Another COE REQUEST! will it never end?

I understand Ms Chia's situation as I experienced how it was like travelling on MRT with a special needs child. Boarded a train last week and heard screaming coming from next cabin. Turned out this boy was reacting to travelling in a crowded train. Ended up all the commuters spilled over to the cabin where I was standing as the boy was lying on the floor, screaming and kicking away despite the mother trying her best to reassure his son.

For those who have healthy kids will never understand how stressful it is let alone travelling on our perpetually crowded train.

Offer COE rebates to families with special-needs members

Published on Feb 07, 2013

Purchase this article for republication

Buy SPH photos

I APPLAUD the Government's efforts in restricting car ownership ("COE categories for cars could be reviewed"; yesterday).

But while car ownership is generally perceived as a luxury, it is a necessity for some families.

As a mother of an autistic child, taking my son for long rides on MRT trains or public buses is a challenge due to his heightened sensory sensitivity to noise and crowds. On long rides, he will often fuss or, worse, suffer a full meltdown to the annoyance of other commuters.

Taking taxis for routine trips is very costly and hard to sustain for an average-income family. Many families with elderly members or those with mental and physical disabilities face the same problem.

Improving Singapore's public transport network and accessibility is of little or no help to us.

At the same time, there is a growing number of households with more than one car, often because they can afford them and not because they need them. To help those who really need a car, some changes could be made to the current system:

Give priority and certificate of entitlement (COE) rebates to families with members who have special needs, for first-car ownership per household;

Impose a flat COE rate on first-car ownership per household, with subsequent cars per household subjected to the bidding system; and

Have a separate COE category for luxury cars.

Chia Su-Yee (Ms)

For Passenger car or private car owner

1st car COE $20000 / house owner

If got money want to buy one more, 2nd Car $60000

still got money... sorry cannot buy. Wait until your kids grow up, buy a house then can buy as 1st house owner with COE $20000.

Some family so rich that they buy car as present for their kids.

But the kids still studying and have yet to start earn money.

You earn your money and buy a car with your success, you feel that you have achieve something in your life with your own hand.

You own a car without doing any effort is very different.

Some agreed some don't agreed and I respect he/her thinking.

A rich parent will be more happy to see their kids worked hard for their future as it makes them a more responsible and mature adult.

I will be sad if my kids laze around, only want to drive car go out play, go zouk, pub, shopping...ect

Walk a path that is constructed by parent and sail smooth in life is not so good.

You got to face many obstacle in order to grow and shape you into a person who is ready to take on any hardship.

Army officer don't just get their officer rank just like that.

The training they go through is so damn mentally and physically tired.

I always respect officer and same goes to the sergeant.

As a combat infantry man myself, I know working together is the key to "rest early" lol

Imagine you put yourself as officer and sergeant and your men don't work together how?

Punish them? more push up? more stand by bed?

It's useless, you get what you want by punishing them.

But you don't get their heart and bond.

Work as friend and respect in rank goes a more happy army life plus reservist.

Remember don't ask "why me" all the time in army lol cos you will get even more lol

So back to COE issue, with yesterday's news.

It seems the gov had set a new rule out.

Got to come out with hard cash and loan of 5 year....

I don't know what to say, but gonna see more video, STOMP, news, youtube...ect of quarreling, fighting, anger...etc

i know liao! go get a taxi license, drive part time, use the taxi as car!!!

Actually, if you are in the approx. 2-4k income bracket and die die must have car for family special needs, that is in fact a viable solution for Singaporeans.

On a related note, I do wish Singapore would have a Kei class COE. Too many big fat tall vehicles getting in the bloody way and dinging my door at the car parks.

I am sorry that her child is autistic. However, i would like to ask if it is safe for herself, her child and other road users if she is driving alone with her child, and no one is helping to take care of her child when he has a full meltdown in the car?

I once handled a tough kid and i took the cab instead of driving. But again its only on a few occasions. I cannot imagine if requires daily commute, hence my comments will never be as heart felt.

On a related note, I do wish Singapore would have a Kei class COE. Too many big fat tall vehicles getting in the bloody way and dinging my door at the car parks.

I agree with you on this. The motoring landscape changed when LTA removed the CAT 1 (<1000cc) COE.

A 1000cc car is no longer the entry level vehicle that you buy as your 1st set of wheels. Now, entry level means a 1.5L budget model (think Attrage/Accent/Vios) or a 1.6L car like a Altis/Elantra/K3, and since you are already at that level, might as well pay a little more and gun for a "Conti" model like Golf/Jetta.

At the next level, the typical family man, who used to take pride in owning a Corolla/Corona/Civic in the good old days, will have to move away from the "entry level" cars to preserve some face, hence he jumps into a Camry/Accord. Then since you are already at that level, might as well pay a little more drive a "prestige" car like 316i/C180/S60/A4.

The typical local towkay, who used to be deemed respectable with his 2000cc large Japanese sedan, cant be seen in a Camry/Cefiro/Accord anymore, hence he has to spend more to get himself a E200/520i/A6.

Not sure if this development is a good thing or not....

This kind of suggestion is really unbelievable. If you really really need a car, you don't really have buy new car right? There are plenty of used cars on sale at different pricing. If she is really tight on budget, there are old COE cars available. Though the condition may not be comparable to new car or a few years old used car, if one really need a car, any car will be useful.

Taxi fare to office and back home = $25 x 2

20 working days a month = $1000

Sat & Sun go Orchard and back home = $15 x 2

8 weekends a month = $240

Total = $1240

One year = $14,880

So yea, owning a car used to be cheaper or comparable with taking a taxi, plus you have the convenience. Now that cars are at 10k/year depreciation, taking a cab will be cheaper if you don't need to travel to multiple places.

I agree with you on this. The motoring landscape changed when LTA removed the CAT 1 (<1000cc) COE.

A 1000cc car is no longer the entry level vehicle that you buy as your 1st set of wheels. Now, entry level means a 1.5L budget model (think Attrage/Accent/Vios) or a 1.6L car like a Altis/Elantra/K3, and since you are already at that level, might as well pay a little more and gun for a "Conti" model like Golf/Jetta.

At the next level, the typical family man, who used to take pride in owning a Corolla/Corona/Civic in the good old days, will have to move away from the "entry level" cars to preserve some face, hence he jumps into a Camry/Accord. Then since you are already at that level, might as well pay a little more drive a "prestige" car like 316i/C180/S60/A4.

The typical local towkay, who used to be deemed respectable with his 2000cc large Japanese sedan, cant be seen in a Camry/Cefiro/Accord anymore, hence he has to spend more to get himself a E200/520i/A6.

Not sure if this development is a good thing or not....

On top of that, last time 1.6 car was 4.2m long 1000kg Civic or Corolla. Now 1.6 car is bigger heavier and wider than old 2.0 Corona.

Haha, I remember old days when anything above 2.0 was like fwaaah big engine man!

When people buy car, they never take into consideration of maintenance of the car, like petrol, parking and servicing etc. Buying a car is easy but maintaining a car is not easy. sleep.gif

Anyway, recently there are so many funny request on COE, i think it will only put an end if the COE drop back to $10-20K level. rolleyes.gif

Unlikely, if the COE went back to 10K level... plp will complain, too cheap, too affordable, road too congested. Im not assuming, it does happen even in this forum, just search and you will find that most things done by the gov is actually online feedback, eg loan curb, and etc...

Thats y I always warn the others, becareful for what you ask for...

Why are we reviving a 2-year old thread?

lol.

cos election coming and this is forever a "HOPE" or "MIRACLE" change we folks will want.

Car very mah huan, have to look for parking lot. Taxi very mah huan, have to look for empty one. Take MRT very mah huan, have to pray all the time .. "don't break down don't break down prease . . . ."

Best stay at home.

Car very mah huan, have to look for parking lot. Taxi very mah huan, have to look for empty one. Take MRT very mah huan, have to pray all the time .. "don't break down don't break down prease . . . ."

Best stay at home.

May be it will trigger mother plead to lower housing price fr certain criteria so that people can be near to whatever place........

enough is enough ...

if the family buy a bmw/merc with special rebate coe, clearly this family do not need rebate.

if the family household income is < $6k, it's a no-no to own a car. every $ count, definitely not wise to feed a car

if income between $6k-$8k ... why need rebate?

so ... kong si mi?

then what? special parking rate, erp concession, priority lane?

after buy car no need to maintain the car meh? wait for it ... special petrol price too?

so, on a need analysis basis ... coe rebate shall only be given to family with special need and below "median" income

by meeting this criteria ... why buy car? it's like committing financial suicide

similarly, i sibei tulan that ah gong and ah mah need financial support while living in a million dollar landed property

nabei ... coe rebate and social support money come from where? tax la ... gst la ... coe la ... erp la ...

the more rebate and social support ... means higher taxes the govt need to collect

enough is enough ...

if the family buy a bmw/merc with special rebate coe, clearly this family do not need rebate.

if the family household income is < $6k, it's a no-no to own a car. every $ count, definitely not wise to feed a car

if income between $6k-$8k ... why need rebate?

so ... kong si mi?

then what? special parking rate, erp concession, priority lane?

after buy car no need to maintain the car meh? wait for it ... special petrol price too?

so, on a need analysis basis ... coe rebate shall only be given to family with special need and below "median" income

by meeting this criteria ... why buy car? it's like committing financial suicide

similarly, i sibei tulan that ah gong and ah mah need financial support while living in a million dollar landed property

nabei ... coe rebate and social support money come from where? tax la ... gst la ... coe la ... erp la ...

the more rebate and social support ... means higher taxes the govt need to collect

To me, the cost of a car should be at least on par with your annual income. Anything less than that, it would be a stretch. Note that i mentioned about your annual income, not the household income.

For example, if you buy a Hyundai Accent at $85,888. Your annual income should at least match that. You know you are ready for a car when you can pay for the entire sum in cash.

Edited by Ivan_06

On top of that, last time 1.6 car was 4.2m long 1000kg Civic or Corolla. Now 1.6 car is bigger heavier and wider than old 2.0 Corona.

Haha, I remember old days when anything above 2.0 was like fwaaah big engine

Nowadays people pocket bigger so cars getting bigger. Nowadays see so many 2.5 litres and above cars on the road.

To me, the cost of a car should be at least on par with your annual income. Anything less than that, it would be a stretch. Note that i mentioned about your annual income, not the household income.

For example, if you buy a Hyundai Accent at $85,888. Your annual income should at least match that. You know you are ready for a car when you can pay for the entire sum in cash.

Wah.. your rationale means at least 50% of the locals cannot afford a car... hahaha.. at current COE prices