Beng2 5th Gear February 10, 2013 Share February 10, 2013 why all these MPs no brains one? so many voices in the public already given some workable suggestions like 1) disallow AD from bidding COE on behalf of buyer 2) pay as you bid instead of the lowest accepted bid 3) no loan for COE i got a feeling, sometime down the road, 1 MP will suggest this and they push through the policy and applaud it as the most successful policy on vehicle population control when everyone else already know donkey years ago And you will get Forum writers complaining that this still favours the rich ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 And you will get Forum writers complaining that this still favours the rich Which is true :D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 I think she never do her sums. Owning and maintaining a car is even more costly dan taking a cab. Actually, there was a time when COE was really low when buying and running a new car was significantly cheaper than taking cab rides everywhere. Lots of people seem to have gotten "spoilt" by that happy time, and either wish for it back, or are constantly kicking themselves for not having bought a car then and are basically screaming "NO FAIR!!!" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplecar 4th Gear February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 And you will get Forum writers complaining that this still favours the rich Because the rich have more money. If after we allow 10 year 100% loan and the COE is so high, what would happen if we allow 20 year 100% loan? $150K COE? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caravan 5th Gear February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 TODAYonline got 1 more silly letter. Seems to be written by some JC school kid. From Leow Zi Xiang In the Parliamentary sitting on Feb 5,Member of Parliament Intan Azura Mokhtar (Ang Mo Kio GRC) suggested that first-time car buyers be classified under a different Certificate of Entitlement (COE) category where they can enjoy lower COE prices ( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 eh...dun anyhow say JC students hor. i think their depth of thoughts are much deeper than this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xavw Neutral Newbie February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 Gotch COE survey being conducted by LTA COE Survey Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edmemail 1st Gear February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 the coe is killing.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 Just release more motorcycle COE. There are many three wheels motorcycle that is just as stable as a car. Very good for solo transportation to work and run errands. Else just buy/rent/stay in a place with MRT. And look for a job/shopping/Childcare/etc that is also near a MRT. This is the future of Singapore CITY.......think CITY...... In many cities around the world.....people travels around using tubes and bicycles and walk. This one u have to give chance.. in my opinion, getting a class 2A licence is tougher than getting a class 3 licence in SG.. call me ku ku but I have failed the practical 4 horizontal plank lesson 4-5x.. and got to endure those smelly knee and elbow guard until I give up the class 2A licence.. I do wish I have a class 2B licence so that I can ride to work.. season parking for car is $450 a month but free for bike for tenants.. and sheltered somemore.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged February 16, 2013 Share February 16, 2013 When people buy car, they never take into consideration of maintenance of the car, like petrol, parking and servicing etc. Buying a car is easy but maintaining a car is not easy. Anyway, recently there are so many funny request on COE, i think it will only put an end if the COE drop back to $10-20K level. question here is when it was 10k level, people fear more for their job then worried about the car. Try telling that to newly marred about a HDB and you get into another set of discussion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic February 16, 2013 Share February 16, 2013 (edited) when population grow so fast, no matter what formula or bidding method, nothing can lower the coe imagine every 1 coe, there are 10 buyers fighting for it ... ballot also jialat with many new citizen bid also jialat with many rich migrants whether cat a is based on 1.6L or OMV or whatever, there are just too many buyers limited coes with unlimited buyers, the only solution now is highest bidder wins so, how? Edited February 16, 2013 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Majordan 2nd Gear February 16, 2013 Share February 16, 2013 if it is just 2 pax can get a used picanto, might be cheaper than taxi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ungtiong 2nd Gear February 24, 2013 Share February 24, 2013 a few years ago, if you earn $2500, you can afford a car liao (may be broke for other things). Its not really that hard for a young person with diploma or degree to earn $2500...so in effect almost all young Singaporean (with no commitments) can afford to get a car....until now...but you notice, they will still get a 2nd hand car (at the same cost as new one before), just that they can only drive it for 7 years instead of 10 years. Why they dont want more car? not because of traffic, but there is no space to build carparks (or space too valuable for carparks). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PengYou Clutched February 24, 2013 Share February 24, 2013 All suggestions comes with pros and cons, although some are downflat stupid and selfish. But it is impt that we keep the fire going so that pretty Minister Teo knows that this is one of the big concerns to us heartlanders. Hopefully a resolution within the next 2 yrs.... Last weekend, I almost went down to pay downpayment for a 2nd hand car, having currently own a car left 2yrs before expire. However, on the last minute, I redo my maths, and seriously, a 9K depreciation does not justify for me to own a "new" car at this moment, factoring in my debts (housing loan, credit card loan, insurance, etc.) This 9K is almost a quater of my annual income or 25% paycut to get a car, minus road tax, insurance maintenance etc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 24, 2013 Author Share February 24, 2013 Set aside some COEs for first family car Published on Feb 25, 2013 0 0 0 Purchase this article for republication Buy SPH photos THERE have been numerous responses to the news of certificate of entitlement (COE) prices reaching new highs recently. I suggest implementing a "First Family Car" priority scheme. There are many families with elderly parents and young children living under one roof. For them, a family car is a necessity and not a luxury. The daily morning routine of many working parents with young school-going children and aged parents is a tough one. One spouse will drive the other to the nearest MRT station, taking the children to school and occasionally dropping off the elderly parents for medical appointments, before heading to work. After work, the reverse often happens, with one parent picking up the children from school. A family car is invaluable in such arrangements. We could consider creating a new COE category for families with a genuine need for just one car. A separate vehicle quota and price could be allocated to it. Financial assistance or a COE discount scheme could also be introduced to help such families cope with the skyrocketing COE prices. Any subsequent car purchases these families make should then come under the regular COE system. It should also be made clear that such a scheme is not meant to penalise singles or couples without young children or elderly parents living with them. The authorities ought to consider this scheme as a way to help multi-generational families cope. It may also encourage young couples to consider having more children and to live with their parents - a win-win situation. Harold Teng Siow Song (Dr) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Canarywharfgooner 1st Gear February 24, 2013 Share February 24, 2013 Seems like "young couple wanting to start a family" is the trump card now. Had housing, tax benefits now car, maybe they would like higher bank savings interest for the "young couple with first kid account" plus allocated seats at eateries so that they don't have to fuss over lack of space. Oh, maybe jobs for life with guaranteed increment so that they wouldn't be stressed over $. Singaporeans should get real. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged February 24, 2013 Share February 24, 2013 A separate vehicle quota and price could be allocated to it. Financial assistance or a COE discount scheme could also be introduced to help such families cope with the skyrocketing COE prices. If there is such a category/scheme, the choice of vehicles should be limited to those that fit the purpose of this category. Such as a TATA or Chery mini van. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leggt Clutched February 25, 2013 Share February 25, 2013 Instead of limiting the number of COEs, why dun they just limit the number of Singapore driving licences issuing out to both locals and conversions? Raise the passing standard and do away with auto licence. We will get better drivers on the road, less accidents. To further enforce road safety, licences should have a valid period of 5 years, a simpler routine test has to taken. With this in force, no one will complain about the COE, instead the focus will be on passing the driving test, making everyone a competent driver and value the licence more. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...