Newdrive 1st Gear January 31, 2013 Share January 31, 2013 hi guys, i just want to double confirm with you guys... my car is due for car inspection in Aug... but i am converting my car to OPC next month. i called up LTA they say i dun need to go for car inspection this time since not due yet... i just need to go to LTA office, fill up the papers, provide the update insurance invoice then put on the red car plate and do the sealing thing. is it true i dun need to send for my car for serivicing prior to OPC conversion? http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/ltaweb/en/ro...kend-car.html#9 although it says "Inspection certificate (if applicable) " so just need to confirm... cos my road tax ending soon... need to convert before it ends. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 31, 2013 Share January 31, 2013 how old is your car? convert to OPC only get back $2200 per year, very bo hua with the current high COE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newdrive 1st Gear January 31, 2013 Author Share January 31, 2013 how old is your car? convert to OPC only get back $2200 per year, very bo hua with the current high COE. very hua in my case. my car 7 year old liao... me is the second owner (i think)... bought this car for $25k... i still got 5 times to get the rebate... so total up to $5.5k. so at the end of the 10 year (i intend drive finish), get back parf value... total i can get back $11K+. i dun drive to work... only drive in the evening once a while... and mostly on weekends. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newdrive 1st Gear January 31, 2013 Author Share January 31, 2013 help? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meganut 2nd Gear January 31, 2013 Share January 31, 2013 Bro, servicing and inspection not really the same... inspection will check if your car is road worthy, any illegal modds... for OPC inspection is every year to check the OPC seal and once in two years to check the above.. If they ask you for inspection documents then go Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Briansoh 1st Gear January 31, 2013 Share January 31, 2013 IIRC part of the 2.2k comes from your OMV which is why OPC cars are so cheap. Dont think you will get back your full OMV at 10th year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newdrive 1st Gear January 31, 2013 Author Share January 31, 2013 (edited) IIRC part of the 2.2k comes from your OMV which is why OPC cars are so cheap. Dont think you will get back your full OMV at 10th year. that's not what i understand. at the end i will still get back the parf. this one not related to the OPC rebate anymore. but anyone can correct me if i am wrong... if possible can help me do some calculation? Edited January 31, 2013 by Newdrive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newdrive 1st Gear January 31, 2013 Author Share January 31, 2013 Bro, servicing and inspection not really the same... inspection will check if your car is road worthy, any illegal modds... for OPC inspection is every year to check the OPC seal and once in two years to check the above.. If they ask you for inspection documents then go thanks bro! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wormvirus 1st Gear January 31, 2013 Share January 31, 2013 i tot parf is for parf car? coe & opc no rebate, ur case maybe u get parf for 7yr Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newdrive 1st Gear January 31, 2013 Author Share January 31, 2013 i tot parf is for parf car? coe & opc no rebate, ur case maybe u get parf for 7yr from my understanding, opc... or non opc... at the end, u still get back parf when u deregister. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 (edited) that's not what i understand. at the end i will still get back the parf. this one not related to the OPC rebate anymore. but anyone can correct me if i am wrong... if possible can help me do some calculation? Yes you will get back your PARF when you scrap your car. This is in addition to the $1100 you get from LTA every 6 months until the day you sell or scrap, after you convert to OPC. This only applies when you register your new car under normal scheme and convert to OPC thereafter. And not for cars that are registered new under OPC scheme. Edited February 1, 2013 by Beehive3783 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-love-singapore February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 that time i try to convert. bo hua 1. the parf thing i remember not so simple. u better ask again. in the end i nv convert. new opc & convert opc got diff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 that time i try to convert. bo hua 1. the parf thing i remember not so simple. u better ask again. in the end i nv convert. new opc & convert opc got diff. Your that time is how long ago? Better be clear because LTA tweaked the conversion scheme a few years ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 bookmarked...will read after 7pm tonight Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 bookmarked...will read after 7pm tonight I will get Porker to bookmark you at 6.59pm tonight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newdrive 1st Gear February 1, 2013 Author Share February 1, 2013 This only applies when you register your new car under normal scheme and convert to OPC thereafter. And not for cars that are registered new under OPC scheme. yah... i took over this normal plate car (7 year old). converting to OPC next mth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newdrive 1st Gear February 1, 2013 Author Share February 1, 2013 bookmarked...will read after 7pm tonight text only... no need to book mark lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pippo20 Neutral Newbie February 1, 2013 Share February 1, 2013 that's not what i understand. at the end i will still get back the parf. this one not related to the OPC rebate anymore. but anyone can correct me if i am wrong... if possible can help me do some calculation? If your car is a Kelisa OMV $7000, ARF $7000 bought during COE $1000 times, then you won't get $1100 every 6mth since the initial $22000 is more than the amount to offset all the govt taxes $7000+$7000+$1000.. You can read more at onemotoring website.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...