time. When he came back he was arrested.

So my bet would be that the cars you have seen, have most likely renewed but not updated the disc.

And from my experience the "Aunty" checks all floors. Whether she notices the tax disc or not I dunno - BUT I wouldn't like to bet three months in jail on them NOT noticing (even if they don't check)

haha. no need la. If im really being priced out of Car ownership, then I ride or take public transport lor. why must die die drive and strain my finance?

or..maybe I get my break in the next few years and "make it" leh? [:p]

If I get my "break" and make it enough to be comfortable with a $100k COE, I won't be staying here - I will run off somewhere else where $100k can buy me two or three nice cars

judging from the car sales now.. alot of ppl very comfortable leh [:p]

Just my last contribution .. I have already seen 2 cars in my MSCP with road tax discs displaying their expiry to be 2 to 3 years ago.

This is quite common...they pay but jus plain lazy or refused to put up the road tax disc...to them...money paid...whats there to bother...only ppl who buay song about them will go complain... LTA will jus remind them to display...if they still refused, wat u want? [laugh]

parking aunties are not lazy. especially when there are lifts in mscp.

In fact, they have great work ethics. I think the parking disc is rfid, or at least contain some wireless identification.

If the two cars with expired road tax disc displayed did not pay the car parking, they will be caught in a very short time.

Our government is very efficient on such matters.

Post #144 is a possible way but too risky. After accessing the risks and you still go ahead, I can only say:

u are destined for greater things.

Don't waste your effort on such petty misdemeanor

Agree they are not lazy, that day after washing my car, I park it at the level 6 to wax it. When I'm back home, able to view my car from my house, saw 2 auntie punching my number plate into their gadget. Was wondering why they don't scan it, maybe because I didn't stick it on the windscreen but place it near the IU Unit...

Actually if there was a bad recession, finance companies and banks will also not be giving loans so freely.

Ineligibility for a loan will also skim off a portion of the car buyers.

Its mind boggling how many of the new cars on the road now are running on 8/9/10 year loans with fairly minimal downpayment.

I think it's a common mindset that should be changed. Moving within Singapore is even nearer than moving within Yangon. It's because we believe we must follow how others organise their cities that we cannot accept change.

Why do you see that companies located in bedok or amk will go bust?

I'm referring to those real estate company holding those lands in Bedok and AMK when CBD change location to Bedok and AMK.

The other way for those currently in CBD, the swing of property price btw them will be madness for everyone. So this will not likely to happen and impossible.