New property cooling measure!

Thaiyotakamli

i believe when they bought it 2-3 years ago, by now the value appreciate at least 25%, should be able to let go let slightly lower price but still make profit.

My guess is those desperate flippers will start giving 7% discount at least to offload their baby.

I'm looking to buy now - but wouldn't be convinced by 7%, I'll be waiting to see if the market falls more than that...

It would be interesting to see how those flippers react and rushing to the same exit.

Not hard to predict - they will stab each other in the back, as soon as the market starts to slide, then buyers have more incentive to wait. So it depends on who has the biggest balls I guess.

Most of the flippers are infact property agents. They grab the units first and release the remaining to public. All thanks to them that artificially inflated the demand and prices. I believe oversupply already kicks in, and will be worsen over the next few years. If prices start sliding from now and over 10% over the next 12 mths, those flippers can kiss goodbye to their profit. Ho seh!

Talk so much about measures...jus another knee jerk effect...ppl will forget and continue to buy....u wanna wait...wait lor...

yeah.. the mkt is under gong tao liao.. everyone think the mkt will not drop at all... just that not enuff $$ to pay the levy here and there...

i dun think oversupply will kill the mkt or the interest rate..

It's when ppl realised that they put in 4k mthly... but return is only 3k or worse cannot rent out.. then ppl will start to rush to exit.. then the big crash will come when everyone under gong tao again.. that the mkt will never pick up again.

Just see london for example... interest rate never pick up, supply is tight but still not many dare to buy...

Edited by ShepherdPie

if property price corrected >20% (ie: 20% downpayment + 80% loan), got margin call for the loan?

haha ... i think is very unlikely la ... $1M lost $200K ... many will jump

Dun think singaporeans will jump over $200k. That's just the price of a car only. And so many households are making over $200k pa nowadays.

Maybe if it's $800K ($200k X 4 properties). :D

yeah.. the mkt is under gong tao liao.. everyone dun think the mkt will drop at all... just that not enuff $$ to pay the levy here and there...

i dun think oversupply will kill the mkt or the interest rate..

It's when ppl realised that they put in 4k mthly... but return is only 3k or worse cannot rent out.. then ppl will start to rush to exit.. then the big crash will come when everyone under gong tao again.. that the mkt will never pick up again.

Just see london for example... interest rate never pick up, supply is tight but still not many dare to buy...

wun happen so soon. Interest rates so low today. Even with rental yield of 2% also ppl will rush in... cos many bankers are reminding ppl that their savings account only gives 0% interest.

interest rate low .. you still need to pay 3k for a 1.2 mil unit.. if you cannt rent out, effective you are bleeding..

its not a matter of yield....... if you bleeding 3k a mth, will you continue to hold? put in the bank, you dun see blood.. just inflation sucking you slowly..

Imagine, you earn 20k, every mth you lose 3k for "nothing" ... you will let go to realised your profit .. no matter what..

Edited by ShepherdPie

interest rate low .. you still need to pay 3k for a 1.2 mil unit.. if you cannt rent out, effective you are bleeding..

its not a matter of yield....... if you bleeding 3k a mth, will you continue to hold? put in the bank, you dun see blood.. just inflation sucking you slowly..

Imagine, you earn 20k, every mth you lose 3k for "nothing" ... you will let go to realised your profit .. no matter what..

Worse, imagine you have two mortgage, so must come up with cash (not enough in CPF), and your take home is in the 8-12k region. Can sustain or not?

Is there a forum for HDB? :D

Myhometown forum

But kns one, inside all rubbish, condosingapore got many learned people inside, best is go and listen for free lessons [:p]

If the MC and condo manager (usually an outsourced employee of a building management company) are on-the-ball, fix and maintain everything as they should, age should not matter one bit.

I currently live in a 21 year old condo and everything, tennis courts, swimming pool, lobby, wall cladding, common toilets and showers, car parks, sewerage, leaks, paint weathering, electrical system of building, had been fixed as soon as problems cropped up and everything is currently in tip top condition.

So if the condo you view is in a really bad condition, somebody is not doing his job and it will be a condo to avoid.

21 year old atas condo in D9 is different from

10 year old EC in hougang built by China construction firm

:ph34r:

Edited by Enye