Beehive3783 Turbocharged August 26, 2016 Share August 26, 2016 Bo pian mah... My car doesn't have rear fog light. Alamak. You so ma fun.I simply overtake road hoggers and turn on my rear fog lamps and see the red face from my rear view mirror. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged August 26, 2016 Share August 26, 2016 two comments here. 1). I believe road hogging can be proven hence it can be an offence. tailgating cannot be proven because in a traffics jam, everyone is close to the car in front and that technically is tailgating. hence writing a law for tailgating is not so clear cut compared to road hogging. by the way, I have yet to hear of a person charged for road hogging for keeping to speed limit at lane 1. just my tots. don't flame me. 2). don't play the braking game. for me, I will just filter out when safe to do so. why? because if you need to e brake later because of anything in front, you have to worry about the car behind rear ending you. my opinion. ppl will say the car behind bears the responsibility because he did not keep a safe distance but the inconvenience and injuries (own injuries) are for you to bear so whats the point? by high beaming a road hogger or tapping brakes at a tail gate maybe you reach your destination 5 minutes faster but the stress probably shortened your life be ten minutes. don't ask me. ask @RadX 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
w7_lee 4th Gear August 26, 2016 Share August 26, 2016 Alamak. You so ma fun. I simply overtake road hoggers and turn on my rear fog lamps and see the red face from my rear view mirror. If hogger is on right lane, better be careful. IIRC, overtaking from the left side is an offence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear August 26, 2016 Share August 26, 2016 Bo pian mah... My car doesn't have rear fog light. Yalor. Mine also no rear fog light, so have to use the other "fog" red light Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear August 26, 2016 Share August 26, 2016 If hogger is on right lane, better be careful. IIRC, overtaking from the left side is an offence. cannot highbeam, cannot tailgate, cannot overtake from the left... then how? suck thumb and wait patiently hope that a TP will come by.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonydeath 4th Gear August 26, 2016 Share August 26, 2016 Bloody Idiotic Road Hogger ... Was driving home on AYE last evening, this idiotic Forester XT ... plate : XXX 9222 X was hogging lane 1. I did not high beam, tail gate or show any aggression following behind. But when there was a gap on lane 2, I speed up and tried to overtake on lane 2. Stupid road hogger purposely speed up to close the gap so that I cannot filter back to lane 1. I speed up and managed to filer in ... she (i think) horn aggressively. I agree I was driving fast to filter back but I would not have to speed up if she have left the gap as it is. Why .... driving a new XT with more than 200 bhp cannot allow someone to overtake on the left .... Ego too farking big .... WTF Just ranting lah there are many nowadays and worst ones are van or truck on lane 1! Sometimes before we start the road back home we are so happy and then when we reached home we became so angry and mad. hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged August 26, 2016 Share August 26, 2016 Oh please don't grandmother story can or not? If the driver really valued the passengers in his car, he would have moved aside instead of tapping brake. U tap break.. He over react.. He zham break.. Kid seat belt never buckle.. Fly to the front.. Car behind ram him..How u feel? Not worth it la... Not up to us to 'punish' hoggers...To be honest.. I would love to do that many times.. But as long as got sml possibility of the scenario I say can happen.. I won't live with myself 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged August 26, 2016 Share August 26, 2016 Oh please don't grandmother story can or not? If the driver really valued the passengers in his car, he would have moved aside instead of tapping brake. Oh please.. read carefully can or not? if your car tap break the kid can fly to the front.. u better change car... talking abt the hogger behind la .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonydeath 4th Gear August 26, 2016 Share August 26, 2016 Soon LTA will have a device that tag on all vehicles, any speeding, illegal parking, road hogging or any road offences will get summon and video proof send to you FOC. hmmmm 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged August 26, 2016 Share August 26, 2016 (edited) Correct la. If the hogger valued the life of his passengers, he would have moved aside to let others pass instead of tapping brake and play high beam after being overtaken all those kind of stunts. If hogger tap brake then still high beam the fella behind after he got in front and jam brake and hogger's kid flies out because hogger overreacted, whose fault is it in the first place? Oh please.. read carefully can or not? if your car tap break the kid can fly to the front.. u better change car... talking abt the hogger behind la .. Edited August 26, 2016 by Beehive3783 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged August 26, 2016 Share August 26, 2016 (edited) two comments here. 1). I believe road hogging can be proven hence it can be an offence. tailgating cannot be proven because in a traffics jam, everyone is close to the car in front and that technically is tailgating. hence writing a law for tailgating is not so clear cut compared to road hogging. by the way, I have yet to hear of a person charged for road hogging for keeping to speed limit at lane 1. just my tots. don't flame me. 2). don't play the braking game. for me, I will just filter out when safe to do so. why? because if you need to e brake later because of anything in front, you have to worry about the car behind rear ending you. my opinion. ppl will say the car behind bears the responsibility because he did not keep a safe distance but the inconvenience and injuries (own injuries) are for you to bear so whats the point? by high beaming a road hogger or tapping brakes at a tail gate maybe you reach your destination 5 minutes faster but the stress probably shortened your life be ten minutes. don't ask me. ask @RadX Can't agree more. Just enjoy your drive. So many traffic lights. Even if you chiong, the car behind will catch up with you at the next traffic lights. Verdict : No matter how you chiong, you are just as slow as the car behind. Edited August 26, 2016 by Vinceng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged August 26, 2016 Share August 26, 2016 Correct la. If the hogger valued the life of his passengers, he would have moved aside to let others pass instead of tapping brake and play high beam after being overtaken all those kind of stunts. If hogger tap brake then still high beam the fella behind after he got in front and jam brake and hogger's kid flies out because hogger overreacted, whose fault is it in the first place? Whose fault is it in the first place doesn't matter. You jam brake for no reason and cause someone to die, still your fault. Two wrongs don't make a right. It is childish behavior. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade777 5th Gear August 27, 2016 Share August 27, 2016 Can't agree more. Just enjoy your drive. So many traffic lights. Even if you chiong, the car behind will catch up with you at the next traffic lights. Verdict : No matter how you chiong, you are just as slow as the car behind. It is not about Chiong-ing or enjoy your drive. It is about causing inconvenience and about road hogging. Those want to take their time should go to the inner most lane and not block others who may be rushing for something impt. Very selfish if someone takes his or her own time and forcing others to take their pace. This is it and nothing else and we should never find reason to justify our cause that makes others upset. The other day saw one road hogger hogging a stretch of 6 to 8 cars. Can observe some being frustrated trying to overtake using the inner lane and the way things goes damn risky just because of one nerd thinking he is right and the road is his with the minute road tax he is paying. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ins1dious Turbocharged August 28, 2016 Share August 28, 2016 This topic about road hoggers has been discussed ad nauseam... and nothing is going to change until TP wakes up to the dangers of slow moving traffic on fast lanes. Here's a pro tip to the dullards on the 1st lane... if I'm able to undertake you using the 2nd lane... YOU ARE HOGGING! And if TP wants to reduce accidents and reduce congestion, they really really really need to look into why so many heavily loaded LGV/HGV's think it's fine for them to be on 1st lanes. While I am forgiving of these vehicles doing this on roads where I know there are congestions up ahead or where there is a right turn they need to catch... it boggles my tired brain why they do it on roads where there is no benefit to them except holding up a long train of vehicles behind them. Like on Cantonment Road towards Keppel Road... there's two lanes to turn right but believe me... every single day that I'm there at around 1730-1830 (peak fcking hour traffic)... there'll be a jackass fully loaded HGV who will only be on the outer lane... even though right fcking next to him on the inner lane... there'll be other HGV's / LGV's / buses... You'd think... oh.. he's there 'cos he's going to filter to right lane immediately after turning to Keppel Road. Nope! b-tard will continue hogging the lane going straight to MCE. Good luck passing him... especially with the other HGV's driving correctly on lane 2. And so... there'll be a long train of vehicles not just on Cantonment Road... but also on Keppel Road leading in from AYE. What's most irritating about this behaviour is that eventually; - the b-tard HGV will reach the ramp climbing to MCE - he slows down when climbing the ramp - he has his own personal duel with his mate HGV on the 2nd lane... why? - COS THE FCKING LANE IS A MERGING LANE and someone has to give! So if two lanes were merging into one... what bloody reason is there for a HGV to occupy the faster outer lane? Does he think that if he was in the slow inner lane... he won't be allowed to merge by other vehicles? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ins1dious Turbocharged August 28, 2016 Share August 28, 2016 Here's some common sense 101: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4oqfodY2Lz0 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
w7_lee 4th Gear August 29, 2016 Share August 29, 2016 cannot highbeam, cannot tailgate, cannot overtake from the left... then how? suck thumb and wait patiently hope that a TP will come by.... No choice leh... too bad we have to be behind the hogger. Highbeam should be OK. Can permanently turn on your high beam but stay 1 or 2 car length behind the hogger, then the beam go into his cabin and irritate the him. If stay too close, don't have this effect. There is a difference between overtaking on the left & passing on the left.... if you get what I mean Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic August 29, 2016 Share August 29, 2016 Yesterday i was on AYE lane 2 toward tuas, then i saw this merc new eyes on lane 1 from buona vista till jurong east, he maintain same speed with me lol. Behind him got at least 5-6 cars, the car behind him very kind no high beam or honk. Also cant overtake from left cos got few cars on his left. In the end guai guai follow behind this merc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic August 29, 2016 Share August 29, 2016 (edited) Many people are uneducated, yes, they go to school but are uneducated. Not covered in exams = No need to know. Here's some common sense 101: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4oqfodY2Lz0 MOE should include Common Sense as an examinable subject in schools. Edited August 29, 2016 by Jellandross ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...